We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRADITIONAL AND RUSTIC, QUIET & PEACEFUL BUT NEED MAINTENANCE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Aryani Terengganu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Aryani Terengganu to your Saves list
The Aryani Terengganu
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Rhu Tapai | Setiu, Merang 21010, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merang
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“TRADITIONAL AND RUSTIC, QUIET & PEACEFUL BUT NEED MAINTENANCE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The welcome reception is very good. The resort served us keropok lekor dan juice and so happened we are starved at that time after a long journey from KL.
The resort has only 25 rooms (chalets) surrounded with greenery and big trees, secluded and very quiet especially at night. The building is a mixed modern and traditional local architecture with ‘rustic’ feel. Sadly, the buildings are deteriorating fast, and urgent maintenance is needed.
The breakfast is simple without much choice to choose from. The room size is ok, but the TV is too small with limited astro channels. Since there is no activity at night, they should provide a sizable TV in proportion to the room size.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faizal H, General Manager at The Aryani Terengganu, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear SASh7678,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with a review regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your observations on our welcome refreshments, serenity and quietness of location.

We are currently in the midst of upgrading works and would be more the pleased if you would visit us again in the future to examine our improvements.

Faizal Hussain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    33
    14
    9
    16
See reviews for
27
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur, malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was really lucky not to have read this resort's TripAdvisor page prior to my stay, or I would've changed my mind and missed out on a relaxing and lovely holiday!

PROS - beautiful setting. Private beach grounds with soft sand and calm waters. The resort is also surrounded by a jungle. The resort grounds are well maintained and well-lit. The rooms are generously sized and spaced far apart from each other - true privacy indeed. The food here is pretty good and we did not venture out to Kuala Terengganu town as we found the dining opportunities here varied and inexpensive too.

CONS - the entire resort could use some refurbishment. While I greatly appreciate the wonderful 'Lost World' charm to this resort - and it's true, one feels as if one has stepped into an alternate universe here as everything is so restful and close to nature - I believe that the resort can also gain wonders from some new little touches. The TV for instance is a box type. So the "wow" factor for hotels associated with ultra-modern standards is definitely missing.

Would I stay here again? Definitely. I came here to rest my mind, enjoy nature and enjoy delicious food and this resort delivered on this aspect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faizal H, General Manager at The Aryani Terengganu, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear MalaysiaTraveler,

Greetings from The Royale Aryani Terengganu and thank you for taking time off your busy schedule to provide us with a review. I am glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the praise regarding our rooms, location and food.

We are in the midst of upgrading works to our resort and we look forward to you visiting us again to enjoy the new changes.

Faizal Hussain
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Oh dear. How we so much wanted to love and praise this place but alas at every turn the Aryani does its utmost to disappoint. There is little doubt that when it was conceived and constructed this place was obviously a jewel. To keep standards high though you must continue to invest and spend on maintenance. Alas the Aryani has failed to carry this out. On the surface a beautiful paradise especially the old kampung house we started in. Scratch beneath the surface though and it fails at every level. Here are a few observations. Lose plug sockets with exposed wires and no secure fittings. No hot water. The bath tap ran soil before the water came through. The promised in-room internet did not function ( not a serious failing but it was offered.) The swimming pool tiles needed a thorough clean and the beach, while not entirely the resort's fault, is strewn with litter. Our observations were met with polite smiles but it never seemed to be followed by a call to action. We spent a lot of money here and that's by Western standards but this place did not warrant it. Grossly overpriced..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyaleChulanKL, General Manager at The Aryani Terengganu, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear TAHull,

Greetings from The Royale Aryani Terengganu!

Thanks for taking time off your busy schedule to write us a review. I would like to apologise for your unfortunate experiences at our resort during your stay. We are currently in the midst of upgrading our entire property, including improving the service level, room amenities and cleanliness of the pool and beach.

We bid you to please come visit us again to examine our improvements. Again, our apologies.

Faizal Hussain
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang Valley,Selangor
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Architectually,this place makes me feel like im in a different realm.i fell in love instantly.The bali-like carvings are beautiful but i was expecting more of terengganu carvings.From my point of view,The Aryani could use a major conservation work because it would be a waste if all those amazing wood works gets damaged by termites and salt water.The only thing that i cant bear to look while im there,the beach.....its the most dirtiest beach i've ever seen.its a shame,the management has to do something and fast.

Above all that,i was glad that i stayed at Aryani.ill definately stay there again when i get a chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAryani, General Manager at The Aryani Terengganu, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Deat azah_alaydrus,

Greetings from The Royale Aryani Terengganu!

Thank you for your positive observations - we are indeed proud of the heritage-inspired architectural details of our resort. It is the intention to recreate a 'lost world' feel, whereby one steps away from daily life to rest, relaxation and utter comfort in our resort. We apologise for the beach, which we have now improved with better cleaning standards. Please do visit us again.

Faizal Hussain
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Don't pay to much money for this resort.
We want to stay here for the last days on our holiday. Stay in luxury..

The whole resort needs maintenance. Rotten wooden frames. Outside bath leaked, etc. etc.

It's just faded glorie... What a disappointment..
Bad value for money!!

Only positive was the men who helped us with our luggage.

Good location for a horror-movie...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAryani, General Manager at The Aryani Terengganu, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Joyceenton,
Greetings from The Royale Aryani Terengganu!

