We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break between NYC and DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester Heights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
115 Indian Springs Drive, Chester Heights, PA 19063   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fresno, California
1 review
“Great Break between NYC and DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here in early May as a two night break between New York and Washington. The B&B was everything promised. Ashley was wonderful when we checked in. The room was very nice, roomy, and comfortable. The breakfasts were fabulous. The fruit portions were an excellent way to start the meal. The overall experience was top notch. All of the little amenities really made this a great stay(cookies, port, etc.) We only wished that we could have stayed longer. We heartily recommend this B&B for any traveler coming through this area.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the second story room overlooking the front yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    20
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
40
249
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

There is no other place that we would consider staying for a B&B. The grounds are gorgeous , the rooms are beautifully decorated, and luxurious. Glenn and Ashley bend over backwards to make their guests feel comfortable and accommodated. The breakfasts are scrumptious. Can't wait to return soon!

Room Tip: Rated pool by accident......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Hamanassett was everything we hoped for and more! Ashley was a gracious host and took time out of her busy schedule to chat with us as we enjoyed a delicious - and very elegant - breakfast. The Inn itself is beautifully decorated, and our room, Cambridge, was very, cozy and comfortable. The touches of British culture added to the Inn's charming character. We were in the Brandywine area to see the Downton Abbey exhibit at Winterthur, and Hamanassett was the perfect choice. We hope to return at Christmas to see all the lovely decorations (check out the pictures on the website).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Washington Post led us to this wonderful British style B & B. Beautifully appointed rooms overlooked gardens and pastures. We enjoyed their British style hearty breakfast with original menus and service style. Sherry and port complemented a full pantry
of options for guests. Conveniently located in Brandywine Valley, we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We could not have been more pleased with our recent stay at the Hamanassett B&B. Our room (the Tudor) was well-appointed, comfortable, and clean, with a fantastic four-poster bed. The breakfasts we were served were delicious, and the service friendly. But it goes beyond that - Glenn and Ashley put so many little extra touches into running their inn, from providing a guest pantry with snacks, to bottles of water in the room, fresh brownies in the afternoon, advice on local restaurants, you name it. Their hospitality is what makes this inn a special place to stay when visiting the Brandywine Valley area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madamqueen, Owner at Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for you lovely remarks. I'm blushing. So glad you enjoyed your short visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

What a great place been here three days so far and have 5 left to go and it is wonderful. Staying in Carriage House and very complete home, with washer and dryer, well equipped kitchen and beautiful grounds. I can't say enough good about this place. I hope to come back. Also excellent location for tours like Longwood garden, winterthur, brandywine river museum and Philadelphia, close to NJ and Delaware.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madamqueen, Owner at Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
So glad to know you are enjoying the carriage house. We also feel it is perfect for longer stays in the Brandywine Valley because we are so close to major attractions as well as Philadelphia and Lancaster County. Now that you've found us, hope you'll make this an annual visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed the Hamanassett B&B so much in October that we returned with another couple for an enjoyable weekend stay--last visit we were in the main house, but this time had a peaceful stay in the Carriage House, which we used as a base to view the Downton Abbey costume exhibit at Winterthur (really well done--there until January). We also had a delicious dinner at the nearby Brandywine Pride steakhouse in nearby Chadds Ford--excellent food and excellent service.
The accommodations were very comfortable, the breakfast repast sumptuous, the innkeepers welcoming and accommodating in every way.
We will definitely return to this top-notch B&B and ecommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madamqueen, Owner at Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Having return guests who bring their friends is such a compliment to us. Thank you for taking time to write about your stay. Try to come in December. Hamanassett and the entire Brandywine Valley is truly a wonderland at that time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast

Address: 115 Indian Springs Drive, Chester Heights, PA 19063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chester Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chester Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Brandywine Valley romantic escape near major attractions such as Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Nemours, Brandywine River Museum, Barnes Museum, and Hagley. 30 minutes from Philadelphia. Enjoy our Southern Hospitality where customer service is a priority. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.