We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn is back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3695 Route 31 East, Donegal, PA 15628   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Donegal B&B and Inns
Northfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn is back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Holiday Inn in Donegal is like the holiday inns of old - a great stay with great amenities for a descent value! The rooms are spacious, free hot breakfast, good pool and hot-tub. The hotel has a rustic lobby with great ladies working the front desk that knew the area well. The rooms are spacious with refrigerator, microwave, coffee machine, big bathroom and shower massager. The kids loved the pool and hot tub - can jump in and enjoy! Breakfast had something different every morning - eggs, pancakes, waffles, sausage, bacon and the cinnamon rolls are excellent. The hotel is located right off the freeway. If you need a place to stay for Idlewild or Ohiopyle this is the place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We appreciate your valuable feedback. We are very glad to hear you were able to explore all areas of the hotel. The pool is a great place for the kids to have fun while you are able to relax for a bit. We are very pleased to hear you had good interactions with the staff. We hope they were able to lead you into the right directions for local attractions and restaurants in the area. We are looking forward to your next visit to Ohiopyle or Idlewild. Happy Traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    62
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
87
69
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

What a great place to stay! Only stayed there one night (6/14/12) but the people are very friendly and the place is clean as can be!! The rooms are spotless, the beds are comfy and the breakfast was pretty darned good! Highly recommended place to stay! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
We would like to thank you for reviewing our property on Tripadvisor. We are glad we were able to host you, even if it was only for one night. Thank you for commenting on the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms, both of which are on the top of things we strive for perfection in the hotel. We hope to see you the next time you travel through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was great! We stayed here to take our kids to Idlewild. They loved the indoor pool and we all loved the free breakfast. We felt like there wasn't a lot of choices for dinner in the area and we were very rudely screamed at by the man in the next room because our kids were playing in our room (at 10am- not 6am). But neither of those issues affect our opinion of the hotel. Decor was lovely and staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We hope you and your family enjoyed your time at Idlewild. You will have to come back in a few months for their fall events. We are glad to hear you also were able to have fun in our pool! We would like to apologize for the upset guest. Sorry for any inconvenience this caused in your stay. We are looking forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our family went white water rafting at Ohiopyle this past weekend and needed a place to stay overnight. I read great reviews about the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Donegal and decided to book 2 rooms. I am happy to report that we were not disappointed. Our rooms were immaculate, the beds comfortable, and the place updated. We looked out our window to a beautiful view of the mountains and the Youghiogheny River. The staff was friendly and hard working. All 5 of us had breakfast (included) before leaving to raft. With a 17, 19, and 21 year old with us, we certainly ate our money's worth! While not gourmet, plenty of food and a variety is provided in an area well kept. From fresh fruit, to pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage, bagels and cream cheese, cinnamon rolls, cereal, juices and more, all of us left full. We have stayed all over the world, and while this is not the most lavish hotel (we weren't looking for that for this trip), it is updated and one of the cleanest. We will book it again should we return to white water raft in this area.

Room Tip: The view from the side of room 307 was much better than 308
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for our hotel. We always look forward to feedback and are very excited to hear we have met your expectations. We are very glad you had enough to eat before a long day of white water rafting. We hope you got to taste the signature cinnamon rolls! It sounds as though you were on the back side of the hotel with the great view of Donegal Lake. It is definitely a pretty view. You will have to return in the fall to see the tree leaves changing colors! Thank you again for staying with us and for the great review. We look forward to your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We arrived at this hotel ( 19th May) after a lengthy drive from Dulles International and were very warmly welcomed by the hotel staff on reception - I was thrilled to be informed that I was 'Guest of the Day' and even more surprised to see my name behind reception - I guess this was because of my extensive use of IHG properties as a Priority Club Platinum Ambassador.
The hotel was very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning extensive and set us up for our tri
To nearby Fallingwater.
I would certainly return to is hotel again and thank the staff for the attention that they provided - even to a 'reserved' British traveller!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your time and your feedback. Congratulations on being the Guest of the Day! We hope you enjoyed the extra little perks you received. Glad you were able to stay relaxed and comfortable in your room. We hope you enjoyed Fallingwater; hopefully you can make it back soon to see Frank Lloyd Wright’s other homes in the area. Once again thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is a brand new Holiday Inn Express located about 1 mile off the Donegal Exit of the Pennsylvania Turnpike, east of Pittsburgh. It has all that an HI Express has to offer, plus the service is small town great.

