We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, odd atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchards Restaurant

The Orchards Restaurant
1580 Orchard Drive, Chambersburg, PA
717-264-4711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 150 Restaurants in Chambersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, odd atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I have eaten at this restaurant many times over the years and have noted an improvement in the food the last few times I've been there. They seem to have someone who knows what they're doing in the kitchen. Lots of seafood, meat and pasta dishes, some nice Greek appetizers; nothing vegetarian at all unless you would go the salad and appetizer route. The atmosphere is dark and sort of fake-fancy. My husband called it "old fashioned", but there's something about it that doesn't work for me but may appeal to others. This is a popular place for receptions and other group meal events.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank partera_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Recently visited the restaurant and sat at the bar for a cold beverage and light fare. Bartender was quite personable, pleasant, and attentive. Nice menu selection. Nice setting for the patrons in this lounge / dining area. Food was good. Price was reasonable but prices certainly reflect "upscale" as another reviewer mentioned.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FromMarylandtoMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Restaurant that tries to be something they are not.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Very expensive restaurant that tries to appear high class and they aren't even close to that. They are located in an industrial park and do not allow hats in the restaurant. Food and drinks are overpriced

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank TJMacoPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best restaurant in chambersburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Everything is amazing there. Food is always spot on and drinks are always delicious. All the servers are smart quick and the females are good looking.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shawnmunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Upscale but Comfortable & Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We tried out the Orchards today, I had won a gift card from the radio station and finally found a time to go. We looked online before we went so we had an idea of what food they had. We ate in the Civil Bar and on a Sunday afternoon we was the only ones in there, nice and quiet. Our Waiter Alex was nice and took care of us well throughout the meal.
I had the Stuffed Flonder w/Crabmeat and sauce, Baked Potato & coleslaw, it was so good I didn't even ask for Tarter Sauce. The cole slaw was standard but good and not some crazy fancy cole slaw I wouldn't eat. My Husband had the Chicken Cordon Bleu and sides and he enjoyed his very much also. I do have to say it's a little expensive for us but every once in awhile you just have to see how others Live (lol) Would Recommend to anyone.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchards Restaurant also viewed

 
Chambersburg, PA
 

Been to The Orchards Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing