We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Japanese steak house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aki Steak House and Sushi Bar

Aki Steak House and Sushi Bar
424 Gateway Avenue, Chambersburg, PA 17201
(717) 263-9393
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 136 Restaurants in Chambersburg
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Delson, QC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Japanese steak house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had supper there one night and the meal was very good. Nice place inside and clean. The service was very good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
V
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A bad night at the hibachi grille.......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have dined at this resturant a number of times and have always enjoyed the meal. Unfortunately last weekend this was not the case. We arrived with 8 in our party. We had not made a reservation but were willing to wait the 30 minutes that that the hostess said we would have. Had she given us a more realistic time we would have chosen a different resturant. The wait time became an hour but that wasn't the end of the wait. Once seated the wait for dinner to be cooked was another hour and fifteen minutes. We were told by our waiter that was filling our drinks that there were only 4 chefs and we would just have to wait a little longer. What makes this all more upsetting is that two parties of four were seated at on Grille Table long before our party and we had arrived before them and one table that was seated after us got the chef at thier table before us. I am not sure what the problem was but it was a bad night all around. It will be a while before I return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A pleasure to dine at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I had just finished a nine hour drive so we were not ready to wait in line to be seated. We arrived around 5:15 and were seated immediately. The waitress was so attentive it appeared we were her only table, which was not true. The Filet Mignon was a not prepared as we expected but is was excellent. It was sliced into 1/4 inch thick rounds served with tomato between each round. The sauce was excellent and adding the white rice to capped the dish nicely.

A reasonable price with excellent food and service, I can't ask for anything more.

CAUTION for those with young children, the hibachi tables may be too much for little ones when the chef flares the table with fire. My grandson was scared as was a young (3-4 year old) girl last night!! It's the parents responsibility to be prepared for this not the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Not just hibachi and sushi...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We dined in the dining area vice the hibachi grille or sushi bar area. We had the Hibachi Steak dinner. Each. Way more food than we could reasonably consume, but all of it superb . Recommend the fried noodles instead of the rice. The yum-yum sauce was so good we bought a bottle of it to go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eat here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great food and good service. I had one of the house specials, and it certainly was delicious. Try the pad thai. Yum!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aki Steak House and Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Aki Steak House and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aki Steak House and Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.