We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of EJ'S Grill

EJ'S Grill
Lincoln Way West (Rt. 30), Chambersburg, PA 17201
717 263-1137
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 136 Restaurants in Chambersburg
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“So-So.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I went to E.J's recently with some friends on a Monday evening. We enjoyed the peaceful setting which allowed us to "catch up" with one another. My crab cake was the best I had ever had but the rest of the meal was disappointing. The mixed greens salad was limp and not very filling and the rice pilaf was nothing but plain boiled rice. The warm roll was delicious. I was still hungry when I finished my meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, PA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Slipping into mediocrity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

As residents of Chambersburg, we have had many excellent meals at EJs. Unfortunately, these appear to be a thing of the past. We took out of town guests there on Friday night and were embarrassed by the poor service and dry, tasteless fish. The tuna was overcooked and the broiled haddock dry and tasteless. This meal followed an uneventful one from two weeks ago; it too was nondescript. The owner, Pat Young, was present, spending his time in the dining room greeting guests. His time would definitely be better spent in the kitchen, monitoring the quality of the served entrees.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chambersburg's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We're Chambersburg natives - it's been my home for sixty-plus years, but I've traveled and eaten in some good spots. Over the years, C-burg has had some pretty good restaurants come and go. Pat Young opened EJ's Grille several years ago, and his restaurant has become a favorite of the locals - which speaks well of any restaurant, anywhere. We go there regularly, take out of town guests, always to raves. We've NEVER had a bad meal there, and the service is as good as service gets anywhere. The building is old and a little "tired", but the atmosphere is casual, cozy and friendly. So - if you're visiting Chambersburg and looking for a favorite of the locals, this is it. Trust me.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great dinner & entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Went to EJ's with family and friends and we were not disappointed! The food was excellent. I would recommend the fresh fish special which changes regularly. This particular night the special was Black Sea Bass which was awesome! Our server, Jake, was friendly & offered good service. They offer locally brewed draft beer that rivals any microbrew we've tried in Ashevlle!
We'd suggest the dining room for dinner and the lounge for entertainment. On a separate night we heard a good duo that played a variety of songs from OAR to Matchbox 20.
If you are looking for casual dining and excellent food, we'd highly recommend EJ's

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Unexpected Fine Food Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were spending the night at a fabulous bed and breakfast in chambersburg and wanted a nice meal. I read all the trip advisor reviews for the area restaurants but really wanted a place with great food and some healthy options. When we arrived at EJs it appears like a local dive on the side of the main road. Once we entered the staff was very nice and we were seated on side opposite bar side with white table cloths and the dinner crowd which was quite a few folks. If you want fancy furnishings the white table cloth is about where that begins and ends as you are seated on older metal legged plastic cushion chairs and there isn't anything particularly pretty about inside of the building despite its obvious age. However and this is a big however, get over your snobby self because in every other way this place is awesome! The waiter was great and when we asked a soup question he ran and brought a "taste test" which would've been an actual portion in the city. The food was amazing!! I had the seafood combination and the portion was very generous and for dessert we both got different pieces of cake and by pieces I mean slabs, heavenly heavenly slabs. If you're going through his area, try EJs. It rocks!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EJ'S Grill also viewed

 

Been to EJ'S Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EJ'S Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.