We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosalies

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rosalies
1901 Scotland Ave, Chambersburg, PA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 136 Restaurants in Chambersburg
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
Eagle River, Alaska
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I never know what to expect when it's one of the few restaurants open on Sunday night. This wasn't a disappointment. Decent Italian food and healthy delicious salads. A good choice

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food, Great Bread”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't eat here again, though the bread is terrific. The salads were very ordinary. My eggplant parmesan was breaded mush with boring tomato sauce. My companion's fettucine alfredo was mostly white sauce. they do have generous portions but I didn't want more than a taste of my meal. Both our glasses had lipstick stains. I call it a place to miss.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Eat where the locals eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you are heading along interstate 81 near Chambersburg at the lunch or dinner hour, Rosalies is the place to go.
Its the wood fire oven that does it, along with fresh made bread and pizza dough cooked in the wood fired oven.
Fantastic Italian food. There is nothing on the menu that arrives in front of you in small quantity. Be sure to stop when you are really hungry cause every dish is large size. And all prices are very reasonable, making it a great family stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Passed by this place many times but never took notice. Thought it was just pizza and subs. Stopped by yesterday with hubby for a quick bite. Large menu......great pizza, homemade soups, specialty salads, even prime rib. Great place and it's not one of the frozen food chain places. Husband loved the eggplant parmesan and my slice of specialty pizza and tomato basil soup were tops. They gave us a whole basket of homemade bread just out of the oven. Can't wait to go back and try their lunch time panninis.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Bland and Over Priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stopped in for dinner during the week. The place was clean and the seating comfortable. We all had pasta entrees with salad and bread. The bread was hot and fresh and very good. Our salads were fresh, however the house dressing was very bland with zero spices. Not what I would have expected at an Italian place. The service was fast and friendly.

We all had chicken and veal entrees. While the meat was hot the pasta was cool and rather gummy. In addition everything was very bland and lacked tasted. The cost of each entree was between 14.00 and 17.00. Had the food been good it would have been worth it, however it was not good.

I think if we had stuck to just pizza or subs it may have been o.k. I would not recommend this restaurant if you want a full Italian meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosalies also viewed

 

Been to Rosalies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosalies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.