We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe' Italia

Cafe' Italia
9 North Main, Chambersburg, PA 17201
717.262.4364
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 136 Restaurants in Chambersburg
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Port Republic
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went here based on the reviews and the fact that we are desperate for Italian food where we live so we try Italian restaurants whenever we are in a new town. I must say that It was very impressive. It's not anything special to look at and it's not real fancy but the food is great, plentiful and reasonable. They do not serve alcohol but we were able to bring our own and found a real nice bottle of red just around the corner. The service is friendly and the atmosphere is casual. I had the seafood lasagna and it was awesome. The desert we shared was very good also. I wish we lived here becaus ewe would go here once a week. If your in the mood for Italian and anywhere near Chambersburg, PA then this is a must stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kendall Park, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Food, Very Good Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The restaurant isn't too big - but they do a good job of getting everyone seated comfortably. Nice decor and brick throughout. The food is average. My wife had lasagna and I ordered chicken parm. Salads that came with the meals were very good. It's a BYOB - so we went around the corner and bought a bottle from a winery that has a store front. I wouldn't go crazy or out of my way to go here - but it was good enough and "did the job". I do have to compliment our waitress - Lauren. She knew the menu and explained everything in detail.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italian in a neat location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We sat outside on a gorgeous June Saturday afternoon. Loved the music. Bought a bottle of the Cabernet Savingnon from the wine shop around the corner because of the BYOB license at the restaurant. Bruschetta was so good. Salad was a fab precursor to my seafood lasagna - best ever! My friend had the linguine pesto and loved it! The service was great as well. My one-time visit to Chambersburg was an 11 on a scale of 1 to 10.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Real Thing.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I am so thrilled with the evolution of this sandwich shop/pizzeria into a genuine white tablecloth Italian restaurant with wonderful set offerings and fabulous specials. Everything is fresh and the dishes are beautifully executed. The calamari are done perfectly, the Caesar salad is NOT overdressed as it is usually and covered with a drift of freshly shaved Parmesan cheese, the pastas are perfectly cooked, the sausage is real Italian sausage and the spicey one is quite frisky. A wonderful marinara sauce and sauce Bolognese. They serve a great seafood lasagna and the chef is obviously talented and inventive. Not to mention the desserts imported from a very good bakery in Gettysburg. The prices are reasonable for the taste and quality of the dishes served and the service is good. Do make a reservation - the restaurant is small and can fill up fast - as indeed it should. Go soon - you'll be glad you did.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Family run restaurant, large portions & good pizza. If taking starter -SHARE one only or you won't be able to finish small pizza. Staff friendly and efficient.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe' Italia also viewed

 

Been to Cafe' Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe' Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.