We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable, Exceptional, Soothing, & We are going back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingmans Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nest
1394 Route 739, Dingmans Ferry, PA 18328   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd night discount
Castile, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Impeccable, Exceptional, Soothing, & We are going back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I are CPA's with a Firm in Upstate, NY, and I (husband) wanted to surprise my weary wife with a weekend of relaxation, good food and great company.......that goal was achieved in spades.

Having spent a great many years staying at various B&B's across the country, we are intimately familiar with what to expect from a B&B. That having been said, I've unfortunately never reviewed one till now. Our experience with Nest surpassed all my previous experiences and gained insight into how an excellent B&B should operate.

Let me first start with why and how we made our selection. We were headed to the Poconos, and wanted a tranquil, peaceful stay, away from the madness of a larger resort or hotel. We enjoy good food, great company, and the opportunity to meet new friends. I picked the Nest based on reviews by others, which is why I feel so compelled to write a review now.
We arrived at the Nest Friday the 26th and were immediately welcomed by the hosts beautiful dogs, a cool hybrid bread of I believe Labrador and Poodle, hypoallergenic, playful, and friendly. We were greeted by Sally as we exited our vehicle, and introduced to Marco upon entering their home. We kicked off our shoes, and were immediately impressed by their home. We were given a tour of the home, explained the schedules, how to work the hot tub, find the game room, and where we would be enjoying breakfast. Next we were shown our room, given our key, shown how to use the Flat Screen HD TV, Apple TV, Cable etc, and allowed to settle into our room.

The rooms are exquisitely clean, and well-appointed with modern linens and all necessary items for a comfortable and quiet night’s sleep. The rooms and the bathroom are flawlessly clean, not a speck of dust or dirt anywhere. The carpet underfoot is plush, comfortable, and stain-free. The bathroom had a large deep-bowl pedestal sink, and the adjacent shower came complete with a fabulous steam function, with a tiled bench seat and two spray heads. The linens were plush, modern and fresh.

A review or two mention the lack of specialty soaps, and facial cleansers, and a dispenser in the shower lacking specialty high-end products. Well, I say BS. It is important to note the unbelievable price point of this B&B compared with say a boutique B&B with prices north of double or triple their price. If you want hundred dollar an ounce facial and hair products, bring your own with you. In their case, their tasteful use of dispensed products (still very good choices) versus boutique products helps keep their prices down, and lets them instead focus their efforts on providing a rich and comfortable experience without feeling lavish coupled with a “should I touch this; will it break” atmosphere.

Their home is well appointed and very comfortable. Ask them about the Tile Backsplash in their kitchen, and if you love it, like we did, call their friend Chris who made it by hand in her Branchville, NJ Studio and give her some kudos.

Marco and Sally appreciate art, and have an eclectic mix of local artesian pottery, ceramics, paintings, lamps, and other items which are both great conversation pieces and shows how much they appreciate and support other local businesses and friends.

The first night there we asked them for a recommendation on where to go to eat, and they pointed us to the The Fork at Twin Lakes. Superb food, great atmosphere, and a beautiful drive. Upon returning to the Nest we enjoyed some wine, some good conversation, and headed to bed for what turned out to be a welcome relief from our day to day grind. The bed was firm but plush, and they even thought to provide both hypoallergenic pillows and feather pillows for each possible person. The rooms are quiet, no noise can he heard, just peaceful quiet, and a great night’s sleep.

In the morning, after spending an inordinate amount of time in the steam shower, were greeted downstairs with the scent of fresh brewed coffee, the sights of fresh squeezed orange juice, and the baking and making of breakfast. We were joined by our other guest couple, Kim & Dave, and our hosts Sally & Marco.

Breakfast was magnificent. Fresh squeezed orange juice, a fruit parfait with yogurt, and homemade granola, smoked pork chops, and homemade French toast, and REAL maple syrup. Sally & Marco were attentive, and prepared the food with splendor and flair, and were quick to offer cleanup and anything else we could have wanted.

