We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Cranberry

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Cranberry to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Cranberry
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   20003 Route 19, Cranberry Township, PA 16066   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Stayed here for two nights in July 2008. Rooms were so-so, decor seemed a bit tired and outdated. Was on the first floor to begin with, but room was extremely damp and A/C unit did not work very well. Switched to a second floor room for the next night and was a lot better. However can't say I was impressed with this place. Great rates though, and the service was good. Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    54
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
50
27
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

We chose this motel as a stopover in a long drive to Michigan.

Beds were OK - comfortable enought but not the puggy delights of softness that some hotels advertise and a few occasionally deiiver. We had two double beds- a bit smaller than the double queens that many hotels have, but adequate. Each bed have 4 pillows - a choice of 2 firm and 2 soft.

Hotel is is a busy area, but we didn't have trouble with road noise. They do a fair job of putting hedges around the property to make it look a bit less industrial. The only noise problem was from the under window mounted type heating system when it cycled on or off.

Location is business/industiral - not a pretty area. There are a few restaurants within walking distance, but most of fast food or diner level. They recommended an Italian restaurant practically next door, but we wound up not trying it.

Breakfast was disappointing. Their hot entree was sausages. They brought out some scrambled eggs after the bin was empty for at least 20 minutes and it was time for us to leave. The eggs were extremely runny looking, so we didn't miss much. There wasn't much of a continental selection and the only fruit was a few bananas. Certainly enough for a "free" breakfast, but not up to the hype in all the signs extolling it.

There was free wireless internet, but the signal strength in our room was very poor. While I was in the lobby trying to connect, I heard another customer calling the front desk to complain.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the years, and while the hotel continues to impress, the area is getting busier, nosier, and much less picturesque.

Construction in the area continues, and many tree lined areas have been leveled to make way for construction. I guess the trees acted as a noise buffer, because the hotel area seems to be much nosier than in visits past. I should explain that the hotel is sandwiched in-between Route 76 and Route 19.

While I still like this hotel, I think Cranberry is losing its appeal.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

We have stayed at a number of hotels in the area and I would recommend this one for its value verses cost and the pleasant nature of the hotel staff. There are other good hotels such as the nearby Marriott, but not at the price/value that this hotel offers.

  • Liked — Value, good towels
  • Disliked — Free breakfast was run of the mill, nothing special
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

After reading the reviews of other hotels in Cranberry Township, we settled on the Holiday Inn Express. We found it to be in a busier location than a few others on our short list. Not to worry! Rooms are very clean, comfortable, ANDquiet! No problems here. You could pay more and stay elsewhere, but I'm not sure why. Holiday Inn Express delivers all the basics very well at a reasonable price. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

The hotel was very clean and well maintained. We stayed in a king room and the bathroom seemed fairly new. They also provide you with breakfeast in the morning that includes eggs and bacon along with the usual cereal stuff. No complaints!!

  • Liked — 30 minutes from the outlets
  • Disliked — 30 minutes from the outlets
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Cranberry, at the crossroads of two interstates, is busier during the week than I remembered, so one must watch the traffic here! We found this hotel without too much trouble and checked in. A few eating places nearby, some are accessible if you drive straight through the light across PA 19 and take the road at the back to get to Bob Evans, Lone Star and other places. Easy access to both I-79 and I-76, downtown Pittsburgh and the stadiums can be accessed from I-79 south to I-279 fairly smoothly.

As for the hotel, it was super busy at the time but we were happy with our room, also the coffee/tea station next to the lobby was still available to us when we returned late at night. It would have been nice if there was a mini-fridge in the room but that was just about our only quibble. The price was very reasonable as well.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Cranberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Cranberry

Address: 20003 Route 19, Cranberry Township, PA 16066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Cranberry Township
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cranberry Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Cranberry 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh-Cranberry is located in the heart of Cranberry Township, PA just one mile off Interstate I-79. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Cranberry, PA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Cranberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Cranberry Hotel Cranberry Township
Holiday Inn Cranberry Township
Cranberry Township Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Cranberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.