We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanna House proves welcoming and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanna House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Confluence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanna House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Hanna House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1790 Listonburg Road, Route 523, Confluence, PA 15424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Confluence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hanna House proves welcoming and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

What a joy it was to discover Hanna House on a whirlwind trip through Maryland and Pennsylvania en route to Fallingwater by Frank Lloyd Wright. We drove up to the modest-looking farmhouse amongst the beautiful Pennsylvania hills and were first greeted by loveable animals before meeting the pleasant owner. We found ourselves in a stunning interior, with both the charm of historic architecture and the rustic flavour of a farmhouse. The setting, both inside and out, was beautiful.

We had a lovely room that was clean and comfortable for two, next to a grand bathroom with more of the charm of an older home. There was always tea available, alongside great snacks. The breakfast was delicious and prepared specifically when requested, and the owner made sure to make note of any vegetarians or dietary needs. We were so fortunate to meet such a wonderful variety of people with whom we shared wonderful conversation, although we were told that most people who had stayed at this B&B had been lovely (and it's not hard to see why, considering the wonderful atmosphere).

We most definitely plan to return to Hanna House upon our next trip to Pennsylvania from our beloved Canada. The colourful setting, welcoming environment, and subtle amenities make it the perfect place to unwind on a trip. Highest recommendations!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
92
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cameron, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

The Hanna House is a great place to find yourself at the end of a long day. Francie and her family (two-legged and four) welcomed us with tea and brownies and provided us with the local information we needed. The 1840 farmhouse is just a stone's throw from the Allegheny trail and a few minutes from the friendly little river town of Confluence where there are several good restaurants. Try the pizza at the Lucky Dog Cafe, if you don't mind every bite being monitored by the lucky dog herself, Roxie. We stayed in the large twin bed room with its rain forest shower and jacuzzi tub and were very comfortable. The house has porches and a huge living room for relaxing, meadows for walking, a pond, and horses to admire. The conversation was entertaining. Francie sent us off next morning with a breakfast plentiful enough to last us all day. We'll be back next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Staying at Hanna House was a special treat: from the bottomless pitcher of iced tea in the refrigerator to the homemade chocolate cake and the fresh coffee and the assortment of teas on the side board. The rooms are all comfortably furnished and the peaceful country setting with cheery flower beds, inviting front porch and backyard hammock round out the picture. All of this along with wi-fi and Francine, your friendly, gracious and welcoming hostess, is everything you could ask for.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

From Tucson to Toronto, the Hanna House has become our favorite. Set on a farm out in the beautiful Pennsylvania countryside, this great stone farmhouse could not be more inviting and comfortable. While Francie professes not to be a great cook, her breakfasts say otherwise. My family has a reunion near Fallingwater each year, and we'll be staying here from now on when we visit. Anybody using the bike trail would find this a perfect spot, too. Don't miss meeting Mountain Jack- he's the resident fount of local lore and a great birder to boot. THANKS Francie- & Jack-- Dave Richards & Cathleen Barrett

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

This beautiful restored 1840s farmhouse is just 200 yards from an easy entrance to the trail near Confluence, on the Casselman River, with good rides in both directions. A hospitable welcome from Francie and her family, great breakfast, and good conversation made our stay very pleasant indeed. The large room with two beds and private (and unusual!) bathroom was comfortable, quiet, and immaculate. We'd come back any time we are in the area!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Frances is a warm and welcoming hostess providing homemade cake, coffee and tea no matter when the arrival. The house is lovely with thoughtful small touches-flowers in the room, terry bathrobe, china tea cups with domed lids and breakfast was delicious. As a solo traveler I especially appreciated the introduction to other guests.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

My friend and I stayed in the New Room with twin beds. We left the windows open at night and enjoyed the cool breezes of western Pennsylvania. We particularly enjoyed the bathroom--sunken bathtub and a shower that is one of a kind. Staying in a farmhouse brought back memories of my uncle's farm. In the morning you can smell the breakfast being cooked. Out the window we could see the horses on the farm and a duck in the pond. Frances is a great innkeeper; she made us feel right at home. We also enjoyed her friendly dog and the kittens on the front porch. It was an easy drive to Falling Water and Kentuck Knob. The second day we left through Somerset to the Flight 93 memorial.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanna House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanna House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1790 Listonburg Road, Route 523, Confluence, PA 15424
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Confluence
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Confluence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hanna House b&b
Hanna House Hotel Confluence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanna House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.