Concluding breakfast, we enjoyed our day exploring the area; the rich and beautiful area of Milford, PA and surrounding areas. We returned that evening to dinner as requested in their home with the other couple staying there, Sally & Marco, and their friends Joe and Chris. We enjoyed a bountiful and beautifully prepared meal complete with Bacon wrapped dates stuffed with apricots and pistachios, jumbo shrimp and sauce, a stunning guacamole dip and fresh breads, regional red wines, laughter, and great conversation. Dinner consisted of Steak, brussel sprouts, fresh mushrooms, baked and seasoned potatoes, more wine, some amazing Bacardi Pineapple shared by the other couple, and lots more laughter and conversation, and was really an overall high point to our trip.

After retiring for the night, we enjoyed yet another peaceful nights rest, and woke to yet another magnificent breakfast, this time served with a mint garnished fruit parfait, fresh pomegranate juice, alongside farm fresh eggs, chicken sausage links, a brilliant grilled risotto cake, fresh brewed coffee, and even more great conversation, and laughter.

At breakfast we called some friends back in NY and booked another weekend in August, and can’t wait to have them explore this sanctuary again with us.

We relaxed some more, packed our things, and got ready to leave. It is painful to have to leave such a warm and welcoming place, and it is certainly evident Sally & Marco love what they do, and love the opportunity to meet new friends. There is absolutely no way given their attention to details, impeccable cleanliness, great food, welcoming atmosphere, etc….that they are in this for the money, especially at this price point. We believe they open their home and their lives to meet new friends, and we honestly feel that the Nest is a true one of a kind opportunity in the B&B world.

If you are even considering a trip to the area, and comparing B&B’s, do not hesitate even for a minute to stay here. It may be further away from some of the Poconos destinations, but that is the point, isn't it? We will be back often, and look forward to more laughter, exceptional food, and can’t wait to dip into their in-ground salt water pool this summer.

See you soon Sally & Marco!

Room Tip: The Nest has (2) rooms, both are great, with views of the backyard, spa area. Both are equally appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heiblim, Owner at Nest, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I'm so amazed by this review, I am almost at a loss for words. We ,as hosts had so much fun with the 2 couples that stayed with us this weekend,we certainly look forward to their return. We had our friends join us all for dinner, and what a great time we all had, the conversation was lively, the food was enjoyable,and the evening went by in a flash. I have to thank our guests for their taking the time to write such a detailed review. I didn't realize that they were so into the details of our place,and i am thrilled that they appreciate the efforts we make to give our guests a great experience. Great guests make our job a joy,and help us to make our B&B even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
101
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent, !!!!! The breakfast ist very good and everyday Sally and Marc surpreise you with something different.....very nice atmosphere in the beautiful winter -garden, overlooking the forest.....the coffee has even a better taste !!!!
Very clean and .....andthe steam shower in the Room si pure luxury !!!!!
Great place to stay, will come again!
Elena

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heiblim, Owner at Nest, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Elena, its a long way from Germany to Dingmans Ferry,and we are glad you made the trip. Your group was great,and we hope you will come again some time.Keep up on your fitness,I am trying to keep up on mine.Hello to Matt at gyrotonics, and thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Nest two weekends ago and we are already talking about our next visit. My husband is a resident physician who is constantly working. Finally, he had a weekend off. We decided to stay at the Nest because of all the great reviews it received. Well, we are very glad we listened to the reviews! The house is beautiful and so unique. The wood burning stove is incredible and now we want one! The hosts, Marco and Sally, were just wonderful. They are both amazing people and cooks! We really enjoyed spending time with them. They have two beautiful, friendly, loving dogs named Tulo and Frodo. They were my favorite part of the trip. If you are a dog lover, you have to meet them.

We enjoyed exploring the nearby towns. There is a lot to do! Marco gave us directions to everywhere we wanted to go and suggested a few really great restaurants nearby. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Nest. If you need to get away to relax, love the outdoors (their backyard is beautiful) and enjoy great home cooking…this is the place to go!

