We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Even Average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cottage Family Restaurant
572 Wayne Ave., Chambersburg, PA
(717) 264-8543
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 136 Restaurants in Chambersburg
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mattapoisett
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not Even Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We were staying in Chambersburg and went here based on a sample menu at the hotel. Somewhat run-down sports type bar & adjacent dining room. Dining room has zero atmosphere. Food is pedestrian to poor. Soup tasted like it was straight out of a can. Chicken Marsala had a dark brown gelatinous sauce. Service was friendly, but we waited forever for the table to be cleared and the bill to arrive - all while the dining room was less than half full. Not a good experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Oktoberfest...yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Have amazing specials like jaegerschnitzel and beef tips with ginger snap gravy! On another visit I had vegetable lasagna which was delicious. Decor could be better.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, PA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

went there once with friend and the food was good, the serive was good. nice people. pies were very good.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We go at least once a week because of the service
We love our waitress...she's fun and pleasant. She recommends what's good and always has a beer on the table for my hubby when we walk in. They have monthly specials and a fairly good menu. Football season is a must because it's so fun to go there to watch Penn State and the Steelers...and of course other games. Highly recommended for the sports fan.
If you're not a sports fan they have a very nice area separate from the bar area that you can eat and enjoy your meal without sports.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An Unpretentious Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stopped into the bar portion of the Cottage on a Sunday evening. Looked like most of the people there were locals -- which is always a good sign as far as I'm concerned. Our waitress was very attentive and helpful, without being "pushy". We both liked the food. The nacho appetiser was just the right size -- crunchy and easy to eat. My husband thought his halfrack of ribs were good (grade of probably a B-). I had something called a chicken cordon bleu wrap, which was big and meant to be eaten with a knife and fork. Definitely different and quite tasty. The draft beer was of a decent variety, so we could try something new and local. This is a local, non-chain place that we will certainly try again when we're next in Chambersburg.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cottage Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.