We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Clarion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Clarion to your Saves list
Super 8 Clarion
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   135 Hotel Dr, I-80 & Rt 68 Exit 62, Clarion, PA 16214   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clarion
Richmond, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast decent. Pool nice. Room ok but could have been cleaner. Ok place to stop for the night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    39
    43
    42
    35
See reviews for
65
31
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

stayed at your motel in Clarion, PA with my wife and kids on the way out east. Place looks worn, but the A/C worked and the room was clean (rate was the best in Clarion). No mystery smells, fungus, or items left over from previous guests. We noticed a broken down car in the parking lot behind our parking space and a few shady characters but figured we'd only spend a quick night and move out in the morning. No internet service could be gotten. We got what we paid for.

We booked online for an even cheaper rate for the return trip and right away noticed what appeared to be a homeless man checking the garbage cans around the motel for cigarette butts in addition to the usual shady people out of their rooms moving about at 11pm on a Saturday night. We were given a different room than the first night and first off noticed the same broken down car in the parking lot (one week later). The new room was okay, for what you pay you don't get many frills. Was able to get on the internet by selecting a weaker signal access point. Got the kids and wife in the room, put a sheet to cover all of our stuff in the car to deter anyone from breaking into it (a real possibility after observing some of the 'guests' roaming about. Locked the room door and slept an uneventful night. Got up in the morning and found out that the DOOR DOES NOT LOCK! EVEN TURNING THE BOLT HANDLE ON THE INSIDE - -YOU CANNOT LOCK THE ROOM DOOR!!!! So me, my wife, and my two children basically spent the night in this ghetto of a motel with an unlocked door. I guess we are lucky the cigarette butt guy didn't decided to crash with us for the evening...

When I informed the attendant at the front desk, she seemed unsympathetic and didn’t seem surprised that there would be a problem as if this happens often.

Room Tip: Avoid this place and spend the extra $15 to $20 for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8clarion, Manager at Super 8 Clarion, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Shady characters is something you can't always avoid, however we do have an on property maintenence man that makes regular trips around property after dark to make sure there isn't any chance of vandelism. Especially when we are busy in the summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Town, North Dakota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The place just keeps getting worse and worse everytime i stay there. The owner doesnt care about anything therefore nothing gets fixed. carpets are dirty. doors dont open. we were placed in 3 rooms before finding a door that would open. Last time i stayed back in january a young gentleman named Kevin i beleive took care of us and had everything well kept and under control. And now we find out during this stay that he was fired. we will not be staying here next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Worst motel ever! BED BUGS, Dirty Sheets, Phones that don't work! Gave me only $30.00 off for the two rooms we had booked after lodging a complaint. Don't use this motel!

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have stayed at his hotel about 5 years now. We have always found it clean, quite, and most enjoyable to work with the people that own the hotel.. Will stay there a vcouple more times this year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

It was my first time going through Clarion and me and my wife had quite some choices. But we decided on staying in Super8. The cost was lower than any other motel in town and the stay was amazing.Rooms are on the ground storey, which was important for me and my wife. The room was good, bed and pillows were great, such a good sleep. To add to our great experience, the breakfast was way better than most of the motels we ever stayed at. We ended my staying for 3days, and each day was worth staying.

I would personally give it my highest recommendations, we had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

First, it was hard to find due to little signage. it was up behind another property. Did not make us feel comfortable. Was apparently "something" else and taken over by the Super 8 owner of the franchise. While the room was ok it needed a major upgrading.
I am being kind here..... we saw a woman walking over to the main building AT 6am and supected she was an employee. Turns out she was the person who provided breakfast, and no, there was no breaskfast ready at 6am when it should have been.
We checked out and left.
Also, this was our second Super 8 on this trip that we were unable to get on the internet even tho' they advertise WiFi. so if the net is important to you, make sure you can get on before accepting the room.

Room Tip: Should have passed on the whole thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Clarion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Clarion

Address: 135 Hotel Dr, I-80 & Rt 68 Exit 62, Clarion, PA 16214
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Clarion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clarion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Clarion 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Clarion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Clarion Hotel Clarion
Super Eight Clarion
Clarion Super 8
Clarion Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Clarion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.