We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hiouchi Cafe

Hiouchi Cafe
2095 Us Highway 199, Hiouchi, CA 95531-9307
707-458-3445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hiouchi
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Crescent City, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Country Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is not where you want to go if you're looking for a healthy light meal. This place will fill you up with a platter full of really good comfort food like grandma made. They have amazing four egg omelets, Taylor sausage, home made biscuits, and crisp and delicious hash browns...and that's just what had. This is a really cute, old, side of road place, that is almost always full of locals, who know where to get a great meal. The staff is very cheerful and friendly. Come as you are, and bring your appetite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food & Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were at the store across the street and a tree fell up the road...scary to think about...those are big trees. So, we were stuck briefly...and went in for lunch...and had breakfast...at 1:30pm. Awesome! This is certainly not a five star restaurant, but for a cafe conveniently located in the beautiful Redwoods....it can't be beat. Try the biscuits....they're homemade....and delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good place to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed a week near here and found this little café. Good service and food. Be sure to check out the carver whose workshop is next to the Hiouchi Motel he does lovely work.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith River, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We used to live in the Smith River area and love going to the Hiouchi cafe on Sunday mornings for breakfast. The hash browns are crispy and tasty, not greasy. The Corned Beef hash is made right there and it is the best...We have never had a bad breakfast there. The area is in the Redwoods north of the Smith River. Such beauty you will find no other place. Its a place to camp, fish, and enjoy the out of doors...We moved in Nov. 2012 and talk about the cafe often...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great pit stop!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My BLT was just as I ordered it:mayo on the side. YUM. Very friendly wait staff, prompt service and lots of lemon for my iced tea. I was in and out and back on the road in half an hour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiouchi Cafe also viewed

Been to Hiouchi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiouchi Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.