We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty appetites wanted” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Armstrong's Restaurant

Armstrong's Restaurant
1136 Thorn Run Rd, Ste N, Coraopolis, PA 15108-4301
412-262-9355
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 70 Restaurants in Coraopolis
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Pataskala, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hearty appetites wanted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Old, dated dining room but long lines of locals say this is a good place to eat. Had the fettucine alfredo. Portions are ginormous, but sauce was a bit pasty and not very cheesy. Chicken on top was dry, charred, overcooked. Took FOREVER to get a waitress to take care of me although diners (in groups) on all sides seemed to have no trouble. Had to ask for a receipt and she just gave me someone else's because she could not find mine...
Skip it

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Never Disappoint's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I have been eating at Armstrong's for years (going back to the old Castle Shannon location) and I have never, ever had anything bad there, not once. The portions are huge. The prices are fair and despite the proliferation of chain restaurants in the area, Armstrong's remains crowded. A 10-30 minute wait is not uncommon. The Wedding soup is excellent, unlike any that you'll find in the area. Chunks of chicken, along with meatball's. A cup here, is a bowl everywhere else. They have a large selection of sandwiches, calzones (Italian is a favorite), pasta and seafood dishes. There is something on the menu for everybody. Desserts and pies are especially yummy, just try the chocolate mousse. One of the best neighborhood restaurants in Pittsburgh w/the business to back it up!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You know it's good when there's 20 people waiting...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended to me and we decided to opt for take out. Ordered at 7pm on a Saturday and was told to pick up in 25 mins. When we got there the place was crowded and about 25 people waiting to be seated. When locals wait you know its good!
The portions are ginormous and equally as big as they are everything is (big in taste) delicious!
We tried the chicken romano, with pasta and meat sauce and the hot sausage casserole which came with salad and huge pieces of Italian bread.
So - freaking - good.
Those two meals could have easily fed 4 people. It fed us for two dinners.
The prices fall in line with any other similar restaurant.
I will definitely be back and recommend anyone who has the chance to get there asap.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“eggplant parm is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The portions are huge, the food is always fresh and Very tasty. everyones food was great, in fact a group of us are going back soon. we always order business lunches from them too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always satisfied.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great that you can call ahead to avoid long waits, really a bonus. Food is great and large servings. Many take home boxes go out their door.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armstrong's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Armstrong's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armstrong's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.