Yes, it is kind of "out in the middle of nowhere". But don't think there is no food nearby. Depends on what you want.

This hotel is located about 20 minutes from the Seven Springs Ski Resort. Well worth a drive, even if you don't want to dine. But you can find ANY kind of dining at the resort, from pizza to gourmet at "Helen's". Year round.

To your left on Route 31 outside the hotel you can drive up the Lauel Mountain about 15 minutes to the Laurel Mountain Inn (on the right, just past Kooser State Park). About 4 miles beyond that (also on the right) is the Oakhurst Tea Room - known far and wide for its bounteous buffet.

Back down at the Holiday Inn Express in Donegal - if you're dying for food close by there is a huge Dairy Queen and a Subway sandwich shop back near the Turnpike Exit toll area. And if you go the other way on Rte 31 there is a local store called "Sarnelli's" about 3 miles away on the right (at the intersection with Route 711). This is a local market - been there for years - that offers any and everything you might need, including cooked foods such as fried chicken, cold cuts, cheeses, prepared hoagies and so much more. Plus it is an unbelievably well-stocked small grocery store. Down to having fresh fruits and vegetables and a wide variety of baked goods. Oh, and underneath is a beer distributorship and a wine store! Sarnelli's has all the bases covered!

Prices at Sarnelli's are about those of at any 7/11 - higher than the local supermarket. But honestly, I stop there often and don't begrude THEM the higher prices. Because they are THERE. And things like the mild and the lunch meat and the bread are not higher - just things like cereal, bananas, etc. And they are not THAT much higher.

Back to the Holiday Inn Express. This is a great location if you are actually coming up to stay and do things in the area. (Not that it is not good for cross Pennsylvania travelers) Seven Springs Ski Resort is nearby. Hidden Valley Ski Resort is nearby. Fallingwter and Ohiopyle are nearby. The Flight 93 Memorial is nearby - and if you are traveling west to east, I highly recommend you go and visit.

It is a beautiful drive from the Holiday Inn Donegal to Somerset, PA via Route 31 - the road in front of the hotel. Turn left and you will go up the Laurel Mountain, cresting it at 2,500 ft. then the road runs picturesqly straight into Somerset, PA, where signs will direct you to the Flight 93 Memorial Sight - located another gorgeous 20 minute drive from Somerset, PA. When you return you can pick up the Pennsylvania Turnpike at the Somerset Interchange.

Happy traveling!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We are very happy you were able to explore and get familiar with the area. It seems as though you got to experience a little bit of everything that the Laurel Highlands has to offer. We hope we were able to make your trip pleasant! We are looking forward to your return visits when you can check out the other great spots, like Idlewild, Caddie Shak, Out of the Fire Café and Ninos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel in mid-May 2012 on the first evening of our 13-day road trip. We were happy with everything this hotel has to offer except for the poor internet connection. Not a HUGE deal but it was a pain to deal with. If you are heading to Fallingwater, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for posting a review for our property. We appreciate your feedback. We are very pleased to hear we happened to be the first stop on your journey. We hope it set the mood for a great trip for you! We would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the internet. We will look further into the wireless connections throughout the building to find any flaws that may need fixed. We hope we can be a stop on your next road trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal

Address: 3695 Route 31 East, Donegal, PA 15628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Donegal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a Laurel Highlands hotel surrounded by great attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Donegal. We're conveniently located just minutes off the PA Turnpike and a short drive to see Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Other nearby attractions include Living Treasures Animal Park, and Hidden Valley and Seven Springs Ski Resorts. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Donegal, our hotel's choice amenities can satisfy your every need. We keep you connected to friends and family through free high-speed internet access. You can utilize our business center to keep your productivity high. Then relax in our fitness center, indoor heated pool, and whirlpool. Before you explore the vast attractions Donegal has to offer, share your morning with us at our free Express Start Breakfast Bar. You can enjoy one of our tasty signature cinnamon rolls and a hot cup of our Smart Roast Coffee. We look forward to your visit to our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal Hotel Donegal
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.