We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth $395 a night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Lodge & Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Crescent Lodge & Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crescent Lodge & Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   5854 Paradise Valley Rd., Cresco, PA 18326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cresco B&B and Inns
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth $395 a night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed in their top end cabin -- The Mountain View. While the place was clean, the kitchen was very poorly equiped, the stove and oven where in terrible shape...burned everything and there were no pans to bake in. They provided 2 forks, knives and spoons so we were always doing dishes. When we complained to the front desk we were told "they would see if they could do something about it" But never gave us a discount or break on the price. Also when we went for breakfast all of the hot food was gone --- we were told to wait and they would make more --- we left and ate somewhere else. With the econmy the way it is and paying top dollar --- we expected more and didn't get it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    54
    20
    10
    12
See reviews for
12
153
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
asbury park, nj
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed overnight in one of the cabins as our first getaway together. It was extremely romantic and beautiful. The fire crackling in the fireplace and the hot tub room with its nice, comfy chairs were lovely. The only time we left our cabin was to take a walk through the picturesque snowfall to the restaurant in the lodge. My only slight issues with the place was, as someone else said, the decor in the cabins was quite '80s-ish, which was not a big deal, but for the price, I would expect better. The robes were a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband, adult son, and I were in the area to attend a funeral - and the Paradise I room was a welcome retreat for us. Our room was clean, comfortable, and the extra cot we had requested for our son was already set up when we arrived. The fireplace was easy to light and everything we needed (including instructions) was ready for use. Breakfast the following morning was excellent! (Which featured a perfectly cooked Egg-Bacon-Potato Casserole which was delicious!) Our only quibble was that the cot for my son was the kind that collapses in the middle a bit when one lies on it, and made for a stiff back in the morning.) The queen sized bed however, was nicely firm and comfortable. It's really a lovely room, and we hope to stay another time under happier circumstances!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, WV
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I can't say how much my husband and I love this place.....It's everything the website says....exactly!! Friendly staff - they'll go out of their way to help you and see that you're satisfied.....kinda "back in time" (70's 80's) but hey, it was very clean and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

I've been to countless hotels around the world and for this review I'm trying to base it on the ideal of what I was looking for on this short getaway. I wanted something classy, quaint and cozy combined with the comforts of home minus the noise. After a failed attempt at planning something for the Lake Placid region in the Adirondacks I turned my focus to something a bit closer. Based on my research through TripAdvisor and the property's website I took the plunge. In desperate need to get some R&R I booked a 2 night weekend stay at the Crescent lodge for the Edgewood Suite. I believe this is their second nicest offering in terms of jacuzzi cottages. Had no problems with the booking process as it went very smoothly. Checking in / customer service was great; welcoming and helpful with any questions. Our cottage was all the way in the back of the property with a beautiful view of an open grassy field and woodland. Private and back towards the corner of the property which was wonderful for us. The cottage itself was very cozy, clean and well maintained but definitely showing its age. I found the older style fridge and stove added to its charm. However for a $400 dollars a night there are a few things I would have liked to see different. For instance I would recommend to change out the bed mattress/box spring to a more updated bed. The wall paper with flowers were also very tacky and dated. The florescent bulb for the bathroom sink is horrible and looked very cheap. Lastly the TV could seriously go for an update to a flat screen. For one reason or another I could never get all the lamps to work in the cottage- some would work and others simply refused to, this was the same for some of the outlets which got very frustrating. I would have liked to see a welcome kit, maybe a bottle of wine / champagne or even a note etc considering this was one of the best rooms. Last and biggest gripe I would have would be a pet peeve of mine. Upon check in I was asked to leave a 5 dollar deposit for the room key in case it was lost. To me this just cheapened my experience BIG TIME. This made no sense to me at all- and gave me the feeling of checking into a motel 6. We could've been simply told that if the key was lost, a 5 dollar lost key fee would be incurred etc. I'm sure this has been a long standing procedure of the property but it was utterly pointless and avoidable. I feel that Crescent lodge has a lot of potential however needs to figure out the rough edges in what it wants to be. During my stay I couldn't figure out if I were staying at a rustic B&B, a posh motel or a countryside Inn. I believe the perfect example of this is the lobby / receptionist area. Very quaint and cozy upon entering but once you look past the receptionist desk you see this huge tacky motel style glass window. Kind of reminded me of some car service dispatch room or some 70's shag pad sex motel. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Crescent Lodge but probably will not return for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

After a hot summer in the Southeast, some friends suggested we join them for a long weekend getaway at their favorite lodge in the Poconos. We shared a cottage that had two 1 bedroom units each with a large jacuzzi. The Cottage was very clean, well maintained & charming. Staff was very friendly and had been working at the resort for many years. Breakfast is an expanded continental daily, with an expanded omelette menu on Sundays which is included in the rate. No lunch service, but the dinners in the restaurant were excellant and they had an excellent pianist. Very popular with locals and vacation home owners for dinner, which is always a good sign. The owners were very visable, Bob around the Lodge & Restaurant & Carol runs the antique furnishings & jewelry shop. The selection and prices in the shop were great and we got a great deal of holiday shopping done. We also played golf & did a little gaming at the Mt. Airy Casino just down the road. Alot of activities in the area with easy access.
The only regret that we had is that we were to early to see the fall colors, maybre next year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We just got back from a 2-day stay at Crescent Lodge. There are positives and negatives here. We took a room in the main Lodge b/c our stay was short. The cottages have jaccuzi and fireplace(we didnt check them out)
Positive: Clean, breakfast is included and had a good variety ( we dont like to pig out early in the morning). Close to most restaurants and Shopping Outlet. Clean and staff is friendly and ready to answer your questions and recommend any activities you might be interested in. Clean pool.
Negatives:
Room smells, has an old TV and the AC in the window very loud, we could not sleep very well because of that. Even though the property is well-kept and very green, the pool area by the ping pong table could have been cleaner. They close their doors at 10pm and open at 7am, nobody at the front desk at night-I like the feeling that we are not alone, so to speak.
Overall, for one or 2 nights ok, would not stay there longer than that.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crescent Lodge & Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Lodge & Country Inn

Address: 5854 Paradise Valley Rd., Cresco, PA 18326
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Cresco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cresco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crescent Lodge & Country Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“A Romantic Country Inn”At Crescent Lodge and Country Inn your will experience immaculate accommodations, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and canopy beds with plush thick comforters. Select from a standard room in the main lodge or a cottage located on our 10 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Free Wifi is included in the main lodge.Our guests can enjoy continental breakfast every morning from 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.The Crescent Lodge Restaurant and Bar:Our renowned on-site restaurant is open year round serving American cuisine. The Crescent Lodge restaurant has been nominated several times by the Pocono Record as one of the most romantic restaurants in the Pocono Mountain region.Antique Gift Shop:The Inn's popular gift shop is stocked with handmade jewelry, antiques and other items.We are conveniently located in the heart of Pocono Mountains. Within an arm reach to Camelback Ski Resort and Camelback Beach, Mount Airy Casino, Pocono Raceway and The Crossing Premium Outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crescent Lodge & Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Lodge & Country Hotel Cresco
Crescent Lodge And Country Inn
Country Inn Cresco
Cresco Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Lodge & Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.