We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good ski experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Springs Mountain Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Champion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
Save
You added Seven Springs Mountain Resort to your Saves list
777 Waterwheel Drive, Champion, PA 15622   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Champion
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value, good ski experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed over the MLK holiday. We have 4 kids, so with 6 of us we rented 2 rooms in the hotel. It was a great deal, the rooms including breakfast and lift tickets, and 2 combos of a large pizza and 4 large sodas. It also included putt putt golf, bowling and tubing, but we didn't have time for any of that.

First, the skiing. The slopes were well groomed and fun, certainly enough variety for a long weekend. We had the kids in 10-4 snowboarding school the first day, since it was their first time. A great deal, including instruction, rentals, lunch, and all day lift tickets (kinda redundant with the room package). But if I had to do it again, I would have gotten a two hour private lesson for the 4 of them.

The rooms were spacious, and each room had 2 flat screen TVs with the normal cable channels. Wifi was free, but signal strength was varied. Other people have said the hotel is kinda worn, and I'd agree with that. But it wasn't at all bad, it was nice actually, and at these prices more than worth it. If you're looking for a really nice 5* place, this probably isn't what you want.

The bar/restaurant area is fun with alot of energy. I'd agree with others that you'll want to avoid getting a room too close, as I'd assume it would be noisy. But it's a fun place to go to. It was especially crowded this weekend because the Steelers were playing, and the bars were packed. But we didn't have any problems getting served.

Lunch is typical pub food. Hearty, reasonably good tasting, and reasonably priced.

For dinner, we didn't go to either of the nice restaurants, so I can't comment on that. The pizza place was pretty good (good pizza, good strombolis, friendly service). The bartender at the bar made a nice Manhattan. Otherwise for food, think Fridays, but without as much variety. It would have been nice to have options of a steak or ribs, for example.

We thought all the staff were really nice and helpful. Overall, it was a fun, relatively inexpensive weekend. This is definitely on our list for a long weekend ski getaway, although next time we might try to stay at one of the ski-in / ski-out condos.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    126
    78
    37
    27
See reviews for
147
74
2
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

My family and I had gone to Seven Springs for the first time last year at the end of February. We stayed off the resort about a quarter of a mile at a friend's condo. This year the resort was super crowded-it took us almost 20 minutes to get into the resort parking area. When we did we had to park in the upper lot and ride a bus to get to the main lodge.

Food and service was exceptionally poor. Last year's buffet was rather good. This year we spent $30 per person for cafeteria-quality food that was luke-warm. As someone who doesn't make a ton of money I was kicking myself for that choice. The bar was always crowded- no seats to sit and eat w/ family which was very frustrating.

All in all the resort was dirty, unfriendly, and super-crowded.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Valley, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed and skied at Seven Springs during MLK weekend. The room was clean, spacious and quiet. We, however, were on the far side of the hotel, away from the lodge area. I would imagine rooms near the lodge (especially 4th floor) would not be a quiet stay.

Outside the room, many of the hallways and stairwells are not only tired, but also downright dirty. I'm sure it's difficult to keep all areas clean with all the mud and snow that is brought through the buildings.

Since we live in New York, the value was excellent. We could not have gone to any NY area resorts for the same price.

As for amenities, we were quite pleased. Bowling, putt-putt, roller skating, arcade, spa, shopping, bars, etc.....all right here in the building.

All-in-all, it was a very pleasant place to be with the exception of the hotel staff. They weren't exactly rude, but no welcoming, smiling faces either. The staff really just seemed like they didn't like their jobs and didn't want to be there (except for housekeeping...very nice ladies).

We will be back.

