We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Veggie Sub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mario's Italian Restaurant

Mario's Italian Restaurant
831 Wayne Ave, Chambersburg, PA 17201-3809
717-263-9397
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 133 Restaurants in Chambersburg
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Love the Veggie Sub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

They have sit down dining here that is good. I am usually just stopping by for their veggie sub which is the best in town.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Local gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went here on a Monday evening and had a great meal. I am picky about my Italian food a nd was presently surprised. Chicken Marsala, very good, and sweet staff. Well done!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Excellent service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stopped on our way through town on a car trip. We asked to split an entree since we didn't want to overload before getting back on the road. The waiter was amazing and helpful, and our stuffed shells and salads were wonderful.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Exceptional authentic Italian food at excellent prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

Exceptional food at excellent prices. Roberto BEST waiter! Was just driving through. Buon appetite!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great Food, Reasnable Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Today was our second visit and the food was great. Smaller establishment but a good location.

I especially like the mussels appetizer, done with a spicy marinara sauce on a bed greens with warm bread cubes. They make their own bread and it is fantastic. I could just order this appetizer a few times and the bread and make a meal. Wife had stuffed shells in Alfredo sauce and it was excellent.

They had a sign about noise from renovations but it must have been in the back as we only heard occasional noise. The interior could use a little help, curtains are hung upside down and I am guessing not to have the gap at the top of the window. Table we sat at appears to be intended as an outside table. There are tables and chairs outside.

Service is excellent but we have always visited outside of the normal busy times.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Chambersburg, PA
Chambersburg, PA
 

Been to Mario's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mario's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.