We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room - quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3648 Old Scotland Road, I-81 Ext 20 on Right of 696, Chambersburg, PA 17201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Easton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Clean room - quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have been in numerous Super 8 motels and never had an issue. IT was the same on this trip. We were visiting SHippensburg University with my son and needed to be there early. This hotel is about 7 miles away but it was the price we wanted. We got there at 10pm and the front desk clerk couldn't have been nicer. I was a little worried because our room was directly across from the lobby and I thought we would be up all night or early in the morning because of the noise. The room was clean, beds were comfortable. The room had a table, 2 chairs, 2 beds, TV, microwave and refrigerator. Some super 8's have a recliner in the room but this one did not. It could just be our room but it was very well insulated because we did not hear anything either that night or the next morning and there were plenty of people at breakfast by the time we were checking out. Breakfast consisted of belgian waffles that you make yourself, cereal, fruit, oatmeal, coffee, tea, juice, yogurt. With our discount the room was just under $50.00. Definitely worth it and we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    28
    18
    15
See reviews for
42
34
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Obviously not cleaned before we got here, urine on the toilet seat. Paper thin walls, you can hear everything in the next room. Never staying a super 8 again.

Stayed here because we wanted an inexpensive room for our trip to Gettysburg. Honestly, you get what you pay for. Seriously....pay the extra $20 a night and stay in a nicer place closer to Chambersburg.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here during our visit to Gettysburg. The hotels in the town were extremely expensive and difficult to find a vacancy during our stay. It was biker week. I still paid $100 for one night. The hotel was acceptable. My desire to find a hotel that felt safe was what led me here. I prefer not to have an outside entrance to my room.. The hotel offered once entrance at the front desk. We enjoyed the complementary breakfast which included home made waffles, cereals, yogurt, apples, oatmeal, danishes, toast, juice and coffee. The room was clean and offered a microwave and a small refrigerator. The front desk personnel could have been a tad more professional and friendly. My girls enjoyed seeing the cows at the cow farm outside of our window! The beds were super comfy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WARRENSBURG
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We'll definitely stay at this location again -- such easy access, lots of parking for our oversized vehicle, and a seamless check in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Yet another passable Super 8 motel experience from a road trip my brother and I took in July '12. A bit off the beaten path, but close enough to the highways that it was a good location.

Behind the motel was a cow farm, the only real negative of the stay, and that only being because of the smell outside. Luckily we weren't out there long, and the inside smells just fine. Room had the best shower setup of any motel we stayed in, including two other Super 8's in NC and VA. Toilet worked great too, as did sink and coffee machine.

Staff at the front desk was really friendly and helpful. Lobby was nice too, had a TV and good breakfast spread.

Beds were clean and comfortable, good support (we both have back problems, and both slept great). Room itself was pretty average, nice view of the cow farm out our window on the bottom floor.

Best feature was the quiet, walls weren't thin at all and all highway noise in our room was cut out, as was any noise from other rooms.

Room Tip: I say aim for a room on the bottom floor or an upper floor. Get one away from the highway and close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This place was cheap and the bathroom was clean. Thats the good part. The halls and rooms have a musty smell to them. The bed is a full size mattress on a king size frame. So there are long metal spikes sticking out from the side. I had scratched ankles by the time I left. The tv does not work right, my friend in another room had no remote. The hotel did not have bottle water in the vending machine, I asked the front desk and they said everone asks for it, he doesnt know why they dont carry it. Maybe the staff needs to tell the owner people are asking. Their are cows in the back of the motel, so you will be greeted in the morning by their smell.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area

Address: 3648 Old Scotland Road, I-81 Ext 20 on Right of 696, Chambersburg, PA 17201
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Chambersburg/Scotland, PA is located at exit 20 off I-81. We are centrally located between Gettysburg, Shippensburg and Carlisle. If your travels should take you to visit Historic Gettysburg, a graduation at the Shippensburg University or enjoy a car show at the Carlisle Fairgrounds, you will find our property in the perfect location. All of our nicely decorated rooms feature King, Queen and Full size beds, Micro-Fridge, Alarm Clocks, Hairdryers, Cable with HBO, ESPN, and CNN. We invite you to join us for a Superstart Breakfast daily, you can connect to our Free High Speed Wireless Internet from anywhere in the motel and we also offer the convenience of a Coin-op Laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Chambersburg / Scotland Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.