We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast
756 Philadelphia Avenue, Chambersburg, PA 17201 (Formerly Shultz's Victorian Mansion)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Chambersburg B&B and Inns
NY NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have been horribly remiss in not reviewing this amazing, warm, inviting bed and breakfast before now. After having had a few different experiences with other b&bs, I have to say in many ways, Craig Victorian B&B was the superior. In amenities, no one comes close! Our room had a jacuzzi tub, and the wonderful hosts provided MANY ample high quality bath salts, lotions etc., along with the usual shampoo.
If there's one thing lacking in practically every B&B since, it would be these small, but to me, vital amenities. They also provided multiple free snack foods and drinks! The bed was divine, the room tasteful, relaxing, spacious. The hosts couldn't have been more gracious, accommodating, or friendly! In the lovely decorated common rooms we set up a board game we'd brought along-- and they were so concerned we had enough space to play they provided out a larger table for us.
Christmas morning breakfast was tasty, filling and wonderful. Our Christmas stay may have been one night, but it's one we savor and and enjoy the memory of.

Room Tip: Our room was spacious and had a jacuzzi tub which we loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
75
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summit Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent a night at The Craig Victorian in celebration of our 25th anniversary, and to say the least, the best night we ever had away from home. Roger & Barbara were just wonderful with a great breakfast and the history on the home, a quaint and beautifully appointed house in a lovely historic area. Highly Recommended.

Ed & Julie Neville

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Got this place only a few days in advance at a good rate. The rooms were gorgeous and clean. The house and grounds were very pretty and charming. And the hosts were very friendly in a sincere way, not the sometimes fake welcome you get in some places. We only stayed one night, but it was a nice relaxing stay. It's really a beautiful building and obviously well-cared for. Chambersburg isn't exactly Vegas on terms of activities, but if you're in the area, you really can't beat this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Unable to book a room closer to school, we opted for this B&B in Chambersburg, about 25 minutes away. Roger greeted us when we arrived and we were shown to our room.

The room was elegantly appointed, in keeping with Victoriana, and quite comfortable. There were refreshments in the mini-fridge, and snacks available upon our arrival - quite a nice touch if you are not across the street from a mini-mart or other establishment. We slept quite soundly in the comfy bed and the bathroom, while decorated according to the period, was modern and very nice.

Next morning we were treated to banana loaf, generous fruit salad, and hot coffee, tea or decaf. Barbara cooked omelets to order and they were filling and delicious. The company at breakfast was engaging and enjoyable as well.

Although for our purposes the location was somewhat removed, we would highly recommend the Craig Victorian B& as a warm and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My small dog and I stayed at the Craig Victorian on 10/13 & 14/2012. The house is beautifully decorated and rooms quite large. Mine had a large Jacuzzi tub + a separate shower. Roger and his daughter were very welcoming and their small dogs (which were kept to the staff area) friendly with mine. There's a nice fountain in the front which adds a soothing touch to the scene with large shade trees and neighboring houses which are just as beautiful. The inn is only a few minutes from a great restaurant downtown - Bistro 71 - which Roger recommended and I concur. Breakfasts were delicious - waffles one day, an omelet the other. Be aware, though, that it's on US 11, which is the main street out of town, and traffic can be a little noisy. This is certainly no fault of the inn, just that if you're in a front room and a light sleeper, you might want to close the windows or request a room not facing the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander City, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Craig Victorian, 10-10-2012, we were welcomed into a beautiful home and immediately made to feel "at home". Our room's were spacious, tastefully decorated, and most of all quite and comfortable.
Our breakfast was special, with fresh fruit, homemade banana nut bread, french toast (with hot maple syrup), eggs, and ham. Who could ask for more.
If we get a chance this will definitely be a repeat stop.
Really a great stay, and exceptional value!
Again Thanks,
Jim and Lucy Fuller

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spend our anniversary at this bed n breakfast....great host and great food.....love this place ...great memories....enjoy it every year...roger and barb are the best....never stay anywhere else

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Address: 756 Philadelphia Avenue, Chambersburg, PA 17201 (Formerly Shultz's Victorian Mansion)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Victorian home located along a tree-lined street of gracious homes in the north end of Chambersburg was built in 1880 by John Watson Craig(1830-1908). Guests are welcomed to large, pleasant, air-conditioned bedrooms. The mansion's porches, patios and lawn are available for guest relaxation. The mansion features three large common rooms with fireplaces and a dining room on the first floor. 19th-century architecture and intricate wood carving is found throughout the mansion, from the corner turret to the elaborately designed and crafted foyer and open staircase leading to the third floor. A family collection of antiques enhance the richness of the mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.