We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins
Save
You added Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
13964 Rt 36, Po Box 160, Cooksburg, PA 16217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
7 for 5 Deal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Homer City, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I have been spending New Year's Eve at Hominy Ridge for the past 6 years. Paula and Andy are great hosts and they have a wonderful party for the guests on New Year's Eve. We have stayed in most of the cabins and also the Suites. All are very clean and comfortable. Hominy Ridge is a great place to escape for a time of leisure and relaxation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you so much P & T. We enjoy your company every year. We are so happy to have such great guests stay with us over and over. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    25
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
33
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I took a student group of 8 from a local college on a hiking trip, and we stayed here for 2 nights.

The cabin was in good shape, and fashioned with quaint decor. The fireplace, grill, appliances, and heater all worked perfectly to provide a very comfortable experience. The store on site is also filled with anything and everything you may have forgotten to pack, and at reasonable prices.

We arrived late (after they closed, but they were fine with payment the next morning. We could also drop money off for firewood after closing. So the owners are pretty easy-going. They are also pretty friendly.

There are a lot of restrictions on hot-tub usage, however, and up to a $100 fine if any of the rules are broken, so we didn't risk using it.

It was a little difficult to find at first. Just make sure you follow the GPS coordinates from their website and you should be fine.

Overall a positive experience. I would chose to stay here again if my student group returns.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you fro your review. We take them all seriously. We are grateful that you had a positive experience. We really do try to treat peple with the respect they deserve and always hope to get the same in return. We hope to see you again.
FYI the hottub rules are strict to be sure everyone has a clean and properly functioning experience. The rules are not meant to deter anyone from its use just to inform everyone that they should respect that others with be using it afterwards and if they do something that would close it down then its not fair to other customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Hominy Ridge. We stayed in one of the bigger cabins (Mohawk). There was plenty of room, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spacious (which was great for a group of 2 women and 6 girls). Lots of pots and pans (could have used a few more cooking utensils, but I'm not complaining). The store on the grounds was excellent and reasonably priced. The wood in the store, however, was either too new or too wet -- it just would not burn. Luckily, there were many heaters in the cabin, which kept it nice and toasty. I'm not much for truly "roughing it," so the facility was perfect for me. Would definitely return. Cook Forest is a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing us. We are thankful that you had a great time. The girls seemed to be having alot of fun. The firewood was cut this fall. It may be a little green. I know we use the very same wood and dont really have trouble lighting it. You probably just needed to start with smaller logs rather than the larger ones you were trying to light. All in all at least you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stopped here for 2 days on our way back to Baltimore from our wedding in Detroit. We stayed in Cabin 6 which was absolutely lovely! It was so neat and clean, with that old log-cabiny feel while still being modern. The weather was rainy and maybe 50-60, and we didn't need to turn the heat on, as the cabin is cozy enough as it is. It does have a full bed, which may be small for some... although not a problem for a pair of newlyweds on their honeymoon.

I also appreciated that even though we got there late, after the store and office closed, Paula called us to let us know where to find the key and that we could check in the next morning. We stopped into the store in the morning and bought a couple of cups of coffee and paid the rest of our bill with no problem.

We will definitely be returning... hopefully for more time next time so we can take advantage of the grill, fire pits, and hot tub!

Room Tip: Cabin 6 is perfect for a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are so happy for you. Congrats on the wedding and may your future be filled with love. We hope to see you back again, maybe for an annivesary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbard, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is the first time our family has visited Hominy Ridge cabins. We stayed in Cabin 7, it sleeps 10 people. Overall our stay was Great. The cabin was very comfortable and clean. The cons of our trip were the Propane heaters were very bad smelling. When they were off we could smell a strong propane smell. It was irritating. But other than that was an enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
So glad that you and your family had a great time. We do look forward to your return. As for the heaters, that is the nature of the beast. They are Natural gas and for some reason they always smell. There are no gas leaks to cause it. So we are unsure of how to fix the problem. We do hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mckeesport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Paula and Andy are great people and ensure that you have everything you need to make your stay safe and enjoyable. I have been going up to cook forest for over 35 yrs and had my own place until my health caused me to sell my own place and rent a place. This was a great place to come to.I would not hesitate to refer anyone to in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. We appreciate each and every customer. We really do want people to have a great stay.. And thanks to reviews like yours, more people will enjoy it as much as you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambridge, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and it was great. It is a beautiful place in the middle of Cook's Forest where the scenery was awesome. Would recommend to anyone and plan on stayin again. We stayed during the Clarion Leaf Festival and there were many things to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are so glad that you had a great experience here. We take pride in the progress we have made thanks to customers like you! We appreciate the business and hopefully will see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins

Address: 13964 Rt 36, Po Box 160, Cooksburg, PA 16217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Cooksburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cooksburg
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins is great for year-round vacations and getaways. Situated on seven private wooded acres in beautiful Cook Forest State Park, Pennsylvania, next to Clear Creek State Park and the Allegheny National Forest in the Pennsylvania Wilds, Hominy ridge is a great place for the whole family! Being located within 1-2 miles of summer theater, bicycling, hiking, canoe and raft rentals, inner tubing, horseback riding stables, fishing, hunting, water slides, go cart rentals, swimming, mini golfing, bumper boats, golf, winter activities such as ice skating, sled riding, cross country skiing, and snowmobiling makes Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins the perfect family vacation resort! It's also a great place for a reunion, with lodging to accommodate 46 or more guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.