We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a quick lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of P.J. Whelihan's Pub & Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
P.J. Whelihan's Pub & Restaurant
853 East Lancaster Avenue, Downingtown, PA 19335
610-873-1311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 64 restaurants in Downingtown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good place for a quick lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have seen the mixed reviews, but our lunch here was quite good. I had their soup of the day (mushroom) and found it to be tasty and my colleagues had a variety and all enjoyed it. The choices of wings looked nice, I'll go back another day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    3
    20
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coatesville,Pa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“another nice place for a snack/ quick supper/lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

one of the nicest selections for beer arround, gets a bit noisey at meal time. but great wings and sandwiches

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A fun place to watch the game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have been to PJ's many times. The service and wings are always very good. It is always very crowded but the wait is never long. This is a great place to take the kids also. There are many televisions so everyone's favorite sports will be covered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average, very average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

While the beer list is always impressive, the service is uneven and the food is just mediocre. The restaurant is always VERY noisy and this makes it hard to have a conversation with friends. We gave it three tries, but would not go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Save your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I've never written a review to say how bad a restaurant is, but I thought it a public service to warn people about this place. Overpriced food that was partly inedible, and then they tell you there will be "an extra charge" for the item as quoted on the menu. I was also told I was not allowed "outside beverages were not allowed" when I tried to drink the soda I just brought in with me. REALLY?
The place is staffed by young ladies in tight pants or shorts and tight tee shirts, with prominent advertisement their "wing and beer specials". Clearly they are trying to compete with Hooters or the Tilted Kilt. Maybe they should just focus on trying to make a decent meal at a reasonable price instead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.J. Whelihan's Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to P.J. Whelihan's Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage P.J. Whelihan's Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.