We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a ragged edge in sight!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Ragged Edge

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Ragged Edge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Ragged Edge
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1090 Ragged Edge Road, Chambersburg, PA 17202   |  
Hotel amenities
Wanaque, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a ragged edge in sight!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from two night stay at this beautiful Inn. Service was excellent. Breakfast was delicious and done with taste and style. Lots of attention to details, which is why I choose B & B's over local hotels or motels. It is by far one of the best B & B's I have ever stayed in.
Nearby is Gettysburg, which has lots of history,art and restaurants. Hauser winery was great on Friday night for dinner and music. It is located way on top of a hill, which was very scenic. I look forward to returning to the area and staying at The Inn at Ragged Edge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent two nights at this beatiful Inn during the first week of Feb. 2013. Lew the owner was very kind and hospitable. His wife Fran was very nice and a great cook!

Great breakfast both mornings. Scumptious eggs and Banana Foster pancakes,plus a wonderful fruit cup each day. Snack room right next to our room with soft drinks, juice and snacks.

We stayed in the Hearthside room . It was a lovely, spacious room with a nice tub that you could soak in. Very clean and cozy..plus warm for the chilly Feb. night.

If you are looking for a place to stay while discovering Gettysburg please consider this lovely inn. Great alternative to chain motels. I highly recommend this Inn for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My fiance and I went there for our anniversary this last weekend. And the Inn is absolutely beautiful!!! We stood at the Azalea Room which is on the 3rd floor and it's on of the smallest room within the Inn but it was nice and cozy we loved it. We got a chance to see the other rooms and they are just beautiful and very spacious. The owner Lew was just so nice and accomodating. Breakfast was so delicious. We have stayed in other B&Bs before and the Ragged edge has to be one of the best one we've stayed in yet!! I would recommed this place to everyone, the hospitality was great, the location was perfect for those looking to go to gettysburg about a 25 minute drive. If you are looking for a nice, clean and friendly B&B to stay in on your next PA trip this would be the perfect one.

Lew thank you so much for all your help and hospitality, you was wonderful and we look forward to staying there again this summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I travel all over the world, making a point to stay at B&Bs whenever possible. They tend to offer a better feel for the area and more personalize service versus the chains or even boutique hotels. The Inn at Ragged Edge ranks as one of the best experiences we've had anywhere we've ever traveled.

Run by Fran, Lew and their daughter Amy, the inn is a beautiful structure originally designed by Frank Furness from the turn of the 19th century. The building's presence and details are remarkable. Fran and Lew are absolutely wonderful people and I watched them as they adjusted to each couple staying in the inn to ensure they were comfortable. For those wanting more interaction with their hosts, Fran and Lew had many stories about their travels and information about the area. For those looking to be more recluse, they accommodated that as well. Its a special talent.

We stayed in the Hearthside which was stunning. The room featured a warm color palate which played wonderfully with the fireplace and plush bedding. The bathroom featured a deep and large jetted tub while the closet was a large walk-in type with various shelves and storage areas. Perfect for a long weekend.

The upstairs lounge features 24/7 access to snacks and goodies along with a common TV, refrigerator and microwave. Our room also had a TV and cable so other than running in for a few cold drinks, we didn't spend too much time in the lounge.

Breakfast was a tasty 2 course affair including freshly baked breads and amazing eggs with spinach and sausage. The second morning we had pancakes and bacon which were very good. Both mornings also included a wonderful fruit cup.

I am so happy with our stay, we are already planning a family visit and even a corporate getaway for the business. I really can't express enough how wonderful this place is and how appreciative my wife and I are to Fran and Lew for making the stay so special.

Room Tip: no pool or fitness room but that shouldn't stop the couple in search of quiet and romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent two nights at this Inn. The owners are lovely people. Our room (The Nest) was spacious and comfortable although the bed was somehow lumpy. Breakfast was delicious both mornings. There is a common room on the 2nd floor where you can have coffee at any time as well as snacks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Inn. It far surpassed our expectations. The Inn
itself is absolutely beautiful and the photographs available online do not do it justice. The
Innkeepers were extremely welcoming and so very friendly. The breakfast each morning was
prepared with care and creativity and each was delicious. Highly recommend the Inn and would
definitely return.

Room Tip: Kennedy Room.... wonderful view, very roomy and comfortable and beautiful. Did not see any other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Inn is a beautiful home in a perfect setting. It is clean and the grounds are well kept. The owners are amazing and the breakfast each morning were excellent. It is in a convenient location that allows you to do other things if you so choose. The Hearthside room is amazing so if you can get that room it would be awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Ragged Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ragged Edge

Also Known As:
The Inn At Ragged Edge Hotel
The Inn At Ragged Edge Hotel Chambersburg
Address: 1090 Ragged Edge Road, Chambersburg, PA 17202
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ragged Edge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin to feel relaxed and welcomed as you step into this magnificent historic mansion near the town of Chambersburg, located in South Central Pennsylvania. The Inn at Ragged Edge is only 20 miles from Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. This house is truly amazing with its beautiful chestnut wood stairway adorned with hand carved designs. The dining room is stunning with its beautiful mahogany walls where a full course breakfast is served each morning. The Inn offers 9 spacious guest rooms all with private baths, king & queen size beds, flat panel TVs w/ DVD, air conditioning, and soft terry robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Inn at Ragged Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Ragged Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.