We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bowling alley with beds” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Hearth Inn

Save Saved
You added Country Hearth Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Hearth Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Hotel Heights, I-80 Exit 120, Clearfield, PA 16830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Clearfield
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A bowling alley with beds”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

You walk down the halls and the first thing you notice is that the trim around the doors looks like a third grader painted them. We approached our room and noticed a non-smoking room sign on our door. We opened the door and noticed that strong smoke odor like you use to smell in bowling alleys. Our NON-SMOKING room had an ashtray on the table???? I called to complain so I didn't get charged for smoking in a non-smoking room....no offer to change our room. My wife is pretty sure we were lying on the box springs and not a mattress. There was blood on our bed spread. Cobwebs galore. Water damage all over the room. The bathroom ceiling had repair work...but they just rubbed some drywall compound on it...didn't bother to finish the work. So we turned on the AC unit to attempt to clear the air in the room...that made it worse...so at 3 am while still lying awake on the box springs I finally got up and asked for a new room. They moved us (why didn't they offer before) to another room....no remote for the TV. This room was a non-smoking room but was more filthy than the first. I usually don't take the time to write negative reviews but this place is a DUMP!!!! Spend the extra money to stay somewhere else especially if you are traveling with females....my wife was more disgusted than I was and it takes a lot to bother me.

Room Tip: avoid DAYS INN...there properties are crap
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    3
    9
    23
See reviews for
10
11
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Down a dimly light road - did not recognize the lobby entrance, carpet in room was heavily stained, did not clean room on a 2 night stay, found the no smoking signs on door was with Velcro and could be easily remove with a smoking sign underneath, on return 2nd night a person was sitting on the floor in the hall several rooms way talking on cell phone, following morning notice cigarette butt on floor about a foot outside our door - a non smoking room - the emergency exit sheet on the door read EconoLodge. I have stay at Days Inn often and this is by far the worst place I have ever stayed. AFTER I wrote this I read "Disgusting" and could have written the same thing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We used the travel coupon, and had to pay extra for a second person and 2 beds. What a rip-off! The blankets were the worst I've seen, anywhere. Worn and pill-y! Dirty, worn carpet, bathroom door would not close entirely. There was a used wash cloth left on the shower curtain from the last guest. There was always water on the floor by the toilet, and its lid was broken.We had a connecting door to the next room, and we could see light around the edges. Outside doors had no security lock. The continental breakfast was poor. Bagels disintegrated when cutting them apart, toaster did not brown, coffee was weak. Fresh fruit? One orange, several apples. I should have read these other reviews before paying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The staff/person in the front door was very friendly.we had leftovers from the dinner (which we had on way)and they allowed us to use the Microwave in their dining area -and that too at 11-before mid-night.
Most of the time Days Inn had refrigerators-this did not have-not that we needed since we were supposed to leave early next morning .. but that was little unexpected! Mattress was UN-comfortable but then we were there for 1 night :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I really hate to say this but in the lobby was a sign - the newest Days Inn. Well, maybe the newest Days Inn but actually the most disgusting room I ever stayed in. It was late when we arrived and the drive to the place was very like a junk yard as well. The front desk reception was ok. There were many unsavory individuals sitting around outside on cell phones. The outside door leading to the room that we received was unlocked and not very sturdy either. The room door was like an interior door in a home not the usual secure type door at a motel. There was an adjoining room and you could see the light from the other room shining through. Although no smoking, the room clearly smelled of stale smoke. The bedspread that I wouldn't even touch had cigarette holes in it as well as the blanket being torn. (my spouse removed these from the bed) The sheets seemed clean. The rugs were dirty and worn out. The bathroom had cigarette burn stains on the counter , the sink dripped and did not have a drain cover. The floors were dirty with cobwebs as well. I did not want to sleep here. I wanted to go to sleep in our vehicle but felt unsafe due to the people lurking about. I wanted to go to the main desk to have the room changed but my spouse didn't want to make an issue. I slept in my clothes, got up at 6 am and we left. We did not eat any of their breakfast and I do not know that quality. This most likely was a motel taken over by Days Inn and perhaps in the process of being redone but no way should it have been open providing dirty rooms to customers. Days Inn is a nationwide chain that we have stayed at (other places) and no problem. They should be paying people to stay there not charging.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Hearth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hearth Inn

Address: 150 Hotel Heights, I-80 Exit 120, Clearfield, PA 16830
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Clearfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Clearfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Hearth Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will enjoy hot breakfast in our fine restaurant(Complimentary choice of breakfast sandwiches or daytime sandwiches along with coffee, tea, juices, etc), free wireless internet, and local calls. After a long day of meetings or sight-seeing or traveling enjoy a swim in the indoor heated pool or relax outside on the sun deck. On-site Jax sports bar and restaurant. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like copy and fax services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Hearth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Clearfield Hotel Clearfield
Red Carpet Inn Clearfield
Clearfield Red Carpet Inn
Econo Lodge Clearfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Hearth Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.