We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Experience...Don't Stay at the Chain Hotels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Ragged Edge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Ragged Edge to your Saves list
The Inn at Ragged Edge
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1090 Ragged Edge Road, Chambersburg, PA 17202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Chambersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ormond Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First Class Experience...Don't Stay at the Chain Hotels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the "Inn at Ragged Edge" in mid July 2013, instead of one of the chain hotels (ho-hum). What a great decision this turned out to be! I received first class accommodations as well as a relaxed, gourmet breakfast each morning. I stayed here as a launching point to visit the Gettysburg and Antietam battlefields but was also close to Lancaster and Hershey Park. Lew and Fran were excellent hosts and to have a chance to experience this classic, historic inn was very memorable. Their restoration results are amazing! This was one of the most relaxed and stress relieving getaways. It will transport you back to an earlier era when Railroad was King but with all of the modern comforts. My advice....bring a nice bottle of wine and a cigar to the front verandah and "wine-down" while the sun sets on this historic home in Chambersburg! You won't forget the outstanding experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are well done and very comfortable. You will not find accommodations like this in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had three nights in the Honeymoon Suite while we attended the Gettysburg 150th celebrations. The owners, Lew & Fran were just wonderful. Welcoming, helpful, knowledgeable, and really went the extra mile for us. The property itself is just delightful. The breakfasts are worth the stay on their own! The Inn is a real oasis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed one night. .. wish it was many more! The owners (Mr. And Mrs. Lew Martin) have done a great job renovating the old inn. Built in 1900, the inn had certainly been very rundown when the Martins got it at the auction. Wow! Have they done a fantastic job. Well worth a visit. The experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed four nights at The Inn at Ragged Edge, over the 150th Gettysburg weekend, and found it to be a welcoming and relaxing place to return to, after long and hot days. The long, wide verandahs, many public rooms, and rear-facing woodland outlook provided lots of opportunities to wind-down without feeling that you where living in too close a proximity to others.

They provide a common room, complete with fridge, microwave, and coffee facilities, which is handy for longer stays, allowing you to chill drinks and store picnic foodstuffs, and even prepare light meals/takeaways. Breakfast was served in the large, formal dining room, and I believe that they were trialling a buffet approach, which suited us perfectly.

Our Room was large and comfortable, and the adjoining bathroom delivered on all fronts, with one of the largest baths we've ever experienced.

The Inn is situation a mile or so outside of Chambersburg proper, and so commute is required for anything and everything not provided for and brought in, but we knew/expected that and so it was not a problem. Lew handled most of the 'front-of-house' liaison and was most helpful and welcoming. I cannot over-emphasize the ideal setting of the house, and how it is a extremely pleasant base for touring that part of PA.

The acid test (i.e. would I return): Yes, absolutely.

Room Tip: Offering a number of rooms, each unique, there will be all sorts of combinations of facilities, so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here overnight on my way from North Carolina to NY, and thoroughly enjoyed this B & B. It is a large, elegant home from the turn of the century, with wonderful architectural detail and an interesting history. The grounds are lovely and there's a nice walking path near a creek behind the house. The innkeepers were welcoming and the breakfast delicious, with local berries and home-baked items. Our room was comfortable and the efficient, quiet air conditioning was welcome on a hot July day. There were nice extras, too, like local artisanal soap and a common room with a fridge and Keurig coffee maker for guests' use.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Instead of staying in a motel off interstate 81,my husband wanted somewhere special. Thanks to Trip Advisor we found this beautiful, very special place. We got the last room,also the least expensive, the Kennedy Room, and it was delightful. It was on the top floor and I felt that we were in the tree tops! The house itself is spectacular and the nature with the brook so peaceful. Breakfast was great. The coffee was even good and I am picky. Whenever we travel 81 we will try to stay there. If you live closer it is a great place for a romantics get away!

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are worth the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Beautiful place. Convenient to Gettysburg. Warm host. Big and tasty breakfast. And at the same price as the Hampton. Support these nice people that provide an historic alternative to the interstate hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Ragged Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ragged Edge

Address: 1090 Ragged Edge Road, Chambersburg, PA 17202
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ragged Edge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin to feel relaxed and welcomed as you step into this magnificent historic mansion near the town of Chambersburg, located in South Central Pennsylvania. The Inn at Ragged Edge is only 20 miles from Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. This house is truly amazing with its beautiful chestnut wood stairway adorned with hand carved designs. The dining room is stunning with its beautiful mahogany walls where a full course breakfast is served each morning. The Inn offers 9 spacious guest rooms all with private baths, king & queen size beds, flat panel TVs w/ DVD, air conditioning, and soft terry robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Ragged Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ragged Edge Hotel Chambersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Ragged Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.