Christy and Josh

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heiblim, Owner at Nest, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Josh & Christy, thanks for the kind words, we appreciate when our customers take the time out of their busy lives to post a review,it's important for us and for other potential customers, as you found out. We try very hard to please our guests and need feed back so we can improve on their experience. We sure hope you will join us again in the future, and don't worry Tulo & Frodo never forget a friend. Thanks, Marko & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful experience at the Nest. Marko and Sally are great hosts and their guidance and familiarity with nearby attractions was very helpful and made our stay convenient. Breakfast each morning was a two course meal, starting with a beautifully presented fruit dish. Tulo and Frodo, the two golden doodles, were amazing and fun dogs to have around. I would highly recommend the stay at the Nest and can't wait to go during the summer to check out their salt water pool and jacuzzi!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heiblim, Owner at Nest, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
David & Dorothy, thanks for taking the time to review our place, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, Tulo & Frodo both loved you, and want you to come back again. We hope you can come back with friends and enjoy our place in the warmer weather, we have some nice things to enjoy in the summer, and there is even more to do in the area, if you love the outdoors. Thanks again, Marko & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted a romantic/relaxing get-away weekend and had never tried a B&B before. We had a great experience and plan to go back during the summer months! The grounds and the house were amazing and so homey. Our room was perfect and very clean. There was a wonderful two-head shower and a steam shower. Marko and Sally were wonderful hosts and made our experience very relaxing and comfortable. They were great chefs; they served breakfast that included an impressive display of fresh fruit and then a hot meal afterwards. We had a great home cooked dinner one of the nights that included great conversation. They own two golden-doodles (Frodo and Tulu) that were very nice foot warmers during meals and were the sweetest, cutest dogs. Our first B&B experience was one that we will never forget. We both would highly recommend this to any couple if they want a relaxing weekend away from stresses from every day life! Thank you again Marko and Sally!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heiblim, Owner at Nest, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Carly & Tony, thanks for taking the time to review the "Nest", we know how busy people are these days, and appreciate your helping us out with a review.We especially appreciate the kind words, and so do Tulo & Frodo. Great guests , like yourselves, make our job easy, its like having friends over. We hope you will return,and maybe bring along some of your friends. Carly, good luck with your new job. Marko & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This bed and breakfast was phenomenal. Excellent service from beginning to end, with a very small hometown feel. It started with check in, meeting Mark and Sally ( and the pups) and being welcomed into their home. The room was spacious and modern with wifi and cable TV. The bathroom was large as well and included a sauna extension. The breakfast was fantastic, all of it homemade and organic! It was easy to find and such a pleasure to stay. Will be back soon with friends!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heiblim, Owner at Nest, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of "Nest". We enjoy our business, and take pride in serving our customers needs.Our biggest challenge is getting our customers to post reviews ,It seems that most of our customers select us based on reviews, and most say they will post a review,but we understand that life has a way of getting in the way of good intentions, so again thanks for your review. We look forward to having you back again, maybe when the weather is warm and the pool and hot tub are open. Marko & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Better late than never- we stayed at the nest in September and absolutely loved it. The rooms were perfect and the house was beautiful. We enjoyed the hot tub and game room! Great hiking and waterfalls nearby. Breakfast was AMAZING... Wish I could wake up to a breakfast like that every day.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heiblim, Owner at Nest, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
It"s never to late to be gracious, we appreciate the review, and we hope you can visit us again.Time flies and soon it will be spring, and we hope to make some improvements, to make the experience at "Nest" more relaxing and enjoyable for our guests.See you all soon, Marko & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nest

Address: 1394 Route 739, Dingmans Ferry, PA 18328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Dingmans Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dingmans Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nest Bed is a luxury 2 room B&B with lots of amenities, set on a private wooded site within 2 hours of the New York and Philly metro areas. We have access to miles of hiking and nearby access to the Delaware River. Enjoy our seasonal heated pool and year round hot tub, or arrange for a massage in our massage studio. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nest to your Saves list