We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Room; Unkempt Grounds” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cornwall Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cornwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cornwall Inn
50 Burd Coleman Rd, Cornwall, PA 17016   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cornwall B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dirty Room; Unkempt Grounds”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I visited the Cornwall Inn using a Groupon deal. Soon after entering the inn, I was creeped out by the dozens and dozens of clown cookie jars on display in the kitchen. I should have listened to my gut and left, but we decided to stay and give the place a chance.

When we were led to our room, Lynee apologized for the state of the grounds; she blamed allergies or something, but why couldn't she have hired someone? There were dead plants everywhere and it looked really awful. We stayed in a large ground-level room. I was excited to use the in-room hot tub, but when I started the jets the water turned dirty, with hair (not mine) and dust bunnies streaming into the tub. Gross!

The Groupon had promised a welcome snack platter, a vineyard tour, and Amish buggy ride. The platter was a joke (it seemed to be whatever they happened to have on hand) and I felt like I had to harangue Lynee for info on the tour and buggy ride. We ended up only staying one night (despite it being a two-night deal) and foregoing the rest of the package.

We've been to other B&Bs through Groupon and this experience was by far the worst. Stay away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    11
    7
    11
    18
See reviews for
12
86
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I'm utterly convinced that the positive reviews were written by the innkeeper's friends. Their website tout 5 stars. It is NOT 5 stars. Unfortunately, all the bad reviews were right on the nose. Dirty room, dirty towels, slow service, burnt food - all still there. There is no staff, it is just Lynee and her 18 year old daughter. It would not be so bad if she would just admit to it. I don't think Lynee knows how to run a B&B. It was just a not a pleasant experience and so regretted spending the time and money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It was absolutely amazing, the staff was nice, friendly and helpful. The food was great. the rooms clean and inviting. the location was amazing.Lots to do around the area. even just staying on the grounds was plenty.
Gina

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Worst bed and breakfast I have EVER stayed in if you can even consider this place a bed and breakfast. Not only was our room filthy, the welcome platter was embarrasing, (which we recieved after waiting two hours to be checked in) and had to hear the innkeeper Lynee complain about how she was having problems with her "amish workers" not only was that inappropriate, but she really seemed to be out of her mind. She constantly apologized for breakfast not being up to par..(Because she supposedly was a CHEF with high standards), or the room being dirty, and exclaimed on many occassions she was so embarrased because "these things never happened before" but clearly that is A LIE! I have read many reviews here and they all complained about the same things. This is not how a bed and breakfast is run! I have been to many different B&B's and this feels more like a jail than it does bed and breakfast. With that said.. Groupon buyers beware!! If there is any possible way to get your money back, get it while you can! This place while it may be beautiful on the outside, inside was dirty, dusty, and not well kept to say the least! The entrance speaks for itself! I am extremely disappointed I wasted money to stay here and had I actually took the other reviews that complained about the same thing seriously, I would have an extra $300 bucks in my pocket to go somewhere else that would have been worth my while!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

No food platter on arrival, in room coffee maker dirty and with old teabag in it, black mold on shower liner, TV not functional, chairs (1 no springs, 1 broken leg), less than clean, no supplies for coffee maker (even though it was too dirty to use). Candlelight dinner was burnt black, no dessert. Breakfast - waited for 1 hour and 20 minutes for 1 piece of bacon, and 3 burnt not edible pancakes. Winery tour is a self guided walk through the field. The owner thinks all is well. All requests were acknowledged, said they would be handled, and then ignored. We left early and went to a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Worst place we have ever stayed. if you go you will find out what all the negative reviews are talking about. horrible service, place is falling apart, inn keeper seemed to be
''on" somthing, We left a day early.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

No breakfast was served on Friday Morning, no cream and sugar to go with the coffee, water bottles were frozen solid in fridge, next day they cleaned the room at 3:00 while we were in the room! They were given a list of items we wanted (soda, cream, sugar, etc.) we assured we would have them and never received them, the next morning at breakfast the sticy buns were burnt and they cut the bottoms off ans served them and also it took over an hour and half to get breakfast from normal service time 9:00!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cornwall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornwall Inn

Address: 50 Burd Coleman Rd, Cornwall, PA 17016
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Cornwall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-Star rated, Historic Cornwall Inn, built in the late 1700s, is a beautiful and romantic Country Inn located in the heart of Pennsylvania's Amish Country. It is just minutes away from Harrisburg, Hershey, Lancaster, Lebanon, and the PA Turnpike (Exit 266). With it's beautiful gardens and relaxed, captivating atmosphere it is THE place for a romantic, dream-filled wedding, romantic getaway, business travel lodging, party, or a discreet and private business meeting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cornwall Hotel Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornwall Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cornwall Inn to your Saves list