P.S. Try the Seven Burger @ The Bavarian Deck! Yum!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We tried 7 Springs for their "Winter Family Memories" Package and got three days of skiing and two nights stay for under $500 for a family of four (my 2 kids under 11 were 'free'). You can't find a better deal within five hours drive of 7 Springs. The catch is you have to be willing to take the kids out of school as the package deal is only good on weekdays. But, it is absolutely the way to go if you want to beat the crowds and avoid the lift lines. We felt like we had the resort to ourselves Wednesday night and all day Thur. It started to get lively on Friday. For this general area, I've been to Snowshoe and felt this was not quite as fancy, but better skiing and more family friendly...and much easier to get to.
Hotel service was clearly above average. The room hair dryer went out and the service people were at our door in under 10 minutes after we called it in and had it fixed in under five minutes.
Breakfast was free, part of package. It was above average with omelette bar and good selection. Inside scoop: While your breakfast meals are 'free' as part of the “Winter Family Memories” package, they do add $4 gratuity to your bill, which you don't see until the last day.
Indoor Pool was free and pleasant. Outdoor hot tubs were $10/person, so we passed.
Large game room and indoor min-golf were neat and inviting, we just did not have time to use them.
In-resort bowling ally consisted of 8-lanes. We played a game, the kids loved it.
We are definitely returning to 7 Springs, but only on weekdays.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We spent New Year's weekend at the condos in Seven Springs. We paid a lot ($800 per night per condo) and it was definitely a disappointment from an accomodation standpoint. The rooms were okay -- outdated and not as clean as we might have liked -- but the kicker was that we were surrounded by condos with dogs that barked constantly. It was awful. Not to mention there is apparently no pooper scooper routine and the area around our condo, that we needed to walk through, was a minefield. Add to that that all the events for New Year's were booked (we should have known but also were not informed by the hotel in advance), the ski hill was covered by more garbage then we have seen, the hot tub was inaccessible, there was no wi-fi, there were no delivery restaurants for two of the nights we were there and we had to run around trying to figure out how we could eat as an extended family, there was no cleaning staff to speak of during our 3 day visit, and you can understand we were a bit disappointed in the value we got for our dollars. We did ski and the terrain is very nice -- varied. We also liked the hill's safety rangers -- good coverage, clearly savvy employees. But overall the condo/hotel experience was a disappointment. Hope the ownership and customer service team can improve because it's a beautiful area and the place has potential.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camp hill, pa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

stayed on friday the 10th thru sunday at the hotel,...skiing was very good saturday, but the hotel staff is horrible now,..housekeeping did not stop once to check on the room to restock or clean,...and no ,we did not have a do not disturb sign out, when we went to the desk to inquire they just shrugged us off,...we had requested a si...ngle king bed unit,...we got put on the floor for pet owners who bring there dogs and had 2 small beds,...I used to rave about the buffet as well,...that sadly has gone way downhill as well,"prime rib and the smashed redskin potatos were still good,but everything else was mushy or overcooked, creme brullee just had a spoonful of brown sugar dumped on topped,"un torched",...for an 80 some dollar dinner for 2, I exspect a little better,and for a hotel that charges 200 a night I espect way better service, we opted to leave early sunday,...due to the steady rain,..and upon leaving actualy heard someone at the front desk tell someone over the phone,....no, it's just a little foggy on the mountain,...no rain yet and we are supposed to get snow showers later today,..."as the rain was coming down right outside the window's"

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

We went to 7 Springs for Light Up Weekend 2010, the weekend before Thanksgiving. Our room was located in the tower on the 9th floor, the end room down the hallway. Due to this location, our room was quiet! (The lodge was fairly empty as the resort did not have any skiiers yet, but made snow throughout the weekend. ) We had a room with 2 queen beds, a nice balcony with a view of the slopes, and a large bathroom with a separate area which included a sink outside the bathroom. Everything was very clean and new. The room was fairly large. They had Neutrogena bath accessories which were a plus.

Our package included an $80 gift card which we used for the Seafood buffet. My husband thought it was good; I am not a seafood lover. We also got breakfast (buffet) both days which was plentiful and had a huge variety.

The Light Up on Friday night was excellent! We were at dinner when the fireworks show began, and had excellent seating in front of the window facing the mountain.

The service at the restaurant was very good. The service from the bellmen's staff was not so good. There was no help or support from them on Sunday when everyone was loading their vehicles at the same time.

All in all, I will look for specials again for this resort for quick weekend getaways.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Springs Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Springs Mountain Resort

Address: 777 Waterwheel Drive, Champion, PA 15622
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Champion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Champion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Springs Mountain Resort is the perfect place for family vacations that create lifelong memories. Each year the family-friendly resort hosts more than one million overnight and day guests who enjoy a vacation that includes the finest skiing, snowboarding and golf that Pennsylvania has to offer, the exhilaration of the new Laurel Ridgeline Canopy Tours, sporting clays and the ultimate in relaxation at the luxurious Trillium Spa.Seven Springs is conveniently located just off the Pennsylvania Turnpike, located within 200 miles of Pittsburgh, Washington, D.C., Baltimore, Cleveland and Columbus.With more than 60,000 square feet of meeting space available, Seven Springs hosts more than 1,000 meetings, conferences and banquet groups each year. Seven Springs Mountain Resort can accommodate more than 5,000 overnight guests in its perfectly appointed 414-room, 10-story high-rise hotel, nearly 1,200 condominiums and town homes, 11 cottages and 15 chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
7 Springs Mountain Resort
Seven Springs Pa
Seven Springs Mountain Champion
Seven Springs Mountain Hotel Champion
Seven Springs Resort Champion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Springs Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.