We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great overnight stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Donegal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Donegal to your Saves list
Days Inn Donegal
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3620 Route 31, I-76 & 70 PA Turnpike Exit 91, Donegal, PA 15628   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Donegal
Lorain, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great overnight stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We selected this hotel for a last minute, quick weekend, family get away. We were visiting Idlewild in Ligonier, PA and this hotel was within about 30 minutes and a great price when compared to many other locations. It is easy to find and quick access to the turnpike. It is an older hotel, but is clean, well kept, and family friendly. There are several "little" buildings because the land is "hilly". Steve worked the front desk at check-in and seemed familiar with our reservation of 3 rooms with special requests. He provided excellent directions to the closest parking for our rooms and the easiest access since there are some sets of 2-3 steps here and there. Our rooms were right in a row with a nice view and easy pool access - the pool looked lovely, but unfortunately, we weren't able to visit it due to rainy weather. The hotel features a "Celebration Place" which is a game room and a "grille" with reasonably priced food including sandwiches, pizzas, and desserts among others. It kept our boys, kids and adults, occupied for the evening without breaking the bank. The hotel offers a continental breakfast - nothing fancy, but enough options to satisfy our family of 9 including 2 cold cereal options, danishes, muffins, apples/oranges, pre-made waffles, english muffins, yogurt, and hard boiled eggs. We were able to fill up and were satisfied for a few hours until lunch.

PRO - best shower I've had in a hotel in a long time - clean, spacious, and excellent water pressure.

CON 1) the lights by the beds flickered a lot in all 3 of our rooms... we actually unplugged ours as we noticed it was hot and saw a spark near the mattress at one point and 2) we requested a fridge as a diabetic traveling with us needed to store medication and while it was in our room and already cold at check-in, it bumped up our bill $20 for the night... **note, we were offered the option to store it at the desk free of charge**

Room Tip: The main building has interior door rooms, the other buildings are exterior door rooms. Some exteri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, Manager at Days Inn Donegal, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear akanann,

Thank you for your review of your weekend stay at the Days Inn Donegal. I loved hearing that you and your family had a great visit in the area and used the amenities on site at the hotel. Thank you for the positve review and the details about our staff and your experience with us. I hope you and your family will return again when visiting Idlewild. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    76
    54
    21
    18
See reviews for
112
69
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent a night here on our way to Fallingwater. Not being a fan of motels, I found our room surprisingly large and comfortable. I liked the air conditioning unit, which was quiet and had auto-cool control. The shower was large, no tub, just like home! Bed was comfortable, TV worked well, wifi was fast and easy to access. We skipped the limited breakfast but was glad to be able grab coffee and a piece of fruit to go.

While furnishing, grounds, and room set up are typical of a motel, this has the potential to be one of the nicer motels around. Unfortunately, good housekeeping was wanting during our stay. The visible areas in the room were clean. But corners and sink drain holes were messy. The room smelled of cigarette smoke and front desk was not able to locate an air-cleaning machine. The smell made the room feel dank and damp. My eyes were red for two days after.

While not an unpleasant experience, the look of the inn promised more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Closter, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Old but clean. Very basic. The continental breakfast included was not very good. Coffee was weak and watery. Selection of food only so so. After our 1st morning we chose to go elsewhere for breakfast. The staff were particularly friendly and accommodating. Great location for Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Inexpensive, so we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, Manager at Days Inn Donegal, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review and feedback about your stay here. I appreciate the comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and courtesy of the staff and I will certainly look into the selections on our hot and cold breakfast bar. Typically it includes fresh fruit, hot & cold cereals, waffles, hard boiled eggs, pastries, bagels, toast, assorted juices, milk, coffee, etc. It is our mission to provide the "Best Value Under the Sun" while providing a quality stay, so your input is important to us. Thank you and we look forward to your return if visiting Fallingwater & Kentuck Knob again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torino
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

we spent one night on our way to Fallingwater.. we like the romm on the ground floor with the possibility to have our car just in front. The room was clean and the breakfast not bed... very quiet place..
there was a guest laundry but we didn't use it..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, Manager at Days Inn Donegal, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear ladyoscar,

Thank you for your review of the Days Inn Donegal. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Fallingwater. I hope that you will return again if visiting the local Wright homes. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We recently stayed at the Days Inn Donegal based on prior reviews on Trip advisor. As indicated, the hotel staff was very professional and helpful with acquainting us with the area. The lobby and our room were exceptionally clean along with the pool and the celebration area. We were very pleased with the accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, Manager at Days Inn Donegal, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Claudette,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I love to hear when our guests enjoy their stay! I'm also pleased to see that you were able to use some of our on site amenities. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here during a trip to Fallingwater. The room was a basic hotel room - had a safe but no fridge - and it is an outdoor corridor hotel. But it was clean and quiet and the complementary breakfast was good enough. Excellent location for visiting Fallingwater or Ohiopyle State Park. And the price was right!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Days Inn Donegal, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that you will return again whether visiting Fallingwater or one of the many attractions in the Laurel Highlands! We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My family and I recently stayed here while going to Idlewild park. We had a great stay. Super comfy beds and the yummy breakfast were a definite plus. Our first night we went to the game room and ordered pizza. It was so nice just to hang out at the pool. It was very clean and we will definitely be back. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Check out packages. This is a good way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Donegal

Address: 3620 Route 31, I-76 & 70 PA Turnpike Exit 91, Donegal, PA 15628
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Donegal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Donegal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Donegal 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Donegal Hotel Donegal
Donegal Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Donegal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.