We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE IN DONEGAL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3695 Route 31 East, Donegal, PA 15628   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Donegal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE IN DONEGAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel was so nice, so friendly and easy to get to. The decor was a little different than I'm used to although very nice and well done. The room was very clean and the breakfast was good. I didn't use the indoor pool although it looked very nice & clean. I would absolutely stay here again if I returned to this area!!!

Room Tip: We got the only room left which was a queen jacuzzi room. The jacuzzi was very nice...not used to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your time and feedback! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the amenities the hotel had to offer. We look forward to your future trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    65
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
94
73
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This Holiday Inn has a hunting camp theme but there is nothing primitive about it. Very clean rooms, comfortable beds and bedding,a good hotel breakfast and a great pool and spa make for a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: At times we could hear some highway noise but it was not a problem for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks for the taking the time to review our hotel. We are always excited to hear back from our guests. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax while you were with us. We would love to have you back in the future! Happy traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champion, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have enjoyed my stay in this new hotel. The staff here including Desiree, Kalya and Kristy have provided amazing service as well as all the house keepers who were extremely accomodating, The head of maintenance, Cale made sure everything was in proper working order. I highly recommend this property, the hot breakfast is wonderful and the breakfast staff know how to take care of guests.

Room Tip: The third floor on the lakeside is amazing, there is no one above you either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property on Tripadvisor. We are vey pleased that you have experienced great service in all departments of the hotel. I will be sure to pass along a great thanks from you to the mentioned employees. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast provided to you each day. Great to hear you got to see Donegal Lake from your room. You will have to stop back to see the views during the fall when the leaves are changing. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

One of the nicest places to stay in the area. Pricey but maybe because we stayed over Labor Day weekend. Nothing really fancy, just another typical hotel with rustic decor. It was clean, more so because it's new. But again one of the nicer places to stay and it's a mile from the turnpike.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and we hope you enjoyed your holiday weekend! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your clean accommodations. We hope you see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Fallingwater which was about 1/2 hour away.

Our hotel room was clean and neat. We slept fine on the first floor. Check in staff wasn't very friendly but we didn't have to encounter her again. The lady that checked us out was pleasant. I was surprised that they allowed smoking so close to the hotel - people hovered near both entrances and it carried into the hotel. Either a no-smoking policy or an enforcement of the policy would make the rooms better.

The breakfast we had was great! So many options and so clean. Fresh fruit was available and everything was very nicely done.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property on Tripadvisor. We do look forward to some feedback to make improvements in our hotel. I would like to apologize for your unpleasant encounter during check-in. I will be discussing some areas of improvement with the staff. I will also look into moving some of the designated smoking areas to prevent smoke from entering our 100% non-smoking building. We are glad to hear you found some good options during breakfast. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I travel at least 5 months every year and have been to many hotels across America... This hotel was spotless, food for breakfast was great, staff was more than helpful and they were personable also. I would highly recommend this hotel. I will go out of my way to plan to drive through this town if we travel this way again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel online. We appreciate your great feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do our very best to provide the best service in a clean and safe environment. We cannot wait to see you again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here just one night with our grandson. Our TomTom did not have this hotel in its database, so the GPS coordinates are 40 06 17 N and 79 22 16 W. It is just off I-276, the Pennsylvania Turnpike, just east on State Highway 711. This is a really clean, well kept hotel with very friendly and accommodating staff. The morning breakfast was the typical nice array of food and even though the hotel was pretty full, the breakfast staff kept the coffee, food, and other items in good supply. All the staff, from the front desk to the support staff were friendly and appreciative towards the guests. The hotel has a nice location in the Laurel Highlands and for us here in August, it was just 4 miles from the Living Treasures Animal Park, a really nice petting zoo with a surprisingly good selection of animals and inexpensive to boot. The hotel is also a short drive of about 12 miles to the Idlewild Amusement and SoakZone Park. Best of all, its only about a quarter mile east of a full service Dairy Queen! There are other nearby restaurants, and being just on the west edge of Pennsylvania's wine country, there are a number of wine outlets for Pennsylvania wine.

Room Tip: For those of you with children, it is always convenient to be on the first floor and near the breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing out hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all of your feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Friendly, efficient service is one of our main priorities and we are glad that you experienced this. It also sounds like you were able to explore a little bit of the area while you were here. There are plenty of exciting things to do in the Laurel Highlands and we hope you make a return visit to see more of the exciting local attractions. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal

Address: 3695 Route 31 East, Donegal, PA 15628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Donegal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a Laurel Highlands hotel surrounded by great attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Donegal. We're conveniently located just minutes off the PA Turnpike and a short drive to see Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Other nearby attractions include Living Treasures Animal Park, and Hidden Valley and Seven Springs Ski Resorts. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Donegal, our hotel's choice amenities can satisfy your every need. We keep you connected to friends and family through free high-speed internet access. You can utilize our business center to keep your productivity high. Then relax in our fitness center, indoor heated pool, and whirlpool. Before you explore the vast attractions Donegal has to offer, share your morning with us at our free Express Start Breakfast Bar. You can enjoy one of our tasty signature cinnamon rolls and a hot cup of our Smart Roast Coffee. We look forward to your visit to our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal Hotel Donegal
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.