We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gateway Lodge
Save
You added Gateway Lodge to your Saves list
14870 Route 36, Cooksburg, PA 16217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Cooksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lorain, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Husband and I spent two days here in March. Not much to do this time of year, but it was nice and relaxing. Had one of the blacony suites with a jacuzzi and fireplace, no T.V. The suites are very nice. The restaurant was kind of expensive and a smallish menu but the food overall was good. The only thing that was a little strange was there is no outside alcohol allowed on the lodge property. So if you want any wine in your room, you have to buy it from the lodge. No cell phone service except here and there in a hallway of the lodge. Wi Fi in the greatroom only. They dont really explain which room is which if you book online, so calling and talking to someone to get exactly what you want may be best.

Room Tip: The historic rooms are very small. Walk in and the bed takes up most of the room almost wall to wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie G, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Linda,
We thank you for the very nice review you have given us! We are glad you were able to relax and slow down from the busy hustle and bustle of everyday life! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your suite and yes, we do also encourage our guests to call and speak with us if there is something specific that they would like in their suites. This ensures that we are able to match our guests up with a suite that will meet their expectations. The forest is not cell phone friendly and we have placed a cell booster on the roof in order to make it possible for our guests to receive cell phone service in an area that is common to everyone.
I would like to let you know that our policy in regards to outside alcohol has to do with our liquor license. Since we have a PA Liquor license, the only alcohol allowed on the property is the alcohol that is purchased here in the Lodge. We are not attempting to cause issues for our guests, we are merely following the laws which govern our licensing.
Again, we thank you for your kind words in regards to your stay here! We hope that you come back again and enjoy some relaxing time with us!
As always, we appreciate your feedback so that we are able to continue to address any issues our guest may have in order to continue to provide the best possible experience for our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    88
    25
    17
    9
See reviews for
23
278
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife wanted to get a way for a few days and the Gateway Lodge turned out to be the perfect place. Unfortunately she was little under the weather which kept us in the lodge for most of out stay. However the with Jacuzzi and Fireplace in our suite, comfortable rockers on our deck, we really never had a need to leave. The lodge offers a spa but I recommend booking your massage when you make your reservation. There is also a Pool table and plenty of complementary board games you can play in front of a log fireplace in the grand room. Like most of the other reviews, we loved the food. We stayed three nights and tried multiple breakfast items and loved them all. Having been to Cooks Forest before we can tell you nearby if you do leave the lodge is lots of great hiking and things to do outdoors, but if you are inside for your stay, the Lodge is a great place to get unplugged, unwind and relax. We will for sure be back.

Room Tip: The staff is helpful in selecting a room when you make a reservation. Not all rooms have TVs That wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Myself and my husband spent two relaxed, kid-free days here, and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are comfortable and quiet and the jacuzzi tub was a huge plus. The lodge itself is lovely - we spent time just hanging out in the great room on oversized leather couches in front of the fireplace, reading and playing games. Complimentary "high tea" with cookies every day at 4pm is a nice touch, and they also have a very well-stocked bar with excellent beer and wine choices. I also highly recommend the on-site (Aveda) spa - I had a pregnancy massage here and was very happy with it.

So - why four stars overall and not five? Simply put, the food. I almost hate to mention it because everyone was so nice and we had such a good stay in every other respect, but the food was just not at all up to par. The breakfast menu sounds delicious, but both mornings I was disappointed - my breakfast crepes (savory, with veggies and cheese) were very lacking in flavor, though they looked lovely. The warm pear half was a nice touch, but underdone. The next morning, I ordered oatmeal which came out in a HUGE pile in a huge bowl with absolutely NO flavor - no sugar, salt, syrup, anything. I had to order a separate serving of maple syrup which made it palatable, but I figure that should be included in the first place, right? Redeeming feature of both breakfasts is that the scones were delicious.

