We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Fine Indian Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shagun Fine Indian Cuisine

Shagun Fine Indian Cuisine
222 East Main Road, Collegeville Shopping Ctr, Collegeville, PA 19426
(610) 409-9988
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 64 Restaurants in Collegeville
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really Fine Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Fine Indian cuisine - those words are used so often - even when chicken tikka is smothered in Buffalo wing sauce - they have lost their integrity. Shagun truely serves fine Indian cuisine. Each dish is distinctive with a harmonious blend of spices. They abound with subtleties - fennel, ginger, fenugreek, cinnamon, cardamom - that set them apart from all the others. Shagun's korma sauce is the best.

I started to frequent Shagun shortly after it opened last year. It has become a gastronomic pilgrimage as I bike eleven miles from Phoenixville on the bike trails. I cycle there to justify the second or third trip to the buffet. More than a dozen trips to date and Shagun has been consistently excellent in its food preparation, variety and presentation. I have never been disappointed.

Simply stated: Shagun has the best fine Indian cuisine in the USA.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, outstanding food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Took my wife and kids there for her birthday. The food the atmosphere the service were great. They made us feel special. I strongly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“5 for the food, 3 for the ambience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My family loves this place. We are lucky as it is only 2 miles away from our home. The food is excellent. They were recently closed due to smoke damage from the Subway next door. We have even let them pick some of our meal for us, and have never been disappointed..... HOWEVER, they do a dish with lamb, and they don't tell you that it takes an HOUR to get it..... not just us.... it actually takes an hour.

The atmosphere is sub-par. The service is generally good. The food is excellent. Even when they have a buffet is is pretty good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian lunch buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was a wonderful surprise. I came with my mother and father in law, who have had little experience with Indian food. The owner personally explained the buffet to them, while making suggestions. The food itself was amazing and very diverse. I thought that the prices were very reasonable, especially since everything was so fresh. The in-laws are now self-professed "lovers of Indian food." Success! Congrats and good luck to the owner of Shagun Fine Indian Cuisine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic authentic Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

One of the best Indian restaurant I have visited so far. Anyone looking for authentic taste will surely not be disappointed. Specially do not forget to try orange kulfi. Excellent service and excellent
food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shagun Fine Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Shagun Fine Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shagun Fine Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.