We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall, popular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peggy's Restaurant at the Chambersburg Travelodge

Peggy's Restaurant at the Chambersburg Travelodge
565 Lincoln Way East, Chambersburg, PA
(717) 264-4187
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 150 Restaurants in Chambersburg
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good overall, popular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Peggy's is open only for breakfast, with longer hours on Sunday until Noon. The bacon and eggs were good, one of the selections that came free with the Travelodge stay. It was noisy with what I think were locals having breakfast together. They were having a good time, which is a good sign. I can't comment on prices since I never saw their regular menu.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bltzflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Only Early Breakfast in Downtown Chambersburg?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Peggy’s opens at 6 AM, whereas the other breakfast places in downtown Chambersburg seem to open around 8 AM or later, which is too late to get the day started. I discovered this after a forlorn search for breakfast while doing some work in town.

Peggy’s is open only for breakfast, not for lunch or dinner. They are open from 6 AM to 10 AM on weekdays, and from 6 AM to noon on Saturday and Sunday.

The restaurant is located in the same building as the Travelodge Motel. Nevertheless, it seems to have a happy local clientele. Those who stay at the Travelodge get a chit for breakfast at Peggy’s, but the free choices are limited. If you are staying at the Travelodge and you want more than the free motel breakfast, Peggy’s will upgrade for a modest amount.

The menu is standard breakfast fare. The quality of the food is as good as is possible with eggs and bread. A standout is the fresh and well seasoned sausage, which apparently is made locally, not the usual frozen links or thin patties that you find elsewhere. The home fries are freshly made and pretty good.

The room is attractive and well lighted. But, the seats are strange. They are narrow, with side arms. Anyone who wears XXL clothing won’t fit into them. And, the seat bottoms are collapsed, making them very uncomfortable, especially for people with back trouble. I had to perch on the front rail of the seat to get through the meal.

Overall, Peggy’s would be an exceptionally nice place to start the day, if only they would get some comfortable chairs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Energy_Engineer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

good food and friendly staff made this a great place to eat. Had breakfast there each morning while we were guests at Travelodge. Even though our meal was complimentary we received the same prompt courteous service the other customers were receiving. I would definitely go there again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marlene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, PA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome homemade food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was a great place to go eat, if you want homemade food then this is for you. eggs, pancakes, ham, bacon, hash browns, fried pot. you name it she cooked it. the best homemade food around and the prices wow so good.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast and friendly staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place isn't fancy but the breakfast was great and so was our waitress Peggy. We had bacon, eggs and toast both mornings. The place was filled with locals both mornings so it must be the 'go to' place for them as well as out of towners.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peggy's Restaurant at the Chambersburg Travelodge also viewed

 

Been to Peggy's Restaurant at the Chambersburg Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing