We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer heaven in the middle of nowhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olga Gallery, Cafe & Bistro

Olga Gallery, Cafe & Bistro
4 East 2nd Street, Coudersport, PA 16915
1 814.260.9966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Coudersport
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beer heaven in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

While travelling through north central Pennsylvania, my parents took us to this fine place in downtown Coudersport. It does not look like much from the outside but inside is gorgeous.

The food was very good although the portions were a little smaller than I expected for the price. They do have a lot of options so everyone will be happy.

The reason I had to write a review is that they have one of the best beer selections i have every seen in my travelling all around the country. It is not the largest beer selection but they have a little bit of every style and from big and small microbreweries. The owner was very happy to talk about each of them and help us narrow it down.

The service was very good and accomodated my four boys.

I will definitely be stopping here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stopped in Coudersport, PA for the night because we needed a place to stay in between Oberlin OH and Boston, and because we wanted to go see stars at Cherry Springs State Park. We expected to eat at a random sandwich shop or a fast food place. Never in our minds did we expect to find a place as wonderful as Olga's Bistro, because seriously -- Coudersport, PA isn't really near anything *except* Cherry Springs.

Olga Snyder and her husband John have turned an already gorgeous building into a true treasure. The entire second floor and part of the first floor contains a gallery full of Olga's beautiful, funky (and way too overpriced for our middle-class budget) artwork, knitting, and home design items. The rest of the first floor contains the Bistro/cafe, which serves delicious, inventive food. As many others have done, we recommend the Bacon Blue Chips (homemade potato chips with melted blue cheese and bacon, amazing!) and Beef on Weck (hard to understand why this is so delicious... but it truly is). We also got a delicious grilled salmon filet, and a white chocolate raspberry cheesecake. Our 4 year old got a grilled cheese which turned out to be a pressed panini, and therefore a bit difficult for him to eat -- but John listened carefully to his cheese preferences and customized the blend to his liking.

All of this was plenty enough for us to rate Olga's highly; but in addition to all of this, it turns out that on Thursday nights (when we happened to be visiting), they have live music, and it was an open mike. The music was great, and the crowd and musicians were supportive and kind when our son decided to perform the ABCs, on microphone.

Thanks, Olga's, for an experience that we will never forget. And though it sounds a bit crazy to say this... I promise that the next time we're in Coudersport, we'll be back. :-)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This place is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I intended to write a review only to find that I reviewed this place two years ago on our family reunion....well....ditto to my last review..only this time it was even better. The personal service was perfect and Olga's husband John could not have been better ...he was a perfectionist for all our needs and we were the Wylie reunion of 30 people...he never missed a beat...we were there on Friday night and had to go back again on Saturday...BEFORE dinner just to make sure we go the rubarb pie.......the artwork is great too and you can't go wron at Olga's...enjoy...we sure do.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Designer food with Olga's artistic talents is a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It's a beautiful building, romantic or casual setting. Perfect for a glass of wine, and the beer selections are out of this world. Their menu has many delicious choices. The best part is that John and Olga are there helping you, the quality is outstanding. They are in the heart of Coudersport, easy to find. The building is beautifully maintained, and the gallery of Olga's art is a must see if you are in the area.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had just about given up on finding a place to have lunch in Coudersport when the highway turned 90 degrees right and, on a whim, we pulled into the first parking spot we saw. We looked at the menu in the window and Olga's had what we were looking for, but when we went inside we were gobsmacked. What an amazing room! Two stories high, beautiful woodwork and a few tables amidst Olga's artwork. The selection of beers available is inspired and the food was very good. Now we know where to stop when passing through town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olga Gallery, Cafe & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Olga Gallery, Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olga Gallery, Cafe & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.