We also ate dinner one night at the restaurant, and both myself and my husband were very underwhelmed with our choices. My cream of mushroom soup was all cream and no mushroom - again, very little flavor (does the chef use any seasoning?!), and my grilled salmon and vegetables were also extremely bland. My husband ordered scallops for his appetizer, which were quite nice but served with a side of what was clearly chili sauce straight out of the bottle (we use the exact sane stuff at home so it was easy to identify). This would be fine if we were at a family restaurant, but not so here where the prices are considerably higher. His steak, ordered medium-rare, was overly charred on one side and gave the entire meal a distinctly burnt taste. Finally when it came time to dessert... they were out of our choice :(. Excellent wine tho, and our server was very attentive and friendly.

So all in all, a great stay and definitely recommended - I just can't recommend the restaurant unfortunately, especially for the price. I know most other reviewers loved the food, however - so maybe the chef was just having an off night/weekend?! I hope so, because this is a lovely place in a beautiful part of the state (highly recommend a hike in nearby Cook Forest, by the way), and I would really like for it to do well. As the only real 'high-end' restaurant in the area, however... they need to be ensure better consistency with their food offerings, because I imagine that a good percentage of their income comes from the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie G, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful words in regards to your recent stay with us. We are so glad you were able to enjoy everything from the suite, to the Great Room, to the Spa. We want to thank you for sharing what a wonderful time you had during your stay with us!
It does appear however, that we fell short of your expectations in our dining room and we are very sorry to hear that! We want all of our guests to enjoy everything here at the Lodge. I did want to let you know that our Chef does not use a large amount of seasoning in his dishes. Most of our items on our menu are all locally sourced. This is a very important part of our restaurant. We support local businesses as well as giving our guests the freshest possible dishes. We want all of our guests to savor the freshness of the items we offer without overpowering our food with seasonings. I am hoping that any issues that you had with any of the food served was addressed at the time you were in the dining room. I have passed your concerns you expressed to our Chef so that he can properly address them.
Thank you again for your honest review of the Gateway Lodge. We value our guests feedback and use all of it to continue to improve our guests experience in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed the weekend for his 35th birthday. We had a balcony suite with a jacuzzi (no T.V.). It was such a wonderful place to disconnect from day to day life. The staff was amazing, the spa- wonderful and the food was unique and delicious. Definitly would love to visit again durring the summer/spring! Maybe we will bring the kids.... maybe!

Room Tip: If you don't mind it- get a balcony and not the T.V. The view from the second floor is beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, pa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a king suite with fireplace and tv (some have no tv but have a balcony instead). Food at the restaurant was excellent. Vast wine list and great staffing made this a place we consider returning to.

Room Tip: Pick a suite over the dormitory size classic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Took my girlfriend here for a Valentine's Day/Anniversary getaway and she and I couldn't have been happier. The 5 hour drive from where we are wasn't the greatest, but it was worth it when we got there. Great staff, very friendly and attentive. Breakfasts and dinners were delicious, even from a limited menu. Accommodations were fantastic, spa was also great. Very relaxing and peaceful atmosphere, laid back activities. Don't really have anything bad to say about it, definitely one of the best b&b's we've been to and will definitely be repeat visitors.

Room Tip: stick with a suite or main room, heard from other guests not to book the historical rooms, but appar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our entire stay was fabulous from the extremely warm welcome received upon our arrival, to our impromptu decision to dine in w/out reservations (easily accomodated), to the excellent and considerate service provided by every employee we encountered, to the exceptional food, to the beautiful suite, to the incredible dining, to the wonderful massages. We were able to totally disconnect from our normal hectic life taking care of everyone else and simply focus on US. Thank you! We sing your praises to all our friends and family, hoping they too will want to enjoy this beautiful experience set in the woods.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lodge

Address: 14870 Route 36, Cooksburg, PA 16217
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Cooksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cooksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Lodge is a rustic luxury resort nestled in the heart of Cook Forest, PA. The Lodge includes rooms, suites, cabins, an on-site restaurant, conference center, and spa. The restaurant holds its reputation for having over 130 high-rating wines, an excellent five-course chef tasting menu, and consistently offers some of the best fine cuisine in the forest. Gateway Lodge specializes in Weddings, Corporate Retreats, and everyday celebrations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gateway Lodge Country Hotel Cooksburg
Gateway Lodge Country Inn Bed And Breakfast
Country Inn Cooksburg
Cooksburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.