We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE STAY BUT FLAWED” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Pittsburgh - International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Pittsburgh - International Airport to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Pittsburgh - International Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Cherrington Parkway, Coraopolis, PA 15108   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay, Park & Fly
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Coraopolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“NICE STAY BUT FLAWED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed here for a week at an event in November. My room was GREAT. The desk staff and the shuttle staff fantastic. It was also very noisy at night. But I always bring earplugs because I have learned this secret as a regular traveller.
BUT there were flaws here that can be fixed. The food was SERIOUSLY below par. There is very poor Taxi service at this location. You either have to rent a car, depend on the shuttle, or plan on waiting forever for a cab. EXPENSIVE, weird menu, and seriously just not very good!!!! Room service always came with an apology that someone else got my meal, and they had to remake it. This happened TWICE. The food presentation was nice. But the food was so flawed. Every time we ate at "The Bridges" something wrong happened in the kitchen, and they made mistakes and we waited forever. Servers were poorly trained. I had the absolute worst steak dinner I ever had IN MY LIFE at one meal. What was that nasty Cheese Potato thing with my steak dinner?
The "FREE" breakfast buffet was poor. They didn't make eggs to order as advertised (when one person in our party complained to the GM, he said he wasn't aware they were not doing that). Omelets were overcooked burnt pre-made terrible frozen messes. Hard pancakes in a buffet tray. Bacon was broken into little pieces every day. I opted for a banana and yogurt for breakfast in the morning (nice).
The managers reception has Free cocktails. This was good, but the appetizers served were BAD. Stale chips, and bland. Desserts were poor. Ran out of salad one night. Come on, FIX THE FOOD.
We had a block of 4 rooms and everyone had a mild mold problem in their bathrooms- It was a smell issue.
BUT, the room layouts are great. RENT A CAR. TRAFFIC and proximity make this a poor hotel if you plan on doing much in downtown Pittsburgh.
Now, for the price, if you add the breakfast, add the free cocktails, decuct the terrible food service, I give it 3 stars. It becomes average. FIX THE FOOD and the appetizers, You get 4. Do something to improve your WiFi, and your taxi service, FIX THE MOLD. YOU GET 5. This hotel is not up to par, the real problem is your food and beverage department. Fix the menu, fix the service.
Sorry, I was here last year for the same EVENT, and the general food experience was FANTASTIC. This year was a huge letdown.
A tip for the GM, I wish you could have heard the number of people in our group, who vacated the property to eat elsewhere, because of your menu and food problems. It translated to a huge dollar loss- most people don't complain.
THIS IS A NICE PROPERTY. We had a wonderful event, and that staff did a first class job. EXCEPT, GUESS WHAT- FOOD SERVICE ISSUES.

Room Tip: GET A RENTAL CAR. AVOID THE RESTAURANT until they address their food service issues and address the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    156
    83
    31
    18
See reviews for
180
84
23
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The lobby of this hotel is gorgeous. It looks like a resort when you walk in. We stayed here after a late night flight and the only complaint I have is it is not at all close to the airport. It took much longer to get here than I would expect from an airport hotel. Other than that, check in was easy, the rooms were nice and spacious and they offer free breakfast. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

As a travel hockey team we frequent hotels and embassy suites in particular but this one has been the worst.

Breakfast buffet included pre made omelets that were egg and cheese only. They were over cooked and flavorless. The orange juice began turning and the pastries lacked. The service itself was offered in a garden gazebo atmosphere with chaotic seating.

When we returned from a day of hockey the beds were made but we did not have clean towels or glasses. When I asked the cleaning lady for clean glasses she went in to a room and washed them in the bathrooms sink - no dish soap. We finally grabbed our own towels off the cart.

The decor was very institutional with concrete walls and no color other than beige. Artwork was absent an there were no pillows for the fold out bed - we shared our pillows with our child.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroldara, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Pittsburgh - International Airport, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are sorry for all of the issues you encountered. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience and your review will help us do just that. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider giving us another chance.
Thank you,
Carol Darabant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Not too far away from the Airport, so this Hotel with its complimentary shuttle service is a great place for travelers.
Perfect Suite size included a mini kitchen with a small fridge, microwave,
Rooms are quiet with a nice view.
Unfortunately I had a hard time to heat my unit to a comfortable room temperature, it always felt cool.
Breakfast choice as well as breakfast area is really great, a friendly staff there.
Very unique and astonishing "indoor park" with a small Koi Pond, very nice.
Helpull staff at the reception and all around the Hotel.

Room Tip: Highest floor has probably the nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I've stayed at Embassy Suites before but never this one. Immediately off the airport and a major highway with plenty of eateries in the area. The hotel itself is very nice. From check-in to check-out, all the staff were very pleasant and polite. The offer breakfast in the morning for two hours with the typical hot buffet or you can have an omelet made to order. They also offer a happy hour from 5:30 to 7:30 with wine and coors light as well as vegetables, chips & salsa etc. The rooms were very comfortable and clean as well. The entire ambiance inside is nice with waterfalls and fish in a pond. They also offer a restaurant with a decent menu, good food, and fair prices. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

wonderfull hotel lets you even take the breakfast up to your room (to pamper my wife)
beutiful indoor greenery, large sized luxery rooms and and comfortable beds
the snow made everything look even prettier.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We travel to Pittsburgh about 4 times a year, Embassy Suites is one of our favorite places to stay!
Embassy suites has a great location, fantastic service and yummy hot breakfast with made to order omelets! Rooms are very quite so you always get a good nights sleep!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Pittsburgh - International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Pittsburgh - International Airport

Address: 550 Cherrington Parkway, Coraopolis, PA 15108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Coraopolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Coraopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Pittsburgh - International Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Pittsburgh - International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Coraopolis
Coraopolis Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Pittsburgh - International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.