We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Loft

Save Saved
You added Victorian Loft to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victorian Loft
216 S Front Street, Clearfield, PA 16830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 2 Clearfield B&B and Inns
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed there for one night during our weekend fall foliage tour in PA Wilds. I haven't been writing reviews recently even for some pretty enjoyable stays, but our weekend spent with Victorian Loft has been so exceptionally pleasant that it would be a shame not to share it. Everything has been just wonderful from the beginning to the end. We arrived earlier then previously scheduled, and within a few minutes, Tim made it back to welcome us in. The house is nothing but exquisite, it is very well-kept, and the yesteryear furniture, decorations and dolls are surprisingly delicate and adorable. We were very warmly welcomed and Tim showed us our suit on the loft, which is cozy and lovely. There is literally everything you would have at home. TV, stereos, shelves of books, movie tapes, game boards, and even a record player. We found a Chinese checker set in pure surprise and excitement, and had a really good time playing it. The bed is very comfortable, and sleeping quality at night is great. In the morning we enjoyed an savory homemade breakfast prepared by Peggy - juicy sausage, fluffy blueberry pancake and fresh juice. On the table, we had a quite enjoyable conversation with Peggy and a couple from Lancaster, PA. It's just the perfect way to relax on a Sunday morning - have a nice breakfast and chat a little bit with your friends. In addition to that, Peggy has been very nice and informative giving us suggestions about the destinations around, which made our trip simply better. If we are to to visit the area again, we will be so looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: The loft suit is superb for a group of 4-5 friends to stay together
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atleast10hats, Owner at Victorian Loft, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi, Yang - Wow! What a nice review....I know how much time it takes to compose a review which reflects what you wish to convey. I very much appreciate your detailed contribution. You paint a delightful word picture of your visit.

Meeting you and your friends and hosting your visit was a real treat for Tim and I also. You were all so happy and so much fun - your exuberance made everyone smile! The other guests clearly enjoyed the breakfast conversation, as did I. I hope to see you again if your travels bring you to or through the Pennsylvania Wilds! Clearfield County is "Halfway to Everywhere" with "Backwoods, Backroads and Backwaters" awaiting exploration. Thank you again so much!

Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I were lucky to have located the Victorian Loft Bed & Breakfast in Clearfield, PA. We wanted to stop about halfway across Pennsylvania on our trip from Columbus, Ohio to New York State. Our stay at the Victorian Loft was very pleasant. The house is beatifully kept and furnished with lovely antiques and all necessary modern amenities. Our hostess, Peg Durant, was charming and a font of information about local and regional items of interest. The breakfast she made was great. She was able to meet our specific dietary needs without any problem: my husband is a vegan, and I must avoid dairy, wheat and chocolate. The beds were comfortable.The price of lodging was reasonable. One important note: you must be able to climb stairs. We highly recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: Lydia's room has two beds and a private balcony off the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atleast10hats, Owner at Victorian Loft, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi, Pat - I appreciate your recent contribution to Trip Advisor reviews for our B&B. When a guest has dietary restrictions, it provides an opportunity for me to explore creative, and hopefully, tasty ways to meet those requirements while still serving a memorable breakfast. It appears from your review that the result was successful.

We love sharing our home with guests....and when they appreciate the Victorian ambiance as well as the modern comfort, it is doubly rewarding. Thank you for taking time to write such a thoughtful review. I hope you will come back if your travels bring you to or through the Pennsylvania Wilds in the future!

Peggy Durant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My second stay at Peggy's Victorian Loft. Its a special place right by the river. Quiet and unique. Every room in the house is warm and filled with hand-made lines by Peggy. I stayed there last December and now with the summer weather, the area is filled with green and blooming flowers. The morning breakfasts and company are what make this Bed and Breakfast worth the trip. I'll be back!

Room Tip: I've stayed on the third floor because I've been there on work and like to spread out and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atleast10hats, Owner at Victorian Loft, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your recent stay - now you have experienced both winter and summer along the West Branch of the Susquehanna River! Only two more seasons to go!

It is always a pleasure to host return guests and you especially brightened our week with your cheerful and enthusiastic presence! We look forward to seeing you again if your travels bring you to or through the PA Wilds! Thank you for taking time to submit your kind review. It is appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Arrived for a family reunion to discover a Beautiful house....warm , gracious hosts....home made breakfast ... Delicious... Accommodating...clean...
.historic...if I missed anything you will discover it for yourself

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atleast10hats, Owner at Victorian Loft, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Visitors who are coming for a family get together are among our favorite guests. You, your siblings and spouses coming from three states once again affirmed our county's tourism slogan "Halfway to Everywhere". After such a long separation, your reunion was filled with much laughter, moments of absolute hilarity and entertaining story telling. Thanks for letting me share in some of your family history and fun. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay - I certainly did as well. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We just spent another wonderful night at our favorite B&B! It really is like 'home away from home!' It was great to see Peggy again, to stay in our favorite 'Lydia's Room,' to enjoy the smell of luscious baking when we came in at night, and to savor that baking along with all the other wonderful breakfast items. Pear pancakes? Who knew? Freshly made fruit juice, a huge bowl of fresh fruit, local sausage, chocolate-cherry-almond coffeecake (so that was the marvelous smell last night!). Coffee, tea, whatever you prefer. Everything served on vintage china with vintage linens. How we wanted to stay more than one night! This was my fifth or sixth stay at the Victorian Loft and my husband's second. There will be many more, we hope! It's the best! Thanks, Peggy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atleast10hats, Owner at Victorian Loft, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
It is always a pleasure to host your visits. I am very appreciative of you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Your review is apparently being read as I had a request for pear pancakes shortly after it was posted! Thank you. I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If some occasion brings you to this part of PA, there is a place to stay that will add to your enjoyment and that is this treasure of a small Inn. The Victorian Loft is not a wanna be, it is the real deal. Authentic architecture and artifacts plus outstanding service is what will greet you. Do yourself a favor and book a room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Peggy is a charming and attentive host in her delightful home. Immaculate, comfortable and spacious with everything you need taken care of plus thoughtful additional touches such as home made chocolate chip cookies. The breakfast was superb - sausages from a local farm, pecan and banana pancakes and zucchini bread. This was our very best experience in a B&B and we would recommend staying more than one night if you can.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victorian Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Loft

Address: 216 S Front Street, Clearfield, PA 16830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Clearfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clearfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Loft Bed and Breakfast is an elegant 1894 Victorian home overlooking the West Branch of the scenic Susquehanna River in historic Clearfield, Pennsylvania. Walking distance to the theaters, restaurants, shopping and parks. Each morning of your stay a memorable full breakfast featuring homemade baked goods, custom blended juices and a bountiful main course is served family style.Equidistant from the Elk Visitors Center and Punsutawney Phil (Groundhog Day), making it a perfect base from which to explore the natural beauty of the Pennsylvania Wilds, a rural 12-county region with as much public land as Yellowstone National Park and virtually unlimited outdoor recreation opportunities - beautiful rivers, forests, robust wildlife, rich oil and lumber history and authentic small towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Victorian Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.