We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't know about this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Station Taproom

Station Taproom
207 West Lancaster Avenue, Downingtown, PA 19335
484-593-0560
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 65 Restaurants in Downingtown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Didn't know about this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Friends invited me out for a few drinks and food and suggested we meet here - I didn't know about this place. We met at 6:00 pm on a Wednesday night and the place was packed. We were able to get the last table by the front door. It was a littled drafty every time the door opened. Being my first time I ordered a bottle of my favorite beer and was immediately told that all they had was Craft Beers by the pint. I'm not really into these beers so I asked the waitress for a comparable beer to what I like. The beer was ok. Ordered a cheeseburger which was very pricey at $10.50 but very good. They were offering a $5 pulled pork sandwich for Happy Hour. If you are into Craft Beers I highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've only once had a bad meal here (which they immediately replaced), and the tap list is always incredible. I only wish I lived closer.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Hill, MA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A Great Find on a Sunday Morning...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I met a long-time friend here on a Sunday morning, drawn to the place by the TA rating. Sunday morning was the time to be there. They let us in out of the cold at 1055AM (normal opening is 11AM Sundays), and in the next twenty minutes every table was filled as was the entire length of the bar. Natasha handled our order adroitly, and very soon we were enjoying some great omelets, and even better hash browns. We watched the parade of dishes coming out of the busy kitchen, and saw that the full variety of Sunday brunch fare was there...crepes, eggs, exotic-looking dishes with shrimp...the whole gamut. Even the coffee was terrific and was sourced from a local roaster.

It's clear that this unpretentious-looking place is no secret. The tables and bar stayed full for the 90 minutes we enjoyed the place, and there were groups of people waiting for the precious seats. Prices were a little steep, but not bad. Natasha's service was stellar throughout. She was very attentive.

Tips: If you like hot sauce on your eggs or other dishes, the Station Taproom's sauce of choice is the fiery "Siracha"...far more robust than plain old Tobasco, so be careful; Creamer of choice for the coffee was real cream...a rarity these days; and parking is right outside the door in a small lot, or across the street in the train station.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best craft beer bar/restaurant in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This is our neighborhood go to place. We've never had a bad meal and the always changing craft beer list never disappoints. Fabulous Sunday brunch as well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth the hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The beer selection is always changing and very good. Also contains enough variety for our whole group. Food is OUTSTANDING, not your usual pub faire. It's not fancy, but it's very good. French Fries are drizzled with truffle oil and sea salt, mac & cheese is more than just cheddar. But it's not overpriced. The place tends to be on the loud side, though. Still good for a 2-person date, though. You just need to lean in a bit. :) Directly across the street from the train station in Downingtown, in case you want to take the train out (which would be fun!).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Station Taproom also viewed

 

Been to Station Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station Taproom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.