We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Service from "Real" People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20036 Route 19 Oak Tree Place, Cranberry Township, PA 16066   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First Class Service from "Real" People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

A relatively new suites hotel in Cranberry Twp. PA. Primarily for business travelers on long term stays. My husband and I had a first floor studio for eight nights while visiting a relative in a local seniors residence. High ceilings, nice finishings, huge microwave and plenty of floor space. One lounger, but no sofa for two. Quiet: no road noise or neighbor noise.
Every member of the staff from housekeeping to maintenance to front desk was exceptionally friendly, professional and helpful. Kudos for a quality operation!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank You for your review and comments AMinSA. I have shared your comments with my staff and have congratulated them on a great job. We appreciate the time you took to share your experience. My staff and I want to Thank You for your business. We are glad you found our accomodations to your satisfaction. My team strives to provide great customer experience at Candlewood Suites!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
16
6
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is one of the nicest Candlewoods I have seen. It has a pool and hot tub, which as far as I know is rare for this type of property. The rooms are fresh and new and seem to even be a bit upscale for a Candlewood.

The housekeepers are fantastic. Unfortunately the GM was a jerk who doesn't appear to like working with people much. If you can avoid him, (Mike) then it is a great place to stay. He is the reason I wouldn't give this property a better rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelc33, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear lyssak11,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your business. Management and Staff take great pride in our hotel and work hard to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible and to keep the property fresh. As you noted, the property is beautiful, offers many amenities including indoor pool and hot tub. As you know, we are also a 100% Non-Smoking hotel, a feature that is attractive to many travelers. Unfortunately, guests who elect to smoke in the room are damaging our room and causing discomfort for other guests. Management must take appropriate action for the comfort of all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

A friend and I drove down to Pittsburgh to catch the Pens/Flyers game 5 and stayed in this hotel for one night. The hotel was conveniently located just off I-79, and was only about a 20-25min drive downtown to the Consol Energy Center. Price was competitive with other hotels in the area. Hotel looked newer, and was very clean inside and out. Front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming when checking in/out. Hotel is setup for long-term stays and includes a kitchen with full fridge/microwave/stove/dishes/utensils/etc, but things like ice machines are not provided (you could make ice in the fridge in your room). No free breakfast, but you could purchase items to make in your room from the on-site store/pantry. Lots of restaurants/shopping nearby as well. Overall we had a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelc33, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you Bry147 for choosing our Candlewood Suites while in the Pittsburgh area for Game 5 of the hockey playoffs. We appreciate your business and your comments. I will share your comments with the staff. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room and our staff is ready to help out in any way. As you found out, we are a short drive to downtown Pittsburgh. The Interstate allows easy access to and from the city. Since we have opened, many people have found Candlewood Suites to be perfect for their short and long term stays. As you mentioned we are convenient to the Interstate and Turnpike, with various restaurants and shopping options nearby. Since we are extended stay, you will not find noisy ice machines or soda machines on the property. Our Candlewood Cupboard has refreshments and snacks at a nominal cost and your icemaker in your freezer will provide your ice. If you are in hurry, the front desk always has extra ice on hand for our customers. Thanks again for staying. We hope you join us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

The manager was not willing to help out a Platinum Elite member. While working in the area I was glad to find a Candlewood Suites. I try to use this brand whenever possible. I needed 3 rooms and would have stayed for at least 6 nights had the manager been willing to budge a little on the price. They were more than half empty and priced higher than surrounding hotels. I guess it's better for business to be half empty at full price than to compromise a few bucks in order to secure 3 rooms for a week.
Needless to say the Holiday Inn Express was happy to have us.

Otherwise the property is new,clean, and located near several restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank You for your comments. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in their work and offers our guests very clean and spotless studio suites. We also appreciate your Platinum Status. Thank you for choosing the IHG family of hotels. Our hotel is becoming more and more popular in the area for those travelers who require long term stays. As you know, Candlewood Suites is an extended stay property. All our rooms are Studio Suites with a full kitchen. Our rate structure is very competitve in the Cranberry Township area. Our 'tier' pricing structure offers lowers rates the longer you stay with us. You must commit to your entire stay to qualify for the lower rates. Booking your room on a day by day would not qualify for the lower pricing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Warrior
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I have stayed in about 15 or 20 different Candlewoods across the US and while this one was by far the most expensive it was also the nicest as well.

This appears to be a very new and very well kept hotel. I wont go into all the amenities and such that make Candlewoods great but this one has them all. Since this is a newer design Candlewood the rooms appear to be a little bigger then the old style ones. Cleanliness was excellent, my room was spotless, actually smelled pretty new. Even the common grounds and exterior grounds are very well kept, can't say the same for a lot of Candlewoods, many of them have trash laying around and are run down looking but not this one.

Location was great, a busy area with lots of shopping and food. There are a couple of restaurants just a few feet from the hotel, Five Guys, Chipotle, a gelato place and a pizza place. There is also an auto service close if you need to have work done on your car. If you need groceries there is a nice Giant Eagle grocery store maybe a mile away or less.

All in all it was a good stay, If I had any complaints it would be that they really need to work on improving speed at check-in, it takes forever to get into your room but other then that it was all good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank You for choosing our Candlewood Suites. We appreciate your business and value your comments. We strive to offer a clean, and comfortable Suite and are thrilled that you found our new property to meet your needs. We take pride in our appearance and work hard to keep our property spotless. The Housekeeping and Maintenance staff work hard to prepare the hotel for all guests. I will share your comments with the entire staff and really appreciate your recognition of these area's. As Candlewood Suites is a new brand to the Cranberry Township market, we have been working hard at the desk to provide a thorough check-in, explaining our amenites and what we and the area has to offer. We will continue to work hard at our efficiency at check-in, and we respect and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a recent visit to Pittsburgh, PA. This is a really nice hotel but I must say that the manager is really RUDE and unprofessional. The desk clerks were nice and helpful. The hotel is new and located in a good location. Overall, the rooms were nice and clean and this was a good choice but beware of the manager.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank You for your comments concerning the hotel and staff. Each of our staff members take pride in the job they do. Being a new property, there have been many challenges that are presented to us. As General Manager, it is my job to train and educate the staff on many guidelines, policies, billing procedures, hotel laws, and on overall Candlewood Suite methods. I must meet the challenges from my owners, my employees, and my guests. However there are times when our guests may not agree with the policies or guidelines set forth. In various area's such as guest safety, employee safety, and auditing, we cannot jeopardize our position and tough decisions are made by the General Manager. I am sorry for any inconvenience that may have occurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

My son and I were ready to drop from viewing the university of Pittsburgh. The staff in this hotel were awesome. The desk clerk recommended a restaurant up the road we could walk to, that was very good, so we could stretch our legs before having to sit again. The rooms here were nice and clean and beds were also comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry

Address: 20036 Route 19 Oak Tree Place, Cranberry Township, PA 16066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Cranberry Township
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Cranberry Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry Hotel Cranberry Township

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.