We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Aryani Terengganu

Save Saved
You added The Aryani Terengganu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Aryani Terengganu
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Rhu Tapai | Setiu, Merang 21010, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Merang
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rustic Charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We (a group of 9 adults and 10 children) just recently concluded our vacation with a 3D/2N stay at Aryani following a trip to Lang Tengah. We thought of breaking our journey back to PG by resting for another 2 nights at Terengganu. This was my 2nd trip to Aryani.
There are a couple of things I like about Aryani. For one, you get to experience the rustic charm of a heritage village as the rooms are designed to showcase the old traditional Malay homes. The rooms are well furnished. Sure, it's not that well maintained but it didn't really bother us at all. It's comfortable and cozy. Everything in the room works fine and the super king size bed was big enough to fit 2 adults and 2 children comfortably. The resort doesn't have many rooms (I was told there's only 23) and when we were there, it felt as though we had the whole place to ourselves! So, if you are looking for some quiet time in a very tranquil environment, this is the place to be.
The staff was super friendly and helpful. 2 years ago I booked my trip through the resort manager, Ezy. She remembered my when we corresponded this year and she was really helpful in making all the arrangements for us. We even had a brithday celebration (for one of the kids) which was very nicely arranged by Ezy and the Restaurant Manager. There aren't many staff around so every personel takes full accountability in ensuring guests request are met.
All in all, I had a relaxing time at Aryani. The staff very extremely helpful and friendly (special thanks to Ezy). I will be back again! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    11
    9
    10
See reviews for
25
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Torino
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

It is actually a century-old artifact rescued from a dilapidated Malay house somewhere in Terengganu.
To me, a visit to The Aryani was truly a visit to our very own "origin" as its name intended.
In short, The Aryani is not just a resort, it is a wholesome cultural experience not to be missed by anyone.
The resort also offers traditional body treatments at the Heritage Spa. The spa centre is placed inside a timber house in a secluded section of the resort which was acclaimed to be at least a century old.

First thing first: the word "Aryani" means "the origin" in Sanskrit. Therefore, the resort aims to portray the classical (or "original") Malay settlement from the days of yore. The main feature of the old settlement is the Grand Central Courtyard resembling an ancient village centre square. Around the square are water pools and pavilions (or "wakaf") which function as the main activity centre for the community. Each of these features bear some meaning, either practically or spiritually. I strongly recommend the guests to read the comprehensive narration of the resort from a booklet called Hikayat Aryani which is available at the reception counter in the lobby.

The last but not least, an important feature of The Aryani is the Heritage Village (or Kampung Warisan). Inside the village complex, there a showcase of preserved Malay houses that mark Raja Bahrin's relentless efforts to (re)-introduce the century-old traditional homes of Terengganu. There are a lot of unique characteristics attached to the art of constructing these old houses. For example, no nails were used for their construction. How is that possible, one might ask? The answer lies in the grooves at both ends of the supporting beams which can be fitted onto each others which eventually form the skeletal structure of the houses. Just think of it as Lego tiles that were invented hundreds of years ago. Additionally, most if not all of the buildings in the resort utilised a unique type of roof tiles which cannot be found anywhere else

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Aryani was the final destination resort of a group of 30+ bikers (some with pillions) who were touring the East Coast of Peninsula Malaysia. We stayed 3 days 2 nights. In fact we took over all the rooms and villas except for one. I was impressed with the setting; rustic Malay Kampung architecture with modern amenities. The toilets were clean. Fresh towels. Air-conditioning and working fans. Our check-in was handled very well, smooth and prompt, no hassle. The pool was clean and inviting; in fact too inviting that a couple of the riders jumped in with their riding pants! The meals were very good, the service excellent but maybe that was because we had taken over the resort. The resort provided in-house traditional local masseuse which was much needed relief for massaging away the tensed muscles after a few days of riding.

On the negative side: The resort was suffering from some neglect. The lawn was brown from lack of water. The plants decorating the paths and villas was dying from neglect (They should fire their gardener and get a new one). Their light fixtures needed maintenance. The beach cafe looked abandoned. The shower areas in the chalet were badly designed, too close to the wooden windows causing the windows to rot over time. The private dipping pool beside each chalet were drained & empty. The Aryani must have been a top-notch 5-star 5-10 years ago but the management and owners have left it to neglect.

