We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvement” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3648 Old Scotland Road, I-81 Ext 20 on Right of 696, Chambersburg, PA 17201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Chambersburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Needs Improvement”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times within the last 2 weeks. Out of the 3 different rooms, 2 of them had bedbugs. The hotel is run down. Their breakfast is less than fullfilling, as their eggs are supposed to be some kind of omelets, but they are nasty. The only thing edible is the cereal and waffles. But I'm more concerned with the bedbug issue. These pests leave nasty red painful itching welts, plus they spread disease. Super 8 in Scotland/Chamversburg, clean it up!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    24
    14
    12
See reviews for
35
26
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penn Run, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Arrived to a lobby torn up. Construction workers stood right outside the hotel the 2 nights there. Nothing ever was done in the torn up lobby. Took the front desk 20 minutes to check 4 different people in. Electrical cover missing some electrical boxes our of the wall. Sparks fly when you plug something in. No internet! Called front desk. I was told to call the Super 800 number. Took 27 rings for a person to answer. That person referred my call to customer care. Which does not care to answer. I left the phone ring 20 minutes before customer care answered. Customer Care said management was going to fix the internet. Never happened! I could not complete my work online.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Room was repainted since our last visit. Nice covered entryway. Good size lobby with adjoining eating area. Shopping mall across the street. Easy access on and off the highway. Nice view of fields and highway out the window. Had fridge and microwave. Separate sink and shower areas. Would be better if beds were queens. Breakfast was a bit better than average, but no bananas for cereal. Staff was friendly and efficient. Overall a nice place to stay for the price.

Room Tip: Stay near the end of the hallway for max quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Monroe, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The bad: the beds were horrible. We slept on springs. It smelled like paint.
The good: the breakfast was good. There were waffles, eggs, juice, yogurt, coffee etc. The staff was friendly.
You get what you pay for. It's that simple. If you go to a super 8 looking for a 5 star hotel you will have a lot to complain about. If you understand it is a place to sleep and inexpensive, reality will help you accept that it isn't a bad hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Staying a Chanbersburg hotel while training with new company. Told I would have to share a room with another prospective employees, which employees do not do. I decided to pay for my own room but was told none were available.I inquired if the other hotel own by the company (Best Western Shippensburg) in the area had any rooms available and was told no. I called Super 8 directly and found that this was untrue. I also called the Best Western which told me they too had plenty of rooms available. Made a reservation by phone and will file a discrimination complaint with the state.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argillite, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

It was 1:00am on a Tuesday morning. Walked in, asked if they had a room, got it, got a discount for being military. Quick checkin and checkout. The continental breakfast was good also. It was a short walk to the room, which made it even better!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was a place to sleep for two nights while we visited family. We've stayed in many hotels and this was fine. I would encourage the owners to have coffee/tea available for weary travellers. One pack of coffee in a room is not enough for three adults, let alone two. A sign hung here and there asking guest not to let doors slam behind them when they enter and exit rooms would also be nice. There was an old t.v. in the room with an outdated channel guide. It would be nice if there was a channel guide of some sort so we didn't have to channel surf every time we wanted to watch television. I had to get used to the hot water being on the right and cold on the left on the sink. The quilt on our bed had some stains on it, not sure if they had been washed or needed to be replaced. The window's needed a good cleaning. The air conditioning didn't seem refreshing and we all woke with headaches or stuffed up. The bathroom seemed clean along with the room itself sans the quilt. The sink needed a good plunging as it was very slow to drain.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area

Address: 3648 Old Scotland Road, I-81 Ext 20 on Right of 696, Chambersburg, PA 17201
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Chambersburg/Scotland, PA is located at exit 20 off I-81. We are centrally located between Gettysburg, Shippensburg and Carlisle. If your travels should take you to visit Historic Gettysburg, a graduation at the Shippensburg University or enjoy a car show at the Carlisle Fairgrounds, you will find our property in the perfect location. All of our nicely decorated rooms feature King, Queen and Full size beds, Micro-Fridge, Alarm Clocks, Hairdryers, Cable with HBO, ESPN, and CNN. We invite you to join us for a Superstart Breakfast daily, you can connect to our Free High Speed Wireless Internet from anywhere in the motel and we also offer the convenience of a Coin-op Laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.