We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid place to eat .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoss's Steak & Sea House

Hoss's Steak & Sea House
20 Falling Spring Road, (Rte. 30), Chambersburg, PA 17201
717-263-0264
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 131 restaurants in Chambersburg
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Description: Hoss’s Steak and Sea House is a family restaurant featuring fresh-cut steaks, seafood, and tender chicken entrees all cooked to order! Enjoy our fresh and wholesome Soup & Salad Bar with homemade soups, just-baked breads, fresh fruits, delicious desserts, and soft-serve ice cream. We feature a fun menu for kids and offer family-style banquets in our comfortable banquet rooms
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Solid place to eat .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I eat at this location once a week aleast. Food is good and the service is always friendly and attentive . I recommend the 6oz sirloin w mushroom as my side .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Chambersburg location. We strive to provide great food and service at a reasonable price. Your patronage and positive feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    16
    9
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food made me sick”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I ordered the soup, salad, and dessert bar with coffee. There were at least 5 types of soups. I had chicken noodle with slice of cinnamon swirl bread. Bland taste. Salad bar looked clean but had minimal food selections. A green salad and three of the "salad combinations were selected: potato salad, macaroni salad, and cole slaw. Parmesean pepper dressing. Only a brownie and chocolate ice cream cone looked appetizing. The waiter brought de-caffinated coffee and took it back for regular. But hr never returned with any coffee. We were at a table of 10 adults. Later I had stomach issues and the next day suffered with diahrea from mishandled or spiled food. This is the third visit in 3 months. Each has been less enjoyable. I recommend you by-pass this place and go to one of the nearby steak houses that just opened.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Medium means bloody”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went to Hoss's for dinner on Saturday night. We arrived at 5:30 (eating with my elderly parents) and they already had a line. The service was pretty quick but the decor left a lot to be desired. For a new restaurant, it looked a little dated inside.

I ordered the beef tips with peppers and onions with a side of snap peas. I can't complain about my meal other than I felt that the amount of peppers and onions was a little small. My husband ordered his steak medium and when he cut into the center it was bloody red. Way too rare for his tastes.

I would recommend ordering your steak at least one to two levels more cooked than normal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, PA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great new location in Chambersburg, Pa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Impressed by the new location and the restaurant layout. Spacious seating and quick service. Was not impressed with the salad bar, could have more selections and been better tended.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrtanna, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A very poor steak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I ordered the big porterhouse medium rare and ended up with a near raw chunk of gristle. I make far better steaks myself at home on the grill.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoss's Steak & Sea House also viewed

 

Been to Hoss's Steak & Sea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoss's Steak & Sea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.