That being said, our group had a fantastic time at the resort. The pool became the hub of fun and activity. The beach was also relatively clean and safe as long as you don't wander too far in the water. The lighting at night made the resort look magical. Our final night dinner was a poolside affair and the food was out of this world! Service by the staff was very, very good. They do the best with what they have. So because of the company I was in, we made Aryani look and feel like a fun retreat. I tend to agree with some of the previous reviewers that the Aryani have seen better days and it is a shame to see such a fine place "rot" away. If I were to arrive there with my wife and kids, we would have been disappointed especially for the price we paid. But if you are a couple or a family looking for solitude and quiet and a unique Malaysian experience, then Aryani could be the place.

Room Tip: We took Chalet #13 as advised in one of the reviews and we were not disappointed. Chalet #13 faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Excellent service on arrival and prompt check-in. Lemon grass drink was cool and refreshing. Keropok Lekor - a speciality of the area was hot and crispy served with a spicy dip. The deco of the room was tastefully done in Malay Kampung style. The toilet was clean with fresh white large towels. In front of the villa you have the beach all to yourself. Desert is served in your room at tea time. Day trips can be made from the jetty nearby which takes about 1/2 hour by boat. We had a very pleasant 2 night stay and a good getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Although we called ahead to announce our arrival ( a group of 7) we had to wait in the rain until 1 (one) person came to take care of us.The monsoon rains did not faze us but the condition of the resort shocked us. Used and threadbare would be the description. Hard to believe that they won the best resort award in 2007!!! The location is ideal!!! A shame to see such a resort practically "rot" away. The beach cafe is closed and the walls and roof covered with fungus/mushrooms... Lightings on the path were broken down (dangerous at night during a downfall) The spa and shop were closed. The menu lacked most of the items on them, even the local dishes eg. "roti canai" !! The chalets and amenities...threadbare and with spots!!
The staff were VERY friendly and did their best but were left on their own by the management. We found out that the manger had quit recently!! We felt very sad as we had quite a high expectation of the resort. It should have been the highlight of our first time visit to Malaysia. By the way we had a fantastic trip to KL, Taman Negara and Kuantan in two cars.. We left a couple of days earlier than planned from the Aryani back to KL....

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeeya, Guest Relations Manager at The Aryani Terengganu, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
The Aryani Management

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and we do appreciate your sincere sharing. To ensure that The Aryani remains the charming heritage resort it will soon go through transformation and upgrading work in phases.
we look forward to welcoming you back to The Aryani for you to experience and improved offering and service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

The Aryani was a major disapoointment. After having read the reviews on Tripadvisor I was expecting to arrive at a great little retreat.

However, we were really surprised when we arrived and were encountered by a resort which probably has not had any maintenance in the last 15 to 20 years. Every thing looks old, greenish (from the amounts of rain and humidity in the area) and even dirty. We did not even get in the pool because of the bad water conditions.

The bar at the beach seems to have been closed for years, many installations were broken, and, on top of all of that, our room was not even clean. We arrived too late to be complaining and changing rooms as we were just staying for one night (luckily!!) on our way to the Perhentians.

All in all, the feeling we had was of a decadent, badly managed place, in which only the personnel (who was very friendly and helpful) would make up for all the inconveniences.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

If you want to rest and have a calm stay in the nature, go there. The bungalows are beautiful, the food excellent and specially if you are interested in local food, the cook will do his best. We stayed three nights and four days, it was a wonderful stay and so relaxing.
But have a car to go around, because it's a bit far from Kuala Trenganu.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Aryani Terengganu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aryani Terengganu

Address: Jalan Rhu Tapai | Setiu, Merang 21010, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Merang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Merang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aryani Terengganu 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Aryani Terengganu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Aryani Terengganu Hotel Marang
Aryani Terengganu Hotel Kuala
Aryani Terengganu Kuala
Aryani Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aryani Terengganu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.