We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for Frank Lloyd Wright sites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3695 Route 31 East, Donegal, PA 15628   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Donegal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Perfect base for Frank Lloyd Wright sites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a real find! A clean and comfortable hotel at a reasonable price within 30 minutes of Kentuck Knob, Fallingwater and Polymath Park.

Very comfortable room - quiet despite being on the road side of the hotel - serving a great breakfast too included in the price.

I have already told friends that when they visit Fallingwater etc that this is the hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We also hope you enjoyed your visits at the Frank Lloyd Wright houses. We greatly appreciate you passing the word along to your friends and family. We hope to see you next time you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    65
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
94
73
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Wonderful hotel & Staff !!! Stayed one night between our trip from Washinton d.c. to Michigan.
Very Clean , comfortable rooms, great indoor pool / jaccuzzi , classy mountain decor. To our surprise we were chosen as "guest of the day" and were upgraded to a one bedroom suite and served breakfast in bed !! Special thanks to Courtney and Kayla at front desk. Also to Nicole, all went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. Would stay again & again...!!!

Room Tip: Book early as they fill-up FAST!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback! We are excited you had an awesome stay and even more excited you were the lucky guest of the day! Thank you very much for noticing the employees that helped make your stay great. I will be sure to pass on the great comment to each of them. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel and we cannot wait to see you on your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was funny reading Kevin's review because we went to all of those places he mentioned, including the restaurants. I'm just repeating the same things as Kevin and widrummer 1...clean rooms, comfortable, easy access, great breakfast, the staff was pleasant...we will also be back. We also went into Pittsburgh one day, about 1 hour away. And the folks at Donegal Pharmacy are super as well!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for posting a review about our hotel. We are very happy to hear you found consistency within another review. We strive to provide the same quality of service and ammenitites for every guest. We are looking forward to your future visits next time you are in the Donegal area. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here to travel to Fallingwater and Kentuk Knob. This hotel was very accessible to both. Just a very short 30 minute drive to both locations. Lots to do and see from the hotel and some very nice restaurants. Try Ninos or Out of the Fire. Both very good. Hotel is also very close to Seven Springs for skiers. Also an hour away from the Flight 93 memorial. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you were able to explore the Laurel Highlands during your visit. Sounds like you got to see a lot of our wonderful attractions. We hope you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again if you are ever back in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I found this hotel by accident after a long day of driving. This hotel still feels new though it opened in July 2011. The rustic theme leads to a relaxing atmosphere. Our room was very clean, beds super comfortable and the heat/ac unit was nearly whisper quiet. Helpful staff and a breakfast fresh and hot completed a great night's stay. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear your accident turned out to be a great stay! We are very pleased we were able to accommodate you with the room and breakfast. We are looking forward to your return visit. Thank you again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on an anniversary trip for two nights and were completely satisfied with our stay. The rustic decor is fabulous and very fitting for the area (even if you aren't into the wildlife atmosphere it's a neat theme). Also the seasonal decorations were a welcoming touch. The standard room had two queen beds and was much more spacious than standard rooms at other hotels. The bathroom was extra spacious as well. The beds were extremely comfortable! The rooms and really everything at the hotel were spotless and definitely show that the hotel is still very new and in excellent condition. The pool and hot tub were also clean and warm. Breakfast had a lot of offerings and was well stocked even when it was crowded. The hot chocolate is fabulous. And the free cookies in the lobby during the afternoons are also a delicious treat. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: booking the room through priceline.com express deals saved us about $40 off the room price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback for our hotel. We appreciate your time and comments. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Glad you noticed the fall decorations, you will have to come back to see the winter ones! We are happy you were able to enjoy the amenities in the hotel and had a relaxing stay. We hope to see you again next anniversary and we hope you enjoyed your special occassion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We turned off for the night because we were too tired to keep driving, and found this little gem.

The amenities were exactly what you expect in a Holiday Inn Express, but the atmosphere is really nice. The mountain lodge theme carries through, right down to the pictures hanging in the rooms (old travel posters), and the wall sconces with animal cutouts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you stopped in on your way passed. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our rustic theme. The animal sconces on the wall are one of our personal favorites too! If you are ever traveling through again, we hope you stop by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal

Address: 3695 Route 31 East, Donegal, PA 15628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Donegal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a Laurel Highlands hotel surrounded by great attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Donegal. We're conveniently located just minutes off the PA Turnpike and a short drive to see Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Other nearby attractions include Living Treasures Animal Park, and Hidden Valley and Seven Springs Ski Resorts. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Donegal, our hotel's choice amenities can satisfy your every need. We keep you connected to friends and family through free high-speed internet access. You can utilize our business center to keep your productivity high. Then relax in our fitness center, indoor heated pool, and whirlpool. Before you explore the vast attractions Donegal has to offer, share your morning with us at our free Express Start Breakfast Bar. You can enjoy one of our tasty signature cinnamon rolls and a hot cup of our Smart Roast Coffee. We look forward to your visit to our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal Hotel Donegal
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.