We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay from Bike trail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stepping Stone Farm Bed and Breakfast

Stepping Stone Farm Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Confluence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stepping Stone Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Stepping Stone Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
140 Stepping Stone Lane, Confluence, PA 15424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Confluence B&B and Inns
Derry, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to stay from Bike trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while biking the GAP. It is a short distance from the bike trail. It was not hard to find, however when you get close to the farm you do have to push your bikes up a steep wooded trail that is covered with large gravel and over a railroad crossing. The next day we decided to get back on the trail using the road instead. - especially because it was downhill :)
We stayed in the get-away suite which had a lot of room and was very comfortable. It reminded me of a cabin you might have.
We enjoyed walking around their place and Larry and Vicki even drove us into town to eat. The breakfast was nice. They were both very friendly. We were able to keep our bikes in their shed since it was forecasted to rain in the morning.
We were happy to find this place and would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

It was a delight to spend time at the farm with Larry and Vicki and Harvey. Lovely grounds, cute goats, great breakfast, fabulous bonfire with smores, good company. Felt extremely well cared for and could easily imagine having a perfect day without going far from the farm. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I organized a multi- family weekend in Ohio Pyle and rented out the Stepping Stone. We do a lot of traveling with our children around the world and sometimes its hard to impress them but the Stepping Stone was all I needed to remind them that I'm truly the best travel guide they will ever have. The house is welcoming, comfortable and relaxing. Larry and Vicki make you feel like you're part of the family. I never knew goats could have so much personality and they were so gentle with our touches and hugs. Newly laid eggs will spoil you for life and strawberries off the bush were the sweetest that I found all summer. Please make sure you have Larry prepare the campfire for you and indulge in a s'more because Ohio Pyle rafting will have you burn off every delicious calorie. Our group included children from 8 to 15. They loved every minute of our weekend.

Room Tip: Ask Larry to choose for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We opted to stay in the second-floor Blue Hemlock room which is very cozy with a small ensuite bathroom. The decor is eclectic but inviting, the bed comfortable, and the adjoining "nest" features a kitchenette that has a mini-fridge and a sink where we could keep our trail snacks and happy hour fare. The hosts are very warm and friendly and will go to great lengths to insure your comfort, answer questions about places to dine, give directions to the attractions of the area, or prepare a campfire at your request in the evenings. Their dog Harvey (a Great Pyrenees/Labrador cross) is one of the most friendly and mellow canines we've met. They also have a small herd of goats and a flock of chickens. Larry is an avid gardener with an obvious green thumb judging by the beautiful flowers decorating the place, inside and out. His fresh strawberries picked from the garden each day made for a delightful breakfast treat in crepes. Other breakfast items were delicious and fresh. While staying at the farm, we visited Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater, about ten miles distant, and cycled parts of the Great Allegheny Passage rail trail. Vicki and Larry are very familiar with the trail and gave us great information. There is an easy access point at Harnedsville, only a mile from the farm. Confluence is two miles away with several good places to dine. We plan on returning.

Room Tip: Others have mentioned the railroad that transects the farm and some have complained about the train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Vickie and Larry make you feel so welcome. They are very knowledgable about the area and are willing to go above and beyond. And they have! I love all the animals, the goats and chickens and barn cats and of course Harvey the dog. ( he and I became very good friends ). Our room was comfortable and clean and the breakfasts were very delicious. I love this place. I really was not ready to leave. My husband and I plan to return, just as soon as we can.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Larry and Vicki are the most wonderful hosts. Their farm/home is welcoming and cozy--breakfast was wonderful. Home grown strawberries. They are also cyclists also, so helped my son and I with our bikes--the evening campfire was a nice touch after a day of touring. Cool air through the windows in the evening was nice, but you have to get used to the train. Only woke us up for a little bit. Loved the porch off the bedrooms area with the early morning sun, adirondack chair, perfect for reflection or reading.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We visited southwestern PA to see Fallingwater and to ride on the Great Allegheny Passage rail trail. Our hosts Larry and Vicki Rempel were able to give us lots of recommendations about where to go and what to see and do. They provided us with lots of room for sleeping, cooking, reading, talking. And they started us off with a great breakfast each morning. We felt right at home. We stayed 3 nights for a perfect mini vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stepping Stone Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stepping Stone Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 140 Stepping Stone Lane, Confluence, PA 15424
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Confluence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Confluence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stepping Stone Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.