We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Filbert Bed & Breakfast

Filbert Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Danielsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Filbert Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Filbert Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
3740 Filbert Drive, Danielsville, PA 18038   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Danielsville B&B and Inns
Washington DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ski vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Filbert Bed & Breakfast for one night as part of a ski trip. The inn was nice and quaint. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean and neat. the place was very close to the ski resort. Kathy was very friendly and gracious. Breakfast was delicious. After breakfast Kathy gave us a tour of the entire inn with some interesting history. She was also very kind to let us keep our stuff in our room, after check-out, so we could come back after a day of skiing to freshen up before we got on our way back home.

We did have some quibbles though. We got to the inn late afternoon. Our room was a bit chilly. Kathy was not available at check-in so we met her husband instead. He didn't seem to know how to increase the temperature and recommended we call his wife. He also didn't know the password to the wifi, that was advertised on the web. When we initially called it went to voicemail. so, I turned up the portable electric heater in the bathroom and left the bathroom door open and that seemed to give us some respite. We did hear back from Kathy who gave us the wifi access code.


Overall, we enjoyed our stay as well as the hospitality. It has a very mom and pop feel to the establishment, good and bad. I would recommend leaving the wifi code somewhere that paying guests can easily find. Efforts should also be made so that rooms aren't chilly on guests arrival. An appropriate rating would be 3.5 out of 5 stars. If someone asked about a B&B in the area I'd mention it due to it's location to the ski resort and the hospitality of Kathy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lynbrook
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Rose Room which was a nice size. The bed was very comfy and the room was spotless. The inn is centrally located, all attractions are about 20 minutes away. We went in to Jim Thorpe highly recommended. The Blue Mountain ski resort is about 10 minutes from her. Kathy, the innkeeper was a wonderful host. Her homemade breakfasts were delicious made with farm fresh ingredients. Would definatly return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

In seeking a home base for a mother-daughter weekend last week, we couldn't have asked for a better host in Kathy and husband Terry or a more lovely B&B. Native to the area, Kathy tuned into our interests and then provided exactly the right amount of advice, fact and color commentary to make everything we chose go effortlessly. The historic inn is modernized for comfort and filled with authenticity to its origins. The B&B is in a small town but is convenient to quite a variety of activities, making for a full and wonderful long weekend for us. We also loved Kathy's multi-course breakfasts. We would come back in a heartbeat and plan to bring along friends as well.

I had never been to this part of PA before and relied on the good reviews on this site and the good vibes I got from speaking with Kathy beforehand. Our room was beautfiul, extremely clean, inviting, and very comfortable. It all turned out even better than my high hopes.

The location made for a great home base to various activities. We enjoyed an old-fashioned Drive-in Movie place less than 10 minutes away from the Filbert. (Bonus: breakfast was delayed to allow us to sleep in.) For our whitewater rafting trip in reasonably close Jim Thorpe, Kathy gave perfect advice on what to wear, where to buy a low-cost, delicious lunch and how to ensure it stayed dry, etc. Thanks to Kathy, we also decided to try out the nation's "largest 10-day free music festival" in Bethelem -- a bit of a drive but which was so good we went two nights in a row. To top it off, my guitar-playing daughter was thrilled to enjoy a well-run tour of Martin's Guitar Factory, where high-end guitars have been produced in nearby Nazareth since 1833. In sum, we had a great time and our home away from home at the Filbert was instrumental in making it easy and memorable.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Charlotte.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice house and property in a picturesque farm area, very accomodating innkeeper and lots of surprises around every corner...grandma's shoes, great butler kitchen, outdoor seating areas, attached country store, etc. We were doing a sunrise hot air balloon flight at 5:30am and Kathy assured us that no matter what time we got back from the flight we could get breakfast. The breakfast service was beautiful, and the food was also presented beautifully ~ the food was fine but not outstanding.

The toiletries in the bathroom creeped me out a bit. Instead of the mini hotel-sized toiletries, in the shower were 3 large economy bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body wash half empty. There was a little basket next to the sink with 2 used bars of soap, a toothbrush (which was NOT is a package or wrapper- was it used?) and a few other items.

The house and room were fine. If you are doing a balloon flight at Slatington Airport there are few options for accomodations and this place would be fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Re-visited over Christmas break with 3 kids, 9,11 & 13. Kathy's hospitality was as fabulous as before! We each found little christmas presents on our pillows too!! We needed extra-early breakfast for skiing early, and she was able to accommodate - by getting up at 5am!! We still received her full fledged hearty country breakfast.
Thanks Kathy!

Room Tip: For a family, Grandma Suite is Great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful Victorian with comfy rooms. Many thoughtful details, including free drinks, extra toiletries. Perfect for Appalachian Trail hikers with reliable shuttle and flexible, big breakfast. Wonderful hostess and experience.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Fabulously restored Historic victorian. Gracious InnKeeper. Beautifully presented hearty breakfast. High Speed Wifi Internet access.
Hostess had a hot crock of soup or Chili waiting for us every evening when we returned from skiing.
Rooms were immaculate, with lots of historic charm.
A fabulous experience for me with our 3 kids ages 8, 10 & 12.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Filbert Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filbert Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3740 Filbert Drive, Danielsville, PA 18038
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Danielsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Danielsville
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filbert Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.