We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great craft beer place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Station Taproom

Station Taproom
207 West Lancaster Avenue, Downingtown, PA 19335
484-593-0560
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 65 Restaurants in Downingtown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great craft beer place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The ever changing beer menu is great and the food was both delicious and unique. The wait staff was exeptional. Go early if you want a table, as it is first come, first served. It gets a little loud, but that just adds to the vibrant atmosphere of the place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Went here last night with friends from out of town.Really good beer & wine lists, servers were amazing, considering how busy it was.Food was really good from the Chefs Plate, to my meal which was a blackened catfish sandwich. Love going here, food and service is always awesome

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Station Taproom was recommended by our neighbors who are 30-40 years our juniors. Imagine Septuagenarians visiting a singles bar during happy hour on a Friday night, and you'll get a good picture of our first visit. We vowed to return at a better time - Hold the Earlybird Special gaffs!

Return we did for a late lunch on a Thursday afternoon; it was late because the Taproom doesn't open until 3pm,

We ordered the Prince Edward Island mussels served with baguette and a tomato onion fennel sauce. It was excellent. Then I ordered the Taproom hamburger, medium rare and topped with bacon and cheddar cheese. My wife had a shrimp and grits dish. Both were superb. The hamburger was the best I have ever had anywhere, and my wife licked plate of shrimp and grits and sauce clean.

The station Taproom has an excellent selection of craft beer. I had a Mission IPA that was the perfect compliment for the hamburger, and my wife enjoyed a white sangria.

Top off the excellent food with a pleasant and attentive waitress, and the result is a perfect dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“GREAT LITTLE SPOT XCELLENT TAPS & VG+ FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Nice experience.
The food was VG-Great. Highly recommended.
Good service and a nice atmosphere. Reminded me of a NYC type joint.
I had the Poutine and pulled pork. Both were vg, not the best I ever had but I would have it again!
My wife had the Greek salad and Lobster BLT, both were fantastic!
I could have passed on the curry mango ice cream desert..I like all o f those ingredients,but it was a bit much for me.
Beer Taps are outstanding. Some uncommon taps.
I emailed the place prior to ask about accommodations for large group. Sean sent me quick replies and gave me excellent feedback.Thanks Sean, I took your advice and came for lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wow! Who would have thought a tap room would have such a GREAT kitchen???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Well what an amazing surprise when I stopped in the Station Taproom. A very inventive menu unlike a typical "pub" experience. The spicy chicken dip is just amazing as are the Truffle fries. The pulled pork is great (and a bargain at $5 if you hit them during Happy Hour on weekdays - $3 pints too!) and you can get it with North Carolina or Cumin BBQ). Had a to-die-for panini. All local farms and incredibly fresh - and very, very reasonable prices. ($43 for 3 beers, two appetizers and two sandwiches - can't beat that! We were there during Happy Hour - about 4:30 pm)

If you're vegetarian, there is plenty to eat on this menu without having to ask for a lot of "hold the..."

It really was a surprise at how good it was because I just never thought of a tap room as having such a unique menu! I've already recommended it to about a six people. Small place, very casual. Not a place I'd bring kids (because it's a bar - - no way to avoid that in seating). Beers are excellent. Definitely now on my "go to" list of places.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Station Taproom also viewed

 

Been to Station Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station Taproom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.