We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but wouldn't recommend!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hoss's Steak & Sea House

Hoss's Steak & Sea House
20 Falling Spring Road, (Rte. 30), Chambersburg, PA 17201
717-263-0264
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 136 Restaurants in Chambersburg
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Description: Hoss’s Steak and Sea House is a family restaurant featuring fresh-cut steaks, seafood, and tender chicken entrees all cooked to order! Enjoy our fresh and wholesome Soup & Salad Bar with homemade soups, just-baked breads, fresh fruits, delicious desserts, and soft-serve ice cream. We feature a fun menu for kids and offer family-style banquets in our comfortable banquet rooms
Waynesboro, Pa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not bad but wouldn't recommend!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very dull food, great place for people that don't like any spice in their food. Service was good. The salad bar is good and the desert bar was fair.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for our Chambersburg location. We are disappointed to learn you were unhappy with your last dining experience with us. We apologize for your bland dinner but happy that you did enjoy our Soup & Salad bar. With over 100 items it is the centerpiece of our operations. Again your feedback and patronage is appreciated and we hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gilford, New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Have to go!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The price was great and the service was excellent! Something for everyone! Ate there twice in one week! Definitely can recommend Hoss's!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, social media at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for visiting our Chambersburg location. We were happy to hear that you had a great dining experience, not once but twice in one week. We look forward to your next visit to Hoss's so we can show you more Hosspitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy Salad/Soup/Dessert Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

First time here and was craving a salad for lunch. Who knew they would have this awesome salad/soup/dessert bar. I loved it. Plus they had my favorite pickled eggs - a PA treat. I watched as their Hoss's rep checked the food temperatures at the salad bar - thanks for ensuring the food safety of the restaurant. Great choice if you want options for a quick and inexpensive lunch.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Public Relations Manager at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
So glad you stopped to dine with us and were pleased with the salad bar!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent steak!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stopped after seeing them scattered through PA during vacation. Delicious food! Service was great and everyone was very friendly...explained to us first timers what we needed to know and where everything was. Kids thoroughly enjoyed it and asked if we could come back. It's a little pricey but not too bad. If we lived in the area we would definitely be back! :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Chambersburg location. We pride ourselves on our Hoss'pitality and strive to provide great food and service at a reasonable price. Your positive feedback is appreciated and we hope you choose Hoss's again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Solid place to eat .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I eat at this location once a week aleast. Food is good and the service is always friendly and attentive . I recommend the 6oz sirloin w mushroom as my side .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Chambersburg location. We strive to provide great food and service at a reasonable price. Your patronage and positive feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoss's Steak & Sea House also viewed

 
Chambersburg, PA
 

Been to Hoss's Steak & Sea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoss's Steak & Sea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.