We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gateway Lodge
Save
You added Gateway Lodge to your Saves list
14870 Route 36, Cooksburg, PA 16217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Cooksburg B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our entire stay was fabulous from the extremely warm welcome received upon our arrival, to our impromptu decision to dine in w/out reservations (easily accomodated), to the excellent and considerate service provided by every employee we encountered, to the exceptional food, to the beautiful suite, to the incredible dining, to the wonderful massages. We were able to totally disconnect from our normal hectic life taking care of everyone else and simply focus on US. Thank you! We sing your praises to all our friends and family, hoping they too will want to enjoy this beautiful experience set in the woods.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    84
    24
    16
    8
See reviews for
22
256
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This unassuming rustic lodge is full of delightful surprises. From the luxurious Aveda spa to the gourmet and allegory friendly menu options, I forgot I was in the middle of an ancient forest of PA. The hot tub/fire place suites were well worth the trip. But the real star of the show was the service. We got to know everyone by name and felt like family by the time we left. Highly recommend Gateway Lodge for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

After finding the deal online for a Valentine's package, my husband and I decided to take advantage of the getaway. After reading reviews on this site, I was cautious, but hopeful about the trip. We had an amazing time from start to finish! When we arrived, Jackie gave us a tour. We later attended the Friday night wine and cheese tasting. Dining was so pleasant we ended up eating there every night. Breakfast was also fabulous! We loved our room with its view of the rocky cliff. On Saturday, my husband surprised me with a horse drawn carriage ride. There were beautiful hiking trails in the nearby Cook Forest. The Valentine's dinner with wine pairings and music was very romantic, especially since we were seated next to the fireplace. The only negatives in the whole trip were 1. My fish was not properly scaled and deboned ( a shame because it was cooked beautifully) and 2. We felt housekeeping was a little lax as we expected they would wipe down sinks and tub as part of daily cleaning. I have to say, though,overall the experience was incredible...well worth the money and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our third time here in 20 years. It started out as a quaint rustic getaway lodge. Guest rooms were small, but food and service was excellent. Previous owners started to renovate, but did not get far. Current owners have done an amazing amount of work and have invested a lot of time, money and energy into this facility. New suites have been added with jacuzzis and fireplaces in each room, most with balconies. While the additions are new, the feel is still that of a rustic lodge. The rooms and exterior keep the timber and chinking look while providing modern conveniences. The Great Room is a good size room with a nice wood burning fireplace, good place to meet other guests about the days adventure. Meals are delicious and well portioned. While the front desk was very friendly, they are under-staffed. I can understand reducing costs, but check-in and check-out procedures need to be worked on a bit. I would not hesitate returning. It's a great place to unwind, keep that in mind and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: The luxury suites are in a 2-story wing, while other suites are available above the Great Room. Due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very charming. Perfect place to escape. Offered plenty to do in the middle of winter without being overwhelming. Stayed in a suite and it was beautiful and spacious and had easy access to our car from our room. Food is decadent! We expected a small breakfast of the basics but you really feel pampered by all the small extras and you can tell the menu for not only breakfast is well thought out but for dinner as well. I will never go to another spa that is not aveda after the massage I received .getting a massage is a must and the products I bought, stress relief bath salt and grounded lotion, are so relaxing and worth the price. Only complaint I had was that the address is not gps friendly but they were very helpful when I called and provided an alternate address. We'll be returning for sure in the warmer months to experience what they have to offer in warmer weather :)

Room Tip: The original rooms have charm but I'd go with a suite. Charming and a hot tub win every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I would reccomend a dose of patience before checking in. My husband went in the office to check in and was forced to wait while the clerk bragged about the tour to other guests! When she finally asked if she could help him and he stated he wanted to check in and had his wife waiting in the car all this time, she was clueless. That is a good way to describe the managment at Gateway Lodge. Not enough staff is another issue. The fantastic guy that made our stay bearable was Jason, who managed the bar/wine room. He was the only managment staff that understood what being in the service industry actually requires. Place settings not moved in front of my husband as to not have his back to the speaker yet they kept serving him his courses!! .. being told that the ginger tea that is being offered in the very next room cannot be consumed at breakfast because it's in the other room! No sensible service. Read the other reviews. Managment is a confused nightmare!

Room Tip: request a suite with a television. get confirmation in writing. Check the smell of the towels when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

They say good help is hard to find but the reason for that is because all the great help is at Gateway Lodge. Every single employee from the front desk to the spa to the restaurant and bar were amazingly polite and helpful. The food and spa were exceptional and the place was beautiful. I cant wait until my wedding there this summer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lodge

Address: 14870 Route 36, Cooksburg, PA 16217
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Cooksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cooksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Lodge is a rustic luxury resort nestled in the heart of Cook Forest, PA. The Lodge includes rooms, suites, cabins, an on-site restaurant, conference center, and spa. The restaurant holds its reputation for having over 130 high-rating wines, an excellent five-course chef tasting menu, and consistently offers some of the best fine cuisine in the forest. Gateway Lodge specializes in Weddings, Corporate Retreats, and everyday celebrations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gateway Lodge Country Hotel Cooksburg
Gateway Lodge Country Inn Bed And Breakfast
Country Inn Cooksburg
Cooksburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.