We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely rude...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Confluence House Bed & Breakfast and Catering Services, LLC

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Confluence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Confluence House Bed & Breakfast and Catering Services, LLC
Save
You added Confluence House Bed & Breakfast and Catering Services, LLC to your Saves list
522 Oden Street, Confluence, PA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Confluence B&B and Inns
Uniontown
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Extremely rude...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stopped here during the Pumpkin festival on parade day, the inn on the outside is very warm and inviting and the were offering a wine tasting with extended hours on a chalkboard sign in front on the sidewalk, The bar is outside in a converted garage, which is a lot cuter than it sounds and they have patio tables and chairs with umbrellas which is also charming.. however not being an inn houseguest they treated us very poorly, the bartender was rude. They could live without my 13$ and made sure I knew it. I just wanted to stop with my daughter and enjoy a glass of wine. I felt like we were trespassing!!!. Won't stop next year... guaranteed!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperChef, Owner at Confluence House Bed & Breakfast and Catering Services, LLC, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Slightly perplexed by this review. Pumpkinfest is our annual festival lasting three days the first weekend in October. We offer a wine tasting bar and sales as part of our services for this event. As hundreds of people pass through our town and visit the various venues it does get a bit hectic. I personally worked the festival weekend which was heavily attended, all three days, with only two other persons tending the tasting bar and sales. At no time did I witness any visitor being treated rudely or disrespectfully. To leave a review such as this without direct contact with the business owner or manager is questionable. We welcome this review to return to our wine shop during regular business hours, for a more personal tasting which is what is traditionally offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    29
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
72
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grottoes, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our hostess was most accommodating, as was her assistant (her brother); both were engaging conversationalists as well. Our dinner meal was more than sufficient & most delicious, as was the next day's breakfast. Only drawback is that location is on a fairly heavily traveled road in a small town; but we managed to sleep well anyway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is my second stay at this B&B. The hostess, Sandy, is very welcoming and friendly. The house is well maintained. There is secure storage for your bikes. Breakfast is excellent. You will not leave the table hungry. The living room was very conducive for conversations with the other guest. My only complaint was with my beds mattress. It was well worn with a center pocket that made for an restless night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperChef, Owner at Confluence House Bed & Breakfast and Catering Services, LLC, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
This gentleman slept on one of our roll away beds that have been used quite a bit this summer with all the bicyclists in and out. He is the first to complain that the bed was uncomfortable and did tell me in person. The mattress is being replaced due to his complaint. It's important to us that you have a comfortable night's rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Confluence House is a wonderful B&B! Sandy, who owns this lovely home with her husband Fred, is an amazing woman. Not only does she go out of her way for her guests, but she makes the best breakfast I have ever had! We stayed at Confluence House 3 nights. During that time there were 2 injured bikers, Sandy went above and beyond to make sure they were comfortable and well fed. The house is immaculate, comfortable beds and beautifully decorated. It was a joy to sit and talk to her about the history of the house and the town of Confluence. It is a perfect place to stay if you are riding the GAP trail,visiting local wineries, Fallingwater and the Flight 93 Memorial. We can't wait to return, we have decided this will be an annual place to go for relaxation, biking and enjoying wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, ON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Sandy was the perfect host; gracious hospitality and a very charming well appointed home. The beds were comfortable and the food excellent (dinner and breakfast). She went out of her way to accommodate dietary restrictions. Couldn't have asked for more.

The Abbotts

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I must admit, after Labor Day, many merchants in Confluence shut down, so when we went through in mid-September, there wasn't much to be had at all in terms of restaurants. But Sandy came through with the offer of dinner and some pretty good local wine that she sells. All along the trail, particularly coming from the C&O Trail and D.C., you can ride a while and arrive at a town with little welcome or resources. But Sandy does her best to make the riders welcome. She tends to the details of presenting a nice interior with nice touches, and she is a great cook and host. It is nice to find a host along the trail like Sandy and the Confluence House B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The first time I stayed here was with a group of cylists and it was a good experience. I liked it so much I came back as a couple getaway. The accommodations are nice, a charming old house on the main street in town. Breakfast was served family style promptly at the time stated, and we had the opportunity to meet others who were staying there. My companion had a special dietary need and it was accommodated with no problem. The owner took time to sit with us and talk. Every need and request was met. I would gladly return here and I recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Confluence House Bed & Breakfast and Catering Services, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Confluence House Bed & Breakfast and Catering Services, LLC

Address: 522 Oden Street, Confluence, PA
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Confluence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Confluence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Confluence, once block from the town square. We are a Victorian era three story home offering four guest rooms and a third floor suite, private baths, ceiling fans, air conditioning. Guests have access to the first floor common areas, screened porch and picnic area. We provide locked garage storage for bicycles and gear. Wine and gift shop on premises featuring local wine, maple syrup, honey, jams and gift items. Just a few blocks off the Great Allegheny Passage bike trail. Hiking, biking, rafting, fishing, golfing and other seasonal activities. Centrally located to Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob, Ohiopyle, Hidden Valley Resort, Nemacolin Woodlands Resort, Seven Spring Resort, the Youghegheny lake and more. Open year round to accommodate seasonal activities. Guests are served breakfast as part of their stay, may order packed lunches to go or add our dinner package. We can host and cater your special event at the B&B or off-site. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confluence House Bed & Breakfast and Catering Services, LLC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.