We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is nice, free breakfast, not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Danville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Danville to your Saves list
Super 8 Danville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Sheraton Road, Danville, PA 17821   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel is nice, free breakfast, not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here after driving several hours on our way home from Connecticut. The hotel is super nice and really clean. Our room was great and the beds were comfy. The ladt working the front desk was on the phone when we went to check out and after standing there for about 10 minutes, without her even looking up to acknowledge us we walked away. The breakfast is You get what you pay for, "free". Other than that we would for sure stay here agian, I highly reccomend this hotel as far as comfort and being really clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    91
    68
    18
    25
See reviews for
103
51
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Our group had rooms reserved well ahead of the BMW motorcycle rally. Our original rate was $125 which is ridiculous for such a place. We heard that many places were booked do to the rally, so I accepted that gouge. Our party grew and requested more rooms so when we arrived were told the rate was $157. Yep, that's right! $157 per night for additional rooms. When I told the manager that we were originally reserved at $125 per night, I got the "I'm sorry, there is NOTHING I CAN DO...". She actually suggested that I take it up with the person in our party that made the reservations. What kind off nonsense is that? We are paying premium prices for five rooms and I'm suppose to complain to the guy that made the reservations because the manager doesn't want to honor the original price for the room. All that aside, it's the sort of place that you would expect to spend less than $50 a night for. The breakfast was the sort of garbage you expect to be complimentary in such a fine establishment. The good news is that there is an okay place to eat right next-door.

Room Tip: Keep going, there has got to be something more reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stammy, General Manager at Super 8 Danville, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
The Management again apologizes to the guest that he feels he was mistreated. The reservations that the guest refers to were individual requests that were booked individually (not as a group) approximately 6 months in advance. They were not offered a special discounted rate as the guest implies. The guests actual reservation was a walk in reservation, as with many bookings rates will increase as demand increases and rooms become limited. This guest DID NOT have a booked reservation and no one in his party was offered a discount as a group. The guest knowingly accepted the rate and had the option of staying elsewhere. Hotel in no way implied that his rate would be anything other than what was offered and signed for. Guest was given the option to check out if he was unhappy with the hotel rate. Guest declined.

The hotel does apologize to the guest for any misunderstandings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bird in Hand, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Recently stayed at the Super 8 hotel in Danville, Pa for two nights. This hotel was recently renovated within the last six months or so, and all furnishings are brand new. Our room (king bed, non smoking) was very clean and tidy. All furniture was in perfect order and all electronics worked prfectly (alarm clock, flat screen TV, mini fridge).

The bed was quite comfortable, and we were immediatelt provided with extra pillows when we called the front desk. Hotel staff were very genuinely friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Quickly realized that my whole family and our clothing was COVERED in fleas. Our legs were covered in welts from the bites. They were even in my kids pillows!! What was the mgr's comments upon hearing about this you say?? "Oh...I'll change your room. That is unusual." Too late...they were in our bags.

No joke folks....even if you have pets. Find another place to go!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stammy, General Manager at Super 8 Danville, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
As Manager at the Super 8, Please let me first correct the impression that the guest spoke to myself upon encountering the problem. This is not the case. The guest spoke with staff that was on duty at the time and were moved immediately from the pet friendly room to a room that did not have any problems. The staff never meant to imply that they did not care. All staff including Management, desk and housekeeping apologize for this inconvenience and thank the guest for bring this to our attention, so that necessary steps could be taken.

General Manager contacted the hotels contracted Exterminator IMMEDIATELY, upon being notified of the problem. The room has been place out of service at the recommendation of the provider, until all services can be completed and hotel is certain that the issue has been rectified.

Again my sincere apologies to the guest for the problems that they encountered, and hope that their stay at the Super 8 was pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

First the positive the renovated bathroom was very nice large with places to put stuff and plenty of hot water. The breakfast was also decent and well stocked. The manager was also nice at the front desk.

But the other things far outweigh the postive.

The check in was inefficient. We arrived early to be told that we could not get in early. Fine the rules say 3p.m. but once knowing we were here it would seem that the front desk would hurry the room cleaning. Not at 3 pm. we get back to find that they were not certain our room was ready.

Plus at the time of booking we definitely indicated that a cot was necessary and they had no note of that. Fortunately had one but charged $15 a day for it.

No matter how much a hotel renovates they need to keep the hallways(even if they are outside clean). These were simply awful and have not been swept for ages as was evidenced by cobwebs, dead bugs,etc.

The room was small but doable but again the cleanliness was an issue. Several dark hairs were in the bathroom and the kids found fishy crackers under the bed that were not ours as we did not have them.

The fridge also malfunctioned freezing our pop the last day making a mess.

Add to it there were several cockroaches outside, fruit flies in the breakfast room and the restroom,etc gives the impression the place has not had a good cleaning since renovated.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stammy, General Manager at Super 8 Danville, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Please accept my apologies for the issues that you encountered while staying at the Danville Super 8. Feedback such as yours lets us me know when we are not providing the kind of stay that we pride ourselves on. Please know that all your comments will be addressed with appropriate staff, necessary action will be taken and they will be used as training.

Again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

4 of us stayed here with 2 kids (5, 3) for 2 nights while we went to knoebles. We had a king suite for 170$. Totally not worth it. Rooms are dirty. Grease was PB the bedspread, sand in the sheets. Dead bugs on the floor. I can go on. We tried to cancel second night and according to policy we couldn't. My husband said breakfast didn't look appetizing so headed to Perkins down the street. Stay at the Hampton inn across the street, we were there last year and it was perfect. Tried to stay out of the room and stayed at knoebles as much as possible.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stammy, General Manager at Super 8 Danville, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
The staff at Danville Super 8, wish to extend our appologies to this guest for their less then perfect stay. It is our goal to provide outstanding service and accomodations to all our guests and it is not acceptable that we failed to meet your needs and provide the guality service we pride ourselves on.

Please know that I will review all your comments with the appropriate staff and necessary changes will be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed here for one night after spending the whole day at Knoebels and did not want to make the almost 3 hr. ride home late at night. It was fine for one night, the lobby was really nice and the man working the front desk was very helpful. We asked for a somewhat late dinner spot (other than fast food) and he suggested a great place in Danville called BJ's Steak and ribs. It was great. Anyway, the room was OK, updated, I guess but our room which was smoke free had a ton of cigarette burns everywhere, and there was a hair on our blanket. But no matter where I stay I always remove the comforters and blankets. Can't say anything about the complimentary breakfast because we did not eat it, although I wish we did over the place we stopped at. We stayed here with our 2 children (6 and 3).. and it looked like alot of people did the same thing we did. Knoebels and 1 night stay. I would probably stay again if up in that area, you definitely can't beat the price, it was half of the rest of the hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stammy, General Manager at Super 8 Danville, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you for all your comments, both good and bad. Without feedback such as yours we fail to grow and improve on our service and accomodations. Please know that we will address all your comments through daily schedules, improvements and training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Danville

Address: 35 Sheraton Road, Danville, PA 17821
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Danville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Danville 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Knoebles, Bloomsburg Fairgrounds, Bucknell University, Little League World Series. 3 Miles from downtown Danville, walking distance to restaurants. Complimentary WIFI, Flat Screen TV's, coffee makers, Iron/Ironing Board, hair dryers, in all rooms. Easy on and off Interstate 80. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Danville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Danville Hotel Danville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Danville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.