We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean comfortable place at a fair price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hiouchi Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hiouchi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hiouchi Motel
Save
You added Hiouchi Motel to your Saves list
2097 Highway 199, Hiouchi, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hiouchi
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great clean comfortable place at a fair price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is great. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed here twice in a week, once on our way down the coast and again on our return trip. The price was very reasonable at about 70 a night with tax. Other than the early morning barking dog (not theirs) our stay here was perfect. You can even walk to the state park from the hotel in about 5 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Right now it is midnight and I can hear the dude in the next room snoring. This place is so ugly I can't believe it; right in the middle of an incredible spot of national beauty is this slum. The place is clean but very, very musty smelling. Had to leave the windows open in 50 degree weather to air it out. OK internet and TV. The dogs out of the bathroom window are true.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I were on a motorcycle tour heading north on Hwy 1 and 101. We passed through Crescent City and were not very impressed. I thought it would be a good idea to press on. We reached a camp ground in the Jedediah Smith Redwoods. It was over $40 to camp. We saw the Hiouchi Motel and I was blown away by how clean and affordable it was. This place definitely caters to fishermen as there is an outdoor kitchen to deal with your catch. The room was around $55 and gal at the front desk gave us a double room for the price of a single. because the singles were all booked. Not much going on around the hotel but it is a great alternative to camping if you are there for nature anyway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Joaquin, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I locked myself out of the room before the office opened. Thinking what to do a passing guest kiddingly asked "you want to use my key" She stuck the key in the lock turned it and the door opened. We were all stunned.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for a night as we traveled down the coast. The room was clean, no dust, hair, or bath rings were seen. The bedding was worn and the comforters had a few small tears in them. PIllows and beds are in need of replacements, fair flat. The windows and blinds were thin and did not cause much buffer from the road noise, but we were tired and did not cause us to stay awake. I too, heard the dogs that others have mentioned, but only in the morning. For a one night stay, it was fine, but would probably not want to spend more than that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We came halfway round the globe to see the magnificent Redwoods. To smell the fresh forest air from this motel was an additional bonus. The absence of air conditioning and the ineffectiveness of the blinds did not bother us. Sure there were two dogs beneath our window, but they only bark in the mornings.
Take a short stroll to see Jed Smith Redwood Burl Co and bought a couple of his beautiful Redwood bookmarks and business card boxes. Generally the surroundings were calm and the forest air was invigorating.
If you like nature and not perpetually rushing around, you will love this motel and the Redwoods. Otherwise stay in Crescent City.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was one of many stops on a road trip. I chose this because of the location to the Jedediah Smith park. I was disappointed to find out the restaurant the motel web site and other reviews mention was closed down. We had planned on dining there both for dinner and breakfast since there is no continental breakfast offered by the motel. The staff told us the nearest restaurant was 10 miles away in Crescent City. The only other option was the overpriced gas station across the street. The room also had no air conditioning and no screen on one of the windows, which we had opened to let in some air. In addition to flying bugs, the smoke from the neighbors cigarettes also came in. The windows and the curtains are thin. We could hear the traffic quite well and lots of light came in. We were happy to see the refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave, but the ice maker didn't work while we were there.

Room Tip: Because the traffic can clearly be heard, request a room as far away from the highway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hiouchi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiouchi Motel

Address: 2097 Highway 199, Hiouchi, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Hiouchi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hiouchi
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiouchi Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.