Thank you for submitting a review of our resort. We are sorry to hear about the negative impression you had from your stay with us. We are currently upgrading the maintenance, service standards and rooms. Our beaches are also now better maintained.

While we highly regret your comparison to our resort to a "good location for a horror movie", as we understand that the concept of The Royale Aryani may not appeal to everyone's tastes. Nevertheless, we urge you to come visit us again to see for yourself the improvements that we have made. Hope to see you again !

Faizal Hussain
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dickson
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Driving through coastal roads of Terengganu and Kelantan, my daughter persuaded me to stay in Aryani and I did, for 2 nights. Yes, I think Aryani had its glorious days but now it needs a lot of sprucing up especially the garden with long uncut grass. Neglected potted plants were in dire need of water. Gardener didn't do his job?
However I love the chalet, large and traditionally decorated, quiet and peaceful. The bed is huge, good for 3 or 4 people comfortably. After a long drive it was so relaxing reading at the verandah and just laze around enjoying the gentle sea breeze. The restaurant staff brought to the chalet a plate of traditional kuih every evening. That was thoughtful.The staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful, especially Izzy. Food was goooood. Aryani has the best nasi dagang I have ever tasted. Unfortunately when I was there in July the phone cable was down. So it was tough trying to contact the management. Being a solo driving lady traveler, I felt safe there.
My fascination with old Malay houses was further enhanced at Aryani. The Heritage Spa is at a hundred year-old wooden house and the traditional Malay massage and body scrub took the tiredness away and I was ready to continue my journey to Kelantan and back to KL.
The beach was clean with soft white sand. I picked a few plastic bottles brought by the tides and threw it in the rubbish dumps there. The dumps need to be cleared and rubbish bins to be put at strategic places. It's such a great pity if a pretty private beach like that is not well taken care of. The beachfront bar/restaurant was closed and run down. The souvenir shop was also closed. What a pity!!
I hope the owner and the management of Aryani will really upgrade the place to its former glory. I would like to return there and see the changes one day.

Zar of PJ

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAryani, General Manager at The Aryani Terengganu, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear ZuraidahKualaLumpur,

Greetings from The Royale Aryani Terengganu!

Thank you for reviewing of our resort. We are happy to hear about your comfortable stay with us, and your glowing report of our resort and its services.

Our beaches are also now better maintained, therefore please come visit us again to see the improvements that we have made to the beach area.

Faizal Hussain
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Royale Aryani Resort in Kuala Terengganu Malaysia - the worst vacation resort in Malaysia where safety is threatened for any American travelling abroad. Beware of this Resort when booking in Malaysia - east coast region in Merang Kuala Terengganu Malaysia. This place was promoted by Tourism Malaysia and we were the rerecently in June this year, 2012.
The management - The Royal Bintang totally irresponsible to the point that the resort so is run down almost depressing, and dangerous and falsely promoted as a rustic get away in the east coast of Malaysia. The Resort poorly maintained with criminal minded staff!

What You Must know - we vacationed there with the family and a group of is American media, our lives were threatened. It is not easy to write this here as it is emotionally disturbing - but my child was nearly molested by the staff of Aryani Resort. The receptionist made a plot and cut off all our room telephone lines so we could not call the operator for help of any sort. This crime that took place this June is now a Police case. The Staff was arrested on property. We had contacted the Unites Stated Embassy in Kuala Lumpur for assistance and they have been tremendously helpful in following up on the seriousness of this case with the local police. The US embassy has been in contact with the Deputy Police Commissioner and in pursuing this matter for us. It has been a trauma. Imagine paying for a holiday in a resort where your safety and the safety of your child, children are threatened.

Don't be corned into "rustic charm", cultural experience" "malay heritage""tranquil environment" advertisement and photos- nothing matters when your safety and life is at risk!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamlanLatiff, Resort Manager at The Aryani Terengganu, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear guests of The Royale Aryani Terengganu,

Welcome to our beach boutique resort and I hope that we have made all our guests' stay with us pleasant, enchanting and relaxing.

As of yet, I have not responded to any reviews here in TripAdvisor regarding The Royale Aryani but this particular review has spurned me to take action as with all due respect, the content provided by this reviewer contains misleading information that does not fully disclose the truth to the event that occurred in our property.

We had done our very utmost to assist this reviewer during her unfortunate experience, and we certainly did not cut her party from communicating via telephone, WiFi or otherwise. We immediately contacted the authorities as the accusation against our staffmember was serious to the extreme and thus should be treated as such.

Further investigation by the local police authorities reveal that the accuser has recanted the allegation against our staff, and as the accused (staffmember) also proclaimed innocence to any wrongdoing.

We would therefore like to request the reviewer to forward any further queries or comment to our local authorities.

We thank all our guests and readers of TripAdvisor for taking time to read this review response and we sincerely hope that this does not affect your decision to stay in our beautiful and well appointed little property tucked in the tranquil shores of Merang, Terengganu.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,
Ramlan Latiff
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aryani Terengganu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aryani Terengganu

Address: Jalan Rhu Tapai | Setiu, Merang 21010, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Merang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aryani Terengganu 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Aryani Terengganu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Aryani Terengganu Hotel Marang
Aryani Terengganu Hotel Kuala
Aryani Terengganu Kuala
Aryani Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aryani Terengganu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.