We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The attraction to put Columbia PA on the map is a bust.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Turkey Hill Experience

Turkey Hill Experience
301 Linden Street, Columbia, PA 17512
1-888-986-8784
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Attractions in Columbia
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Come learn how our ice cream is made, sit in our milk truck, brainstorm your own ice cream flavor, milk a mechanical cow and learn about the people and culture of Turkey Hill. Discovery and delight abound for the whole family. And of course, there are free samples of Turkey Hill ice cream and iced tea!
Lancaster
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The attraction to put Columbia PA on the map is a bust.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

When this place opened, admission prices were exhorbitant and were reduced after no one apppeared. The ice cream parlor has since closed. If you want to learn about a dairy farm, visit one. The Experience can be easily missed.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    126
    53
    32
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Turkey Hill Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Such a disappointment. Too expensive, too uninteresting

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bainbridge, pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not twenty-one month old friendly and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

With the amount of people that were there there were lines for pretty much everything, which does not work well for a 21 month old. We ended up having to leave, the kid just did not understand waitining in line. For my 5 year old though, I do think it could have been more fun for her if we had the patience with lines...maybe need to expand on some of the stations espescially the make y our own ice cream thing which we stood in line for probably a half hour and went nowhere so gave up..
Would have been beneficial to know there was a coat rack downstairs as well as I was trying to carry around 3 coats and the twenty one month old.
Also would benefit with more seating. We sat down on the floor to eat our ice cream as we saw no seats and were asked to move. Were told there were seats out where you first come in....which we found and there wer very few and they were occupied. Need more and need to be where the ice cream is.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Definitely worth visiting, especially if you get a discounted rate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

Just finished up a visit to Turkey Hill Experience and my family of four really enjoyed it! We got tix for $7/person with an Avalanche Express overnight package and it was well worth it. We enjoyed the displays, really liked the cow milking station, had a blast making a "commercial" and genuinely had a great time. We spent about and 1 1/2 there and probably could've stayed longer but we had to grab a bite to eat. Overall: I'd say go for it--my kids are 10 and 13 and they had fun! Especially if you can get cheap tix!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a great experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I were spending a few days in the Hershey/Lancaster area of Pennsylvania and decided to visit the Turkey Hill Experience in Columbia. What a great place! We were there in June, 2011 and apparently they had only been open about 2 weeks when we visited.
The staff was extremely friendly and moved us along from station to station in a leisurely fashion. There were plenty of hands-on activities for visitors of all ages. My husband & I are in our late 50's and were travelling by ourselves (no kids) and we were having as much fun (if not more) than the children that were present! We got to play all the games/activities and created our own ice-cream flavor & packaging. It was great fun and if we are ever in that area again, we would definitely go back!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkey Hill Experience also viewed

Strasburg, Lancaster County
Strasburg, Lancaster County
 
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to Turkey Hill Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turkey Hill Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.