We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious homemade pizza!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vowinckel Hotel

Vowinckel Hotel
2989 Vowinckel-Cooksburg Rd., Cooksburg, PA 19317
814-927-6610
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Cooksburg
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“delicious homemade pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

the homemade pizza dough was delicious and affordable! a cute, kitschy little place for lunch or dinner.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Catsville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best wings in town!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've been coming to cooks forest for 18 years for a golf outing with friends. Every time I MUST visit Vowinckel for wings. I usually order extra to take along to munch on later around the fire. This year I brought my family up for the begining of the week to enjoy the forest. First night dinner HAD to be at the Vowinckel. I've been raving to my family about it and my daughter loves wings as much as I do. We were not disappointed!!!!! My daughter odered 6 and I said make it 12 with the others to go. This time I actually tried a different entree and was not let down. Veal parmesan was my choice and my wife got the ribs also very good. The only frown from me was the price of the wings don't remember them being quite that expensive. $12.95 for 12 but please remember these are FULL wings. Always a pleasure at the Vowinckel.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Nice family restaurant with good food at a reasonable price, hugh portions.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Vowinckle Hotel has good wings, steaks and chicken. We alternate between the hotel and the Cook Forest Country Inn, just up the road from the hotel. Both places are pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Vowinckel Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stopped here after hunting one day in November. I was very surprised. The Fish is good and the service is friendly. it's a good place to stop.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vowinckel Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Vowinckel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